Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn more Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2013
i love this cd because it is the very best of judy garland the backing is superb on all the tracks the capitol recordings werw her best between 1955 1964 a must for all garland fans ive never stopped playing it xxx
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2008
For those who like Judy's music sufficiently to want a good cross section of her Capitol output but don't see the need to collect all her albums, this might be a most rewarding experience.
Judy's emotional singing, with its wide vibrato, suits many of the tracks splendidly and there are some hair-raising, almost suicidally sad recordings that probably no one but Judy could have put across in the same manner ("A Happy New Year" being a point in case). Another splendid recording (but rather more joyful) is "It's So Lovely to Be Back in London". The absolute sincerity with which La Garland sings the phrase "and should the Queen ride by me, I'd holler out "cor blimey"" is sure to bring a lump to your throat.
Stand outs are the Nelson Riddle collaborations (with many of his delightful trademarks such as the bass-trombone belches, the frenzied Latin percussion and the Ellington-voiced saxes), and the tracks with Gordon Jenkins, although some of his arrangements are overbearingly grandiose and do not always come off as well as we have come to expect from his Frank Sinatra, Nat Cole and Harry Nilsson collaborations.
The booklet gives some useful background info on Judy. A pity that the backing orchestras of the singles and live recordings are left unmentioned as are the recording dates, but let that not detract from the artistry, sincerity and emotion that Garland brings to most of these recordings.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2007
The most comprehensive edition of the Capitol Recordings (1955 - 65) from one of the greatest singing stars of Hollywood's golden era, includes three complete Capitol albums plus hit singles, live recordings, and unreleased material all mastered from the original tapes.

The vast collection of songs include up-beat, jazzy numbers (Maybe I'll Come Back, Puttin' On the Ritz), gentle romantic ballads (That's all, Do It Again) as well as Judy's biggest hits (Over The Rainbow, Come Rain or Come Shine) and many others.
Garland's rich, timber voice with her almost overdone vibrato makes all her material a pleasure to listen to.

The booklet included contains extensive sleeve notes with rare photos from Miss Garland's personal library.

The best collection out to date of her Capitol years!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2007
Although there is very little on this CD Capitol release that has not been available previously, this set is a very worthwhile purchase, and at £[...], money could not be better spent. The audio (all new 2007 transfers from the original session tapes) is stunning. To hear 'Judy in Love' from the mono tapes (never before released) is a revelation. Instruments can be heard in Riddle's orchestra that are simply not there (or cannot be heard) in the stereo releases. The booklet is very informative with good photographs; hats off to Capitol and EMI for a first class compilation containing three complete albums and many more tracks!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
Thank goodness that finally this album has made it to cd.

I love this concert as it was the very first garland album i purchased many years ago.
Garland is not at her best vocally but with her excellent voice and stage performance it really doesn't matter. Her live show recorded many years ago still translates into a great concert. This album has loads to offer. I love purple People Eater and When The Sun Comes Out.

What a talent.... the best voice and performer in the history of show biz.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
This is an excellent recording of the first Judy Garland concert ever recorded. Although I'm not sure if this would be considered 'a concert' because it was performed on a night club, but the Coconut Grive no doubt. This was a few years before Judy;s great Carnegie Hall concert-before 'the greatest comeback in 'show business history. Not that Judy was ever really away anyway. I seen Judy do this performance here in Chicago at our orchestra Hall and she bought the house down. But of course this concert was longer. And of course I loved the "Purple People Eater" number which she performed on the Grove concert too. A dated number, but it was 'in' in 1958. Any collector should have this CD in their collection. "Ziggy"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Beautiful transcription and excellent liner notes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
Excellent, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)