Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 8 March 2017
Whoever came up with the idea to give Xena a spinoff show deserves an award! I watched this growing up and love it as much then as I do today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2017
Love the show and the box set is nice. It's a pity there's no extras or commentary which is the only reason its 4 star instead of 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2017
Great to watch bought back good times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2017
Bit cheesy in places, no clear timeline but a good adventure series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2016
Fantastic!! It's really funny. Also emotional at times. Lucy Lawless and Renée O'Connor are fantastic!! It's got good special effects considering it was made in the 90s. I love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2015
I'm really glad I got this loved this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2016
good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2014
I bought this when it was about £35, and to be honest, if you pay more than that, you're possibly overpaying.

This is a mediocre video quality collection, with OK sound, on embarrassingly poorly created discs, in reasonable packaging. I am only on disc 5 from season 1, but the marker has been laid down, on how this set is going to be.

Video quality ranges from watchable, to poor. Sometimes the compression causes the detail to fly away like one of the mythical creatures in the show. Sound is adequate, and no worse than you would expect from a show this old. One reviewer said there were no extras, but there is a Photo Gallery on Disc 3 of Season 1, so there may be more that the other reviewer missed. It isn't mentioned on the DVD case though, so this could explain why they said that.

So then we come to the actuality quality of the disc presentation, and this is where it falls over. I can only presume that these discs were put together by lazy workers, using 10 year old DVD authoring software. When you get to the Episode selection menu on DIsc 4, it says "Disc 1" on the menu. I thought, "well maybe it was originally released in two halves, and this is Disc 1 of the second half of the season". Then I put in Disc 5, and that also said Disc 1. A small mistake, but it's just laziness that it is there at all. It's not rocket science to change the number displayed, to match the actual disc number. The discs are physically labelled correctly, so it's purely a disc menu error.

You can't use the skip button to get past the lengthy "Playback" intro video, but hitting the "Top Menu" button, will take you straight to the main menu. If you choose to "Play All" on the main menu, you can't use the skip button after the episode has finished, to get to the start of the next episode either. So you either FFWD through the credits every time, or go back to the Episode selection screen, which makes the "Play All" option, pretty pointless. One thing they thankfully have done correctly, on Season 1 anyway, is set a chapter mark after the voiceover section (the bit that says "This is Xena, warrior princess, forged from battle etc, etc...") that happens in every video. So when that starts, hit skip, and it goes to the right place to carry on watching the relevant part of the episode. They do get plus points for doing that. Check it on each season though, as I have seen other series do it on one season, then not do it on the next.

I get the impression that "Playback" is a budget label in every sense of the word. So make sure you pay accordingly when you buy this set. It's worth getting to watch each episode without annoying TV adverts, as long as the price is right.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2011
It's a great box set for anybody new to the Xena series, not much bonus material but you get over 90 hours worth of Xena so you don't really feel like you need any bonuses. Only issues I've had is that the discs on each season are all mixed up, so if you put disc 3 into the dvd drive and play it then it will likely say disc 5 or disc 2 and this happens throughout which is a minor issue and it doesnt bother me but it may bother others. Other than that I really recomend putting your money into this, really worth the price.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2015
A good set, containing all six seasons of 'Xena: Warrior Princess,' on thirty-six discs. A must if you prefer keeping all your DVD's in one place like I do as opposed to having various cases as clutter. Each season is housed in a six-disc regular sized DVD case, redesigned. The outer packaging is a cardboard container, containing all the DVD cases. The lid comes off and the cases are slotted it side-by-side. Altogether it is a neat and tidy purchase and looks good anywhere on display if you're in to that kind of thing. As for the content on the discs... it all appears to be as it should be. They lack extras, as the original DVD sets did, so there's nothing new if that's what you're looking for, but if you're a collectibles fan, this is a must for any Xena fan!
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse