Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2012
Before Dawkins aimed to be controversial and attempted to win the award of the most hated man by all religion, he was a serious author and scholar. This book explains, what is now considered, one of the core concepts of evolution and is a must read for anyone interested in the topic. His examples are well explained throughout the book and, as a whole, the book is extremely well written.
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in evolution and/or Dawkins before he went of the rails.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
yes i enjoyed this one. very easy read... it went walkies too...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
The ideas in this book are fascinating, the way in which it is written is also very good. It's just a shame that Dawkin's seems to have such a 'chip on his shoulder' when it comes to Christianity, I got this book to read about evolution, not to read about how the Bible is mistranslated in his opinion, along with other such nonsense. Maybe the ideas within this book deserve a different author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
The first words of this book read: 'You are going to die, and you are the lucky one's. Many people are not going to die because they will never be born...'
I've never read such brillant first few words sich as this. In fact, richard has said that the opening lines of this book will be read at his funeral! I'm not even going to bother telling you about the rest of this book. But it for the first chapter alone. It contains the meaning of life...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2000
In Richard Dawkins's first book we are given a detailed explanation of why people and for that matter everything is. He disposes with the idea of the creator with great wit, passion and extremely well constructed arguments, backed up by analogies that make even the most complex ideas clear enough for a schoolchild to comprehend. Darwin's work has beeen advanced several aeons by Dawkins who has written a book that will be regarded as an essential classic in a hundred years time. His work explains the answer to the question that we all think we understand, and is a compulsive read.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
Read this book.It gives detailed examples of animal behaviour to back up every stage of his theory. A theory which makes the vague 'theory of evolution' complete and gives it a watertight logical basis.While this can be a bit daunting (there is a great deal of misinformation about this book, some of it disingenuous and some clearly written by people who just don't understand it), it is well worth persevering.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
Prof. Dawkins' seminal book is an absoloute must for anyone who ever wanted to know a little more about where we came from.

Probably not a book for those who want to remain in their fantasy world and continue to beleive that there are pixies at the bottom of the garden and who refer to those thousand year old texts written by uneducated fools for their moral guidance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
Good book edition. Fast delivery. Free bookmark included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2001
This book, like all of the author's, is well written amusing and thought provoking
but unlike most of his books many of the arguments he uses are spurious or
weak. This seems to be because he has strayed outside the area in which he has
Specialised knowledge and pushes his arguments too far leading him to
dubious conclusions. There is nothing wrong with the central thesis of this book, which is that A scientific approach does not reduce the appreciation of the world but quite the converse it leads to a greater appreciation. Unfortunately along the way he makes a number of dubious claims. Such as an attack on fantasy in books and television because they promote a non-rationalistic view of the universe and discriminate against scientific thought. This is really an argument advanced. The author seems to ignore or not appreciate that imagination and fantasy have value in of themselves which is a strange thing for a scientist to argue considering its value in that discipline.
The author makes another argument, which I think is misleading. He argues that the general public (which means in this context the non-scientifically inclined
portion of it) does not have a good enough appreciation of probability theory to make good decsions. Now this argument has merits. I agree but the problem is that probability theory and statistics are complicated areas that are never going to be properly understood by many people. I have a degree in Mathematics and there are areas I Am unsure about. It is unrealistic to expect everybody to have a level of understanding of Mathematics that fully appreciates this area. Yes it is good for people to be more highly educated but everyone has limitations and the general public are not going to ever fully understand probability theory.
This may seem to look like I think the book is bad. This is not so. I think it is an entertaining book which whose views I agree with in general I just feel that it is weaker and less rigorous than his other books. The only thing I really did not like was the plentiful poetry, which seems to have been added purely to show how much the author loves poetry rather than to make a point and its abundance is rather distracting in places.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Dawkins' ten-ton truck of a thesis rattles along thunderously while, every now and again, flattening the roadkill of 'lesser minded' theories. You can't argue with it. And a vehicle seems an appropriate metaphor for his work since, we discover, we're all essentially vehicles. Though I also rather like the idea of being my own private club of genes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)