Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
102
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2017
Based on a true story, this DVD is well worth watching. Yes, I know she committed premeditated murder, but the chances are if she had committed the same crime in this day and age, she would probably have served time in jail, and not hanged. Sad really!! Similar to the DVD 'Let him have it'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
What a tragic life Ruth Ellis had. As well as watching this very enjoyable movie, I recommend reading 'A Fine Day For A Hanging' by Carol Ann Lee.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Not a great film. I didn't think the acting was very good. Nothing filmed to show Ruth in prison awaiting her fate; disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
Heartbreaking, based on fact.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Happy with dvd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
Very good film.shows how intense things can get
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
I am a teacher and used this in conjunction with Let Him Have It for a KS4 project on capital punishment. I was disappointed that the film didn't deal with her trial but it gave an insight into her life and personality which suited my purpose.
Worth a watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2004
The film-critic Pauline Kael once complained that the problem she had with this film was that Miranda Richardson never stops ACTING in it. (Though quite what else she's supposed to do when appearing in a film is a mystery!). I think she was getting confused with the character. As the nightclub hostess of a seedy London dive in the 1950s, Ruth Ellis would have been putting on an act for a lot of the time anyway, and Richardson, with her hilarious mock-BBC accent and arch mannerisms, was bringing that to life superbly. Her attention to character detail here is superb. She has splended support from Rupert Everett (in those far-off halcyon days when he simply acted, and stopped trying so hard to be a camp icon!) as David Blakely, and Ian Holm has a quiet dignity as Desmond Cussens, Ruth's devoted and downtrodden admirer. I have seen this film many times over the years, and it impresses me each time. This is well worth seeing.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
The dvd worked OK - the film was rubbish!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 December 2013
Dance With a Stranger is directed by Mike Newell and written by Shelagh Delaney. It stars Miranda Richardson, Rupert Everett, Ian Holm, Stratford Johns and Joanne Whalley. Theme song is by Mari Wilson and cinematography by Peter Hannan.

On Easter Sunday 1955, Ruth Ellis shot and killed her lover David Blakely. Wednesday 13th July 1955, Ruth Ellis became the last woman to be executed in Great Britain.

Dance With a Stranger is a beautifully delicate film, producing what could have been a thorny issue movie, director Newell and his team stay clear of moralising or judgemental narrative smarts. They instead unspool an insightful film about a tragic crime of passion, a crossed classes love affair that ultimately spelt doom for both of the ill equipped parties.

Sticking mostly to the real facts, with only some dramatic license inevitably taken, pic harnesses themes of lust, jealousy, dark passion and obsession, played out to a 50s London backdrop of underworld movers and club dwelling shakers. It's a sad story, even sordid at times, but it never once reaches for the sensationalist option.

Though we are deprived of the court case and execution closure; and in fact the aftermath of the hanging which gnawed away at the conscience of a post-war Britain, it's a film that shows all that it needs to show. This wants us to look at the human beings involved, and then it asks us to draw our own conclusions about the principal players.

Excellently performed by Richardson and Holm, and superbly mounted by Newell and his technical crew, this is cinema for grown ups and one of the best British movies of the decade. 9/10
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)