Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Come on....does this need a review???? its the best 80s cop show ever!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
Before purchasing this box set, I had only seen a few episodes of Miami Vice on Satellite tv. I was worried that it might be a bit outdated. Well.. it's far from stale, and is full of quality from the actors to the stories. The lead stars( Don Johnson & Philip Michael Thomas ) are perfect in their roles - and make for a great crime fighting team. Each episode is like a mini-movie - with the production values, acting, and overall atmosphere being of a very high quality. I've been totally captivated by the show - and with over 100 episodes - there is a hell of a lot to enjoy.

The picture quality is fine( although the pilot is a bit dodgy ) Don't worry that the titles are rough looking - as the actual episodes look good. I don't see any reason to moan about any aspect of the package. If you're looking for a crime drama that has a cool vibe, lots of action, and a distinct flavour, you'll love Miami Vice. Also, if you have a thing for 80s style, you'll enjoy it even more.
22 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
When you think back and remember the 1980s, you imagine the music, the fashions and the TV programmes we all loved. It would be impossible to ignore Miami Vice for these three things.

Miami Vice is the American TV series that was the brainchild of Michael Mann who has gone on to carve out an impressive film director career in which he now ranks high on the Hollywood raider for some of the excellent films he has put together in the last twenty years.

However in 1984, Mann put together a police series with a difference. Up until that point there had been a number of popular cop shows in the states including Starsky & Hutch, Cagney & Lacey, Hill Street Blues, T J Hooker and Chips to name but a few. Mr Mann's police series was to take cop drama to new heights by introducing a style and rhythm that would include featuring hit songs of the era and the latest catwalk fashions. Thus Miami Vice was born.

The stars of Vice have much to play in the success of the show. Don Johnson was up until that point a jobbing actor who had had a string of unsuccessful pilot shows under his belt. His role as the well tanned, cream suit wearing, chain smoking Sonny Crockett together with his prize Ferrari Daytona, his gold rolex and pet alligator Elvis made him one of the most recognisable people in the world at the time. Phillip Michael Thomas played equal measure as the cool, smooth, sassy, sharply dressed Riccado Tubbs. The two heros are supported by a small cast of decent actors who remain with the show from start to finish. Some recognition goes to Edward James Olmos who is outstanding as the humourless, no-nonsence Marty Castillo (boss to Crockett & Tubbs) complete with an undertaker's wardrobe and a face like a mexican bandit about to kill you - a man of very few words!

This is an excellent box set that contains all 111 episodes of Miami Vice that were aired over five seasons between 1984 and 89. The earlier episodes (particularly season one) are outstanding, however some of the later episodes (in particularly season four) leave a lot to be desired. The final year of the show saw a bit of a change in pace and style but did produce some impressive episodes. An excellent package and well worth the value.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
If you were a fan of Miami Vice, then this ticks almost all the boxes. Every episode at your fingers... and the only thing missing is the extras (the making of...)which you had on the series box sets. Pity that! If these were included too, then this would truly be a 'complete' set. Still, good value though.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
Absolutely fabulous. Miami Vice does not date (apart from the enormous car phone!!) & could easily be shown as a current series on TV - even the fashion does not really look out of place as most of the characters are pretty eccentric anyway - the music & the way it is filmed is totally superb. No one else can come close to the wonderful performances of Don Johnson, Philip Michael Thomas & Edward James Olmos - not even Colin Farrell & Jamie Fox. If I had the money I would finance a new series - it is simply a winning formula & no other series has come close to matching it. Miami Vice will live forever!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Having a trip down memory lane with this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
As a child of the 70's, I remember fondly watching this show in my 'formative teenage years'. As such I was slightly worried that the 'campness' of the 80's would ruin my memories of this show. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Sure some of the outfits and fashions are a little cringe-worthy, and the way that certain characters act (not the acting, however) can be a bit hammy. But for those of us that remember that time period, I recall people wearing their jackets with the sleeves rolled up and the HUGE amount of pastel colours and neons in the clothing.
None of this - in my opinion, at least - detracts from what is a well written and well acted show. The show also benefitted from Michael Mann's involvement; a lot of the stylised look of Miami Vice comes from him and can also be seen in his later work - Manhunter, Heat, and the film Miami Vice. One of the earliest episodes has Crockett and Tubbs, driving the Daytona Spyder at night through near deserted streets to the strains of Phil Collins' "In the air tonight". The only sound was the sounds of the guns being loaded and the minimal dialogue of the characters. The whole scene just built tension and the seriousness of what was to come. Overall, really enjoying it all over again.

The packaging is really smart too and doesn't look unsightly on a shelf with lots of other DVD's/blu-ray's.

If you remember this show, but are unsure of how it has aged; accept it for what it is - a show set in, and from the 80's - and sit back and enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Watching it is like watching a piss take of the 80's....sometimes.
Then you'll get an episode that just floors you.
Resonates now on so many levels.
Some amazing guest stars, music, cars and clothes.
MTV Cops alright.
A tip with this box set.
Watch "free fall" last as this is the best way to finish the series.
The episodes are out of logical order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
I have read varying reviews of this box set so here is mine
considering how old this series is and of course being from the era before DVD
i think the mastering of it is first class
the video quality is great the sound sound excellent
if you liked the series then is is a must
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)