Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2007
When I was younger I really enjoyed the sponteneity of the show, it was funny, fresh, energy filled - guests went from pompous (john sessions) to musical (josie lawrence) to witty (greg proops, paul merton, tony slattery) to physically comedian (ryan stiles and...well most of the american guests) and was good fun.

Nice to see it back and it is blast from the past which some will love and some will just stare at blankly and go 'huh??', with so many seasons under their belt it is interesting and refreshing to see its birth and continuation and allowed mock the week, QI, buzzcocks et all the freedom they have now. It can be daft, inventive and surprising and you find yourself guessing what will come next...

Yes it is region 1 so you need a multi-region player, games console or PC but why give it one star for that?? the dvd itself and shows were great - that is like calling an album rubbish as it is only on vinyl or all food rubbish if it isnt green and available in one place...check out the hack sites to alter your dvd player or wait for the inevitable region 2 version (or there is always u-tu be...)

Great nostalgia, great host with his sarcastic yet encouraging demeanour and certainly better than the american version - but if you didnt enjoy it back then you wont now so stay away... I would have given it 4 stars but the harsh judgment on region made me bump it up one!
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
I love this program. Favorite games are song titles, hats, dating service videos, and song styles
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
What can I say about Whose Line? It's brilliant, ever so much, that's about it really. I'd advise everyone in the world to buy the DVD, just for the hilarity of it. I'm only a teenager, but I just love the silly humour- plus the sophisticated stuff.

It's also wonderful to see how the programme first started off, the begins of such a great and wonderful show, and to see the very first, pilot episode where the contestants are almost quaking in their boots! Also, to know what they're like in later series is very funny aswell, just to see how sweet and slightly innocent they are on their first episode.

Long live Whose Line!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
Having waited and waited for this show to be released, my prayers have finally been answered. This is the original British version of the tv show. Originally shown on Channel 4, this was always my favourite show even when Channel 4 used to have a good comedy line up.
The show was based on improv, meaning the comedy could range from very high brow satire or intellectual humour, through to simple swearing and satire. Yet even with the vast scope of comic genres Whose line was always one thing: unbelievably funny!
Whether you are sat bemused at how John Sessions and Johnathon Pryce can act out a style you've never heard of ( I know as a child that that was a regular thing for me )or sat in awe at how Josey Lawrence or Mike McShane could make up perfect sounding song in a heartbeat, or just laughing out loud at the childish exploits of Tony Slattery, this show is just funny. If you don't laugh at this then you probably have a problem with your sense of humour.
Three pieces of warning for you though:

1, If you are a fan of the American version, this will feel very different. None of your annoying american audience screeching out delight at obvious jokes, the uk show at times can be very clever humour. None of listening to the inane ramblings of the deeply unfunny Drew Carey ( we know the points don't matter, you don't have to tell us every time!), but instead the host is a reserved and sarcastic Clive Anderson.
But most importantly, Ryan Stiles and Colin Mochrie are not residents in this show. When they appear, they are guests and obviously new to the genre. You may think that they are not as smooth as they are in the later episodes, and certainly not like they are in the american version, but the episodes benefit from this. My biggest complaint about the American show was always that the improv became repetative, and you could almost tell what Colin and Ryan (two of the best guests in the UK Whose Line )were going to say. The show lost its edge, and at times it felt like a poorly rehearsed sketch show. That is not something you could say about the british version. The British show could jump in any direction at any time, and that added to the genius of the show.

2, This is not the edited version shown on UKTV Gold 2 or Dave. This is the full version, without the cuts when the show gets rude. You would not believe how annoyed I get with the cuts on the freeview channels when you know the best joke of the show has been cut out. The full unedited version is great for comedy, but not so great for younger kids.

3, This is the first two seasons of the British show. As such some of the performers look nervous, and the flow is not achieved in the games until somewhere in the second half of the first series. Not that there aren't funny moments in every episodes, but at times it feels like no one knows what is going on. It is on the second series you start to see the show at its absolute best.

Whose line is it anyway? is a British institution. One of the funniest shows that was ever on tv. Buy this show and laugh for days. Although subsequent series are funnier, it is more than worth getting this edition to see how the show developed.

(This is a review based on viewing the Region 1 DVD, which may have some different features, but the episodes will be the same. )
33 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2009
If you are used to watching the American remake of this show, be warned! This dvd isn't like that; Clive Anderson doesn't insist on joining in every game (in fact, he resists it at one point), the audience don't laugh on cue - they judge the performers and they laugh when it's funny and the episodes aren't dominated by the same performers all the way through. By not having Ryan, Colin and Wayne (or 3 others) as constant performers, the shows are constantly different as different people work together. At this time the show was still in it's infancy and with John Sessions as a regular, it was less populist and more intellectual, but don't let that put you off! He was a fine mimic and could perform in any theatre style, the show simply moved in another direction.
This dvd encapsulates a journey from the humble beginnings of the show; in the pilot episode and a lot of the first series you can see the producers playing about putting different games in to see what would work and what wouldn't. This is the same with performers - when they found some comics who worked exceptionally well together, they used this to the best of it's ability; such as Paul Merton and Josie Lawrence (who already worked together onstage) or Mike McShane and Sandi Toksvig.
With a fine list of regulars including John Sessions, Paul Merton, Josie Lawrence, Tony Slattery, Sandi Toksvig, Ryan Stiles, Greg Proops and Mike McShane and an enviable list of guests including Griff Rhys Jones, Arthur Smith, Neil Mullarkey, Peter Cook and Stephen Fry the dvd set offers a huge amount of variety. Whilst some episodes are not as fluent or consistently funny as others, it is more than made up for in other episodes.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
I rarely trust 5-star reviews. They tend to be children in their early teens who fancy the lead singer or actor or have studied the book at school and got an A. The enthusiasm of their endorsements is outdone only by their frequency... and amplitude. They claim that their chosen product is flawless, or to use the rather more accurate vernacular, AMAZING!

This is so untrue of "Whose Line..?" and anyone thinking of suggesting that the improvisation in the early series is in any way flawless should stop writing Amazon reviews and get back to revising for their SATs. The comedians corpse, lose inspiration, scrabble desperately for ideas and generally proceed to fail spectacularly. Unlike in the conveniently polished and amiably predictable US series, mistakes are commonplace. Instead of slick routines and joke-a-minute confidence which can prompt an audience to say "I could do that", "Whose Line Is It Anyway?" shows how difficult it really is to craft a really superb and witty improvisation. What you're given at times is in fact the original and ultimate reality television - people doing what they do well, badly. The failure is funny... and yet, unlike real "reality television", the programme is not a finger-pointing glee in others' failure; rather, it's a celebration of when it DOES work - funny when it doesn't, but utterly glorious when it does. The wonder of a winning sketch isn't simply that the audience thinks, "That was funny; I laughed," but also "What an achievement!"

How thoroughly marvellous - and yes, I admit: AMAZING!
33 Comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
Brilliantly funny! These comedians are in a league of their own, being able to do spontaneous stand up with material that is given to them on the spot - only few can get away with - the talent in Drew Carey's show is beyond words. You would be missing out if you don't see this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
These are the earliest series of ‘Whose Line’. They are just as enjoyable as ever, (though not nearly as good as the later series). Seeing these again reminds me of how at first John Sessions appeared to be so brilliant, and after many appearances how disenchanted I became once his method became more obvious. Josie Lawrence (another regular) is always good value, and the occasional contributors manage keep the format fresh.
Presenter Clive Anderson’s contribution is often overlooked, but he is often as funny and imaginative as the improvisers themselves. This collection is for fans of the show, but I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates talent and enjoys a laugh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
This DVD, and the series itself, are simply wonderful. However, I cannot understand for the life of me why, firstly, we were kept waiting several years longer than the Americans for our Region 2 DVD to be released - it's a British programme, after all; and secondly why on earth they STILL haven't released Series 3 onwards! I bought this DVD in 2008. It is now 2013 and still no sign of any further releases! WHY???? Could someone PLEASE let me and other fans know the reasons and, better still, when we might expect to see more of this classic, brilliant series?
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
This brought back great memories - I can't believe my dad would let me stay up late watching these with him (for the first series I was only 8!). John Sessions is great, Slattery is a naughty boy (for genuine laugh out loud moments), Josie is just perfect and Mike McShane is, as always, genius! (the other guys are, on the whole, great too with Ryan Stiles making a few great appearances). Anderson is a little rough around the edges for the first series - my only gripe against a great two series. When are the rest coming out?!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse