Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2007
First I'd like to stress two points:
a) this DVD contains exactly the same material as "Live in Texas" DVD released in 2004 (the only difference is the cover with a new name, Deadline/Cleopatra did not even bother to make a new DVD menu and put this new name into video itself) - you are welcome to read my review about that DVD
b) this is not "Hair of the Dog Live", it's rather "The Fool Circle Live" or "'SNAZ" with material from 6-piece band 1981 USA tour (the manufacturers are just using more attractive name to sell the same stuff one more time).

And now some quotes from the cover:
"... this awesome footage has been digitally remastered and enhanced ..."
"Special features: Never before seen footage"
Unfortunately, it is not true. This is a simple transfer from old original VHS tape without any remastering, nothing was added (or enhanced) - it is the same material.
This footage was released first on VHS tape, and then on "Live in Texas" DVD - so it can hardly be called "never seen before".

1. Telegram
2. Razamanazz
3. Holiday
4. Hearts Grown Cold
5. Cocaine
6. Let me be your Leader
7. Dressed to Kill
8. Pop the Silo
9. Love Hurts
10. Hair of the Dog
11. Expect no Mercy
12. Shapes of Things

And one more thing for Deadline/Cleopatra: the last song is called "Shapes of Things" composed by the Yardbirds members, and not "Shapes of things to Come" as they wrote at the cover.

As far as I can see, all contribution from Deadline/Cleopatra during production of this DVD is the new cover (as well as free poster and a sticker)!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
This is a reissue. Don't be fooled by the claims that its anything else. It first appeared on VHS in the UK back in the early 1980's. Accordingly the quality is not that great - a bit like a US tv show from the era. The film captures Nazareth circa 1981 in the US playing a decent sized indoor venue with the Fool Circle line up. I felt it was a bit of an average performance and not representative of a typical show even from the era. The film (as its not 100% concert footage) includes videos using child actors -the directors interpretations of some of the Fool Circle tracks -, which i bypass very time i watch this - they are nothing short of annoying. The intersections of off stage footage is good and gives an insight of the band on the road in the states with snippets of conversations MAINLY from Dan, Pete & Billy. The addition of John Locke on keyboards i would suggest compromised rather than added to their live shows, and totally ruined older songs live - check out This Flight Tonight, which is a classic Naz track - with Locke's keys ruining the whole feel. However overall this is an entertaining package but not their finest hour.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)