Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2013
A nice blast from the past however it does not contain any extras also i think this series went a couple of seasons beyond its peak the storylines seems dregs rather than well thought out and interesting. The acting and cast chemistry remains excellent through out the whole series. at the time I purchased this it was under £40 so I'm not two disappointed. i have removed one star for the lack of extras and another for the lessening of the storylines after season 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Whoever came up with the idea to give Xena a spinoff show deserves an award! I watched this growing up and love it as much then as I do today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Great to watch bought back good times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Bit cheesy in places, no clear timeline but a good adventure series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Fantastic!! It's really funny. Also emotional at times. Lucy Lawless and Renée O'Connor are fantastic!! It's got good special effects considering it was made in the 90s. I love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
I'm really glad I got this loved this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
Not going to comment on the show itself, since if you're buying a complete set you're probably pretty sure you like it anyway, so I'll just review the package itself.

Inside the box are 18 individual DVD boxes, with 2 discs in each. When lined up, the spines make the "X" logo, and it all looks fine. Definitely better than the ugly single season sets, anyway.

The box itself is the problem. You CANNOT stand it vertically on a shelf, as the lid only stays shut under it's own weight, there's no catch or anything. There's a little circle of something underneath the X logo on the front, which looks like it's meant to stick to the X and hold it shut, but it isn't sticky at all, it's just a circle of clear plastic, so it doesn't really do anything. Only reason for it being there I can figure is too stop the pieces of cardboard from actually touching, although I'm not sure why this would be an issue.

It's also worth noting there are no special features, and no little booklets or anything of that sort which are often included with complete box sets.

Still, for the money, this is the one to go for. Less-than-perfect packaging isn't a fatal flaw, it's just a minor inconvenience.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I bought this when it was about £35, and to be honest, if you pay more than that, you're possibly overpaying.

This is a mediocre video quality collection, with OK sound, on embarrassingly poorly created discs, in reasonable packaging. I am only on disc 5 from season 1, but the marker has been laid down, on how this set is going to be.

Video quality ranges from watchable, to poor. Sometimes the compression causes the detail to fly away like one of the mythical creatures in the show. Sound is adequate, and no worse than you would expect from a show this old. One reviewer said there were no extras, but there is a Photo Gallery on Disc 3 of Season 1, so there may be more that the other reviewer missed. It isn't mentioned on the DVD case though, so this could explain why they said that.

So then we come to the actuality quality of the disc presentation, and this is where it falls over. I can only presume that these discs were put together by lazy workers, using 10 year old DVD authoring software. When you get to the Episode selection menu on DIsc 4, it says "Disc 1" on the menu. I thought, "well maybe it was originally released in two halves, and this is Disc 1 of the second half of the season". Then I put in Disc 5, and that also said Disc 1. A small mistake, but it's just laziness that it is there at all. It's not rocket science to change the number displayed, to match the actual disc number. The discs are physically labelled correctly, so it's purely a disc menu error.

You can't use the skip button to get past the lengthy "Playback" intro video, but hitting the "Top Menu" button, will take you straight to the main menu. If you choose to "Play All" on the main menu, you can't use the skip button after the episode has finished, to get to the start of the next episode either. So you either FFWD through the credits every time, or go back to the Episode selection screen, which makes the "Play All" option, pretty pointless. One thing they thankfully have done correctly, on Season 1 anyway, is set a chapter mark after the voiceover section (the bit that says "This is Xena, warrior princess, forged from battle etc, etc...") that happens in every video. So when that starts, hit skip, and it goes to the right place to carry on watching the relevant part of the episode. They do get plus points for doing that. Check it on each season though, as I have seen other series do it on one season, then not do it on the next.

I get the impression that "Playback" is a budget label in every sense of the word. So make sure you pay accordingly when you buy this set. It's worth getting to watch each episode without annoying TV adverts, as long as the price is right.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
It's a great box set for anybody new to the Xena series, not much bonus material but you get over 90 hours worth of Xena so you don't really feel like you need any bonuses. Only issues I've had is that the discs on each season are all mixed up, so if you put disc 3 into the dvd drive and play it then it will likely say disc 5 or disc 2 and this happens throughout which is a minor issue and it doesnt bother me but it may bother others. Other than that I really recomend putting your money into this, really worth the price.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse