Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 14 May 2010
The latest Splinter Cell game has been a long time coming, and the result is a game quite different to its predecessors. The focus is more on action and firefights this time round rather than sneaking and stealth. It mostly works but it falls short of being a classic Splinter Cell game.

The storyline of the single player game is compelling enough as Sam Fisher becomes involved in a conspiracy which has its roots way back in Double Agent (the last game in the series). Although it doesn't always make sense, it moves along at a brisk pace and you'll fly through the single player campaign quickly.

The gameplay is faster and more action-orientated than the careful approach more often called for in earlier games. Sam can mark and execute multiple enemies, which is a cool gimmick, even if it does take some of the skill out of the player's hands. A number of familiar gadgets are also available, although much of the time your pistol is enough.

It's good fun, but it feels a little too streamlined with a very rigid path down which you must progress. There is no room for choosing your own way, you go where the game tells you. This often involves fighting your way through roomfuls of not particularly bright bad guys, where previously Sam may have slinked past in a handy air conditioning vent. It seems a shame you can't decide whether to fight or sneak.

The co-op campaign's gameplay is very similar, but with a few moments that can only be passed by two players. A decent effort has been made to integrate a connected plot to the co-op game, which has its own central characters. It works quite well, although it's hard in places and you can tire of doing the same section over and over again until you finally crack it perfectly and reach a checkpoint.

Competitive multiplayer has largely been dropped from Conviction, instead there are extra co-op game modes. You can play against one other player in Face Off but once played a couple of times it wears a bit thin.

The game is well presented with mostly decent graphics, good music and some slick effects, such as Sam's next objective being projected onto a nearby wall as part of the environment. You are also equipped with `sonar goggles' which enable you to pick out enemies on the other side of walls and so on but sadly there is no night vision or thermal modes, which can be a pain in some sections and seems a strange oversight.

The controls also often conspire against you, as the A button is used for context-sensitive actions and can get confused when you're in a hurry. The control scheme cannot be reconfigured, so you are stuck with the default, which is not the most intuitive.

Conviction is a decent enough game, but it's a departure from previous Splinter Cells. It's more immediate and more cinematic, but because of this it forces your actions more and is perhaps less of a challenge for it. The controls are a pain and the whole thing is rather short-lived. It's a worthy purchase, but unless you get a lot of play out of the co-op features, I'm not sure it will spend that much time on your 360.
55 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Beautiful videogame with exceptional playability and a very exciting story that will keep you glued to the screen for several hours! Recommended to anyone looking for action and a very well-artwork in a third-person shooter. As always satisfied for the quality price offered by the seller MUSICMAGPIE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Brill!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Game was awesome when i played it years ago and had to get it again. Still as good as i remember and the delivery was quick. Very pleased with the purchase :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
I love this game EXCELLENT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
I am a huge fan of the splinter cell series, in fact it was the game which introduced me to the world of gaming, however, i am a little disapointed with this latest edition. Conviction for me other than having the same characters is nothing like the originals. Double agent went a little off but this for me whilst a good game that i enjoyed is just simply not splinter cell.

I cant help but feel that this is a totally new game just sold under an existing successful series. i get what they are trying to do and understand if you just keep putting out the same stuff that people will get bored but dont loose what the game is all about in the process.

Overall i like the game and im sure you will enjoy it too its just not classic splinter cell for me.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
The Stealth-em-up was a genre that I was glad to see the back off after its brief time in the sunshine during the late 90s and early noughties. Whilst the likes of Metal Gear Solid and Splintercell stood out, the rest of the genre was slow, boring and had started to infect every genre. At one point it felt like every shooter and third person action game had an unwanted stealth section. Today I feel that out and out stealth is dead and the likes of Ubisoft have reacted to this in `Splintercell: Conviction' as it is no longer game over if you are simply spotted. Sam Fisher is back and, although creeping is the best tactic, if you are spotted you can open up into a gun battle; just expect to dies more than if you stay silent.

The game mechanics are just the right level of risk and reward. With gunplay playing a much larger role this time round the game also feels far more inclusive. I was also impressed with the storyline that had Fisher on the edge and the way that the action mimicked Fisher's mental state. The objectives that appear on the wall as you move around are a great idea and work very well.

What makes `Splinter cell: Conviction' stand out even further is the complete package of solo, co-op and versus modes. You get a lot of game for you money and the various co-op modes have a weaker story than the solo game, but having a stealth mate makes up for that. There is an issue within all the game types that the targeting is not as good as an all out shooter. You can sometimes feel robbed when you are killed and it is not your fault. Overall, `Splintercell: Conviction' is the best in the series that I have played and bodes well for future adventures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
I've played Pandora Tomorrow, Chaos Theory, Double Agent and then this. This Splinter Cell is much better than Pandora Tomorrow, Chaos Theory and Double Agent. The best features in the game are:

Quick stealth - instead of staying out of the light like previous splinter cells, the screen will turn black & white so you KNOW you are hidden.

Mark & Execute - Very helpful feature which allows (after a hand-to-hand take down) the player to mark enemies then to execute them, bringing quick death.

Deniable Ops:

Very good game mode which you play as one of two characters (you get to pick which one) and you pick which game type you want. You get the choice of hunter where you choose a map, enter and have to eliminate all the enemies while trying to stay hidden OR there is also last stand where you are placed in a map of your choice then you have to defend an object against waves of enemies. VERY good feature.

Multiplayer:

Co-Op Story - A very good prequel story feature in which you take up a role in one out of two splinter cells and you have to embark on a prequel mission. Best part on the game.

Hunter & Last Stand - Basically the same as ones in Deniable Ops but you will have a parter with you.

Face-Off - This is hunter but with a twist. You and your opponent will be placed into a map of your or their choice and you will have to eliminate all the enemies like the standard hunter game mode. However, you will also have to eliminate your parter (opponent) in this game type as well.

Overall - 10/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)