Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Howards End [1992] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 February 2018
At last a Blu-ray release for this cinematic gem, to my mind the finest of the Merchant and Ivory collaborations skillfully adapted from E M Forster's1910 novel by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala ,deservedly winning an Oscar for the screenplay. Ably directed by James Ivory this biting, sharp observation of the Edwardian class structure is beautifully played by a superb cast headed by Emma Thompson and Anthony Hopkins,their scenes together are marvelous, the proposal on the staircase for example is sublime interplay between two great actors it seems intuitive and natural (just as they did in "Remains of the day",it is the heart of the film. Mention must be made of the great look of the film,by production designer Luciana Arrighi evoking the Edwardian age and the under-pinning of Richard Robbins's superb score, An absolute classic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
To put it in one phrase: HE never looked better on home video. Perfect restoration, the video is very sharp, rich detailed and the whole look is sensational. A must buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2012
I bought this recently and watched it last night and although i purchased it purely on ratings and the fact that Anthony Hopkins was in it rather than reading reviews as to what it was about i found myself watching a truly amazing film.Hopkins is as ever pure gold but was even outshone on this occasion by the acting talents of Emma Thompson (won an Oscar for her role too!!) who i really hadn't seen much of before,for most of the film i felt that i was actually back in time and in the scene.Beautifully shot and acted,a very good film to add to anyone's collection.Howards End [1992] [DVD]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
Firmly based on the well-known novel by E.M.Forster, this movie version serves the book well and offers sublime entertainment. As one might
expect, Anthony Hopkins, Emma Thompson, Vanessa Redgrave, Helena Bonham Carter and an excellent supporting cast give a very credible performance which draws meaning and hope from an Edwardian society which gave every appearance of being divided in class, social prejudice, culture and financial status.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2017
Escellent performance of an old classic. Worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Beautiful, well acted film!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2011
Unusually I had already read the book before getting the dvd. It jogged my memory and seems like most of Ivory Merchant films to be very faithful or at least sufficiently so! That aside I it's wonderfully well acted, I especially loved Emma Thompson, Helena BC, and oh Prunella Scales....the males are also well chosen....indeed there is not a weak link, splendid! Only eclipsed by Room with a View, due to its more straight forward story line! Absolute must have English dvd!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2015
Great film. I loved it. I hated the fact that the main character diddled his lovely wife out of her inheritance of the house and she actually let him get away with it when it all came to light!! Great acting on all fronts from everyone. Brilliant film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2011
Delightful film and well adapted. Merchany Ivory quality production - unrequited love, subtle class behaviours that are both a help and hindrance. Emma Thompson & Anthony Hopkins are wonderfully paired (& again in Remains of the Day - another 5* film)and the repressed emotion adds delicate tension that adds to a powerful and very moving performance. The angst of being in a democratic society but completely bound by unwritten rules and the chaos that ensues when one of those rules is broken is well presented, often without words. Great cast and just sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2013
I love everything about this film. I used to have it on VHS. I had such a craving to see it again so I bought it on DVD, a little worried that it may seem dated now. It doesn't at all. It is still just as good as it ever was. All the acting is superb. The production and directing spot on and the story a classic. If you don't already have this film in your period collection you really should get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)