Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Kidnapped - Season One [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping


TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 November 2012
Fourteen year old Leo has been abducted. Wealthy, ruthless father Conrad Cain hires unconventional Knapp to find him. Knapp specializes in such cases (for reasons personal and interesting). His terms are simple - a fee only if a safe return.

No one can be trusted. Many will die. FBI's King is also on the trail. Jeremy Sisto and Delroy Lindo excel in the two roles. Although rivals, their chemistry is great - they repeatedly homing in from different directions, rescues in the nick of time a speciality.

Thirteen exciting episodes full of twists and turns - including revelations to make viewers gape. Some may have reservations about Ep.9's mystical aspects and Ep.12's gung-ho activities in Mexico, but these are minor matters when so much exhilarates.

Award time!

No stars for whoever placed the bonus feature on Disc 2. It reveals several shocks still to come, including parts of the grand climax with the identity of the person responsible. Unforgiveable. FOR MAXIMUM ENJOYMENT, SAVE THE BONUS UNTIL AFTERWARDS.

No stars either for those who decided there be no Season 2. Shame on them! All the ingredients were present for another humdinger, fans deprived of a further sizzling series.

Five stars for the show itself. Thanks to all concerned. The last few evenings have been grippingly spent.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
really enjoyed this whole season.
great acting and scenery.
a good slow build up to the end, but without being boring.
two good twists at the end.
and an ending I never would have guessed.
well worth a watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Once again another great series cancelled after one season!!!! And yet we still have mindless drivel season after season of reality TV shows. Kidnapped was brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
'

This MUST be one of the best series we have ever watched. Every episode left us on the edge of our seats and wanting more.

The plan was to watch an episode each evening before going to sleep in Screen 3 (our bedroom - where there's a DVD player!!!!). But every night we watched two episodes and so sadly we finished the series rather swiftly and had a number of rather late nights.

It was like a wonderful book where you just can't wait to know the ending but realise that when you do then you won't have the book to read anymore. We were really unhappy when we finished the DVD and EVEN MORE unhappy when we realised that further Series hadn't been recommissioned as it was COMPLETELY OBVIOUS that the format just called out for it.

Jeremy Sisto, Dana Delaney, Timothy Hutton, Linus Roache et al were ALL absolutely fantastic and, as already stated, the story was totally gripping and breathtaking - in fact, at times the suspense was almost too much to bear.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Wow wow, what a fantastic story. Excellent story line and excellent acting by all, apart from the part of the bodyguard getting shot in the left side but then was treated for the Wound in the right side!!! But because it's a fantastic story you can forgive them for that.
I just wish they would make another series watched all the episodes in two nights fantastic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
So, yet another excellent show that was cancelled after just one season, joining the likes of "Day Break", "Firefly", "Blade", "Moonlight" & "Blood Ties". Who makes these decisions, & why are they not locked up somewhere out of harm's way?
Anyway, rant over; on with the review. The title is actually a direct quote from one of the charachters & neatly sums up this intricate thriller. An obvious point of reference is the rather good Denzel Washington film "Man On Fire", but this is far more intricate & satisfying. Well acted & well told, the story rarely flags & builds to a satisfying conclusion, with an obvious lead on to what should have been season 2. Why only 4 stars then.....well, there is 1 really big continuity error mid way through concerning the weight of the ransom money & the ease with which it is removed from the back of a 4X4, but apart from that everything else was great. At the prices this is going for on both Amazon & Ebay, this is an absolute steal; go on, buy it - you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
All I can say is that this was totally awesome and I could not guess whom the real villain was. This should of picked for second season, at least 10-12 episodes to finish it off.

I really did not make a mistake of buying it, I loved it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
Look, I watch a lot of TV but I am seriously selective in what I watch. I teach film and television studies for a living, so I guess you could say that I am rather critical about what constitutes a quality TV show. I am not going to go into detail here about what makes Kidnapped so great in terms of its technical and thematic qualities. I simply discovered Kidnapped by accident. But when such a fantastic television program is taken from the air way before its time, it really frustrates me. Kidnapped is entertaining, fast paced action that is well cast and performed. Simple as that. You will love it! It deserved at least a second season.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Really enjoyed this box set...and didn't catch on to the ending.
Great actors ...just brilliant would advice everyone to watch this
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
One season and one season only.

Perhaps this would have been more successful had it been a series about different kidnappings while developing the characters. As is, it is one kidnapping story that runs through the whole series, meanwhile it skips around the back story of the main character, his dark past and how he copes with it. There is of course a love(?) interest - are they/aren't they kind of situation. Fairly generic stuff I suppose, which perhaps ultimately led to it's downfall.

The pros are these: Good story, decent twist, gritty, character development, strong recognisable cast and performances.

The cons are these: fairly generic plot points, nothing new here really, unlike-able child actor.

In summary, I would recommend it for viewing. Yes other shows have done similar things and perhaps in an episode or two rather than a drawing it out over a series BUT this is easily watchable, has good character development, throws in a couple of good twists and Jeremy leads the show well.

Enjoy (you will)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)