Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 1 December 2008
Following the superb debut album `Back to Bedlam' was never going to be easy for James Blunt but this album, originally released just over a year ago was an excellent effort. Songs like the compulsive `1973' and the moving ballads `Same Mistake' and `Carry you Home' are the standout tracks. However, scratch below the surface and there are more classic James Blunt songs lurking. `One of the brightest Stars' is a truly moving piece whilst the softly starting `I really want you' (here presented in a vastly superior `radio' mix which includes added instrumentation) grabs your brain and you just can't stop humming it. `Annie' is co-written by Jimmy Hogarth (he, who is `Jimmy' in `So long Jimmy' from `Back to Bedlam') and along with `Give me some love' is one of the two riff based songs on the album. Other ballad highlights elsewhere are `Shine On' and `I can't hear the Music', the former being a highlight of James's live show.

So what else can you possibly add to this already superb album ? Well there's the one new song recorded by James and premiered on his recent tour `Love, love, love'. I didn't actually go too much on this song when I heard it live but repeated listening proves that its is another classic. Three live cuts then make up the extras on disc 1. Noddy Holder and Jimmy Lea's first number one hit for Slade `Coz I luv you' was a rousing live song which featured James running off the stage and into the crowd to the rear and waving to those sitting at the back (as I was at the O2). He then continued the song at a piano off-stage from the rest of the band and the cheers you can hear on this rendition from Glastonbury bear this out. `Young Folks' is a gentle song performed on a radio broadcast and then finally we get James's version of Supertramps `Breakfast in America'.

The second CD (which is a DVD) features a pot pourri of live cuts of which the first three songs are recorded live at the Abbey Road Studios and the next two feature a concert recorded in Paris where the audience singing in `Goodbye my lover' is particularly evident (and loud!). There are promo videos for the singles off the album along with short documentaries on their making. The collaboration with Sinik entitled `Je Realise' is a welcome inclusion here as are a `Return to Kosovo' (where James served in the Army) and a short profile of James.

Worth buying ? If you're a James Blunt fan you have to have this even if you already own the album. If you haven't got the album already, then what are you waiting for; buy this version now!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
TOP C.D. I had it before and had to get a new on because i played to many times !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
This not my first album .This is really enjoyable album , the quality is great and price also
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
I love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
Good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2008
Back to Bedlam was such a fantastic album which did really well so All the Lost Souls is bound to be over-critiqued. I've read some iffy reviews on sites and I personally think it's fashionable to slate James Blunt because of who he is (i.e. posh and well-spoken) rather than actually listening to his music, which is a shame because the UK should be proud that we've got an exceptional singer-songwriter again who manages to put emotion and feeling into what he sings. Anyway, I think that All the Lost Souls is a well-written and well produced album with some great songs such as Carry You Home and I Really Want You. I am a big fan of both albums and would say that if you liked Back to Bedlam, then you'll love this.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 August 2014
'All The Lost Souls' came three years after James Blunt's debut 'Back to Bedlam', which subsequently became the best-selling album of the 2000s in the UK. Whilst the songs generally aren't as memorable as those of on album number one, there are still lots of good moments, and if you liked the first one, you'll enjoy this.

The best song is the lead single '1973', which will find it's way on a James Blunt greatest hits album when one eventually appears. This track received lots of air play, and the result was a placing in the UK top 5. Subsequent singles were less successful, with 'I Really Want You' and 'Same Mistake' barely causing a ripple, although 'Carry You Home', a gentle ballad with a catchy hook, and one of the highlights, did make it's way into the top 20.

Whilst similar to 'Back to Bedlam' in many ways, 'All The Lost Souls' seems to have more edge, but that's not to say it's better, because I still prefer the first. Nevertheless, this is a typical James Blunt record, nicely produced, good songs with heartfelt lyrics, all performed with his unique, emotional vocals. He's like a modern day Cat Stevens, and this comparison is rarely better demonstrated than on this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2007
I found myself almost unable to decide what I thought of this album when I first listened to it and immediately listened to it completely again.

One of the best things about this CD is that it's not a CD with ten songs thrown on it. It's a collection of powerful and intensely moving songs that work perfectly together.

The feeling and passion in which this CD was obviously written combined with the amazing talent of which was obviously utilized in the recording process....I can come up with nothing more simple to describe this CD as 'TRUE MAGIC'

Anyone with an ounce of appreciation for music will find something admirable and astonishing in this album and should BUY IT TODAY!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2007
In this day of quick and easily forgettable songs written for the Top 40 Hitlists only, it is pure joy to listen to an album written from the heart and soul. Every song full of emotion and meaning with melodies that command the listener's attention. An album with the ability to be an active part of anyone's music collection for a long time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)