Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2010
Great title for this DVD with Mark Williams, it makes history fun, he has a nice wicked smile in this and just on the whole makes watching fun, about the iron & steel men of the past. It is amazing that so many good things came out of the past with the coal & iron works of the North & of course the South Wales valleys. I would recommend this DVD from ages 12 to 99 years old, to watch it and learn a great deal from it, it makes you proud to be british. I would also highly recommend this seller, got to us really fast only 2 days from when we ordered this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
We've been watching the series on Quest channel and it's been wonderfully enlightening. Even the kids have enjoyed it. I've never ever had any interest in the history of machinery, the workings of steam engines or the manufacture of concrete, and such like, but this series has shown me that such things can be interesting. Mark Williams comes across as knowledgeable and interested in the subject, while at the same time adding his own special brand of humour to the mix. Makes a change from the usual patronising and dull presenters of documentaries.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
Don't take 'fun and educational' as meaning this DVD set is a little too twee. Industrial Revelations and the sequel, More Reve..etc..., are terrific. Mark Williams style isn't preachy like a robed lecturer might deliver, but it is certainly not 'dumbed down'. The facts, and probably more importantly, ideas and motives, about the Industrial Revolution in Britain come thick and fast - with a good helping of quips and jokes that anyone familiar with Williams work on the Fast Show etc etc will appreciate. You see most things that still exist - engines, locos, bridges and so on - being operated, and Williams goes through rapid but clear explanations of how they work and why they were clever and important innovations.

You do learn, but without the chore. Now I'm preaching.

Half watched a couple of episodes on Quest, ordered the DVDs, arrived the next morning. So, all good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
At last, the fog rolling back over two centuries has ben lifted by Mark Williams -- and no better person than him to do it. How I wish my own college lecturers had had the gift for turning a serious subject into an entertainment as he does. Even if your subject isn't history you'll be fascinated by this series from the Discovery Channel. My advice? Buy it. You'll love the journey and at journey's end be a great deal wiser.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
I could watch Mark Williams present this type of show, for ever. His enthasium shows through and makes this an entertaining show, while you are being well informed on the industerial developments in early Britain.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
I have never ordered this DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2008
Shamefully extrmely hard to get hard of this is a fantastic series. If you ever wanted to know what made Britain great then this is it. Mark Williams is an excellent presenter with a real enthusiasm for his subject. If you can ever get hold of a copy well done and enjoy!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
As it says, a joy to watch.Never thought they would release this on dvd .Shows how machines were built properly and made to last.brilliant.Mark Williams the right person to present.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
I loved this series. What made it even more enjoyable was how Mark Williams was able to convey to the viewer the sense of pride, inovative thinking and technical know how that started and carried through the Industrial Revolution. His knowledge is emmense and his passion for History seems insatiable.

Mark's real achievement however is in his ability to explain in leymans terms, the machinery that was invented and they're various uses with a sense of humour. If He ever brings out another series like this then let me at it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse