Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
98
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2017
You don't expect anything less from this director: what starts out as a happy-go-lucky tale of small town folks and romance, quickly becomes a tragedy of injustice and suffering. The scenes can be compelling and grim, peppered annoyingly (to me) with the musical sections - didn't quite get it and the film would stand up perfectly without them ... not one I would watch again, Bjork isn't an actress and turns on the "little pixie" persona a bit too much - however this actually suits the character and her decision to work with this director is inspired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Saw this film ages ago and loved it so just wanted to see it again
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Byork is brilliant. In fact all are brilliant. And a musical! I don't normally go for musicals but this one (along with 'Head In the Stars') converted me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
I had been told to see this film for years, as a Bjork fan, everyone said I would love it. But no one prepared me for what I saw. Bjork is amazing as the going-blind immigrant and you feel so much compassion for her and the trouble she finds herself in you will either scream at the TV or cry your heart out. I went for the latter and cried from 20 mins in and by the end I was crying like a baby. If you don't like Bjorks music in general do not fear as the music, although serves it's purpose well as our heroine wishes her life was a musical, the music rarely tells you any story, more of a recap of dialogue so you could always skip the tunes and just enjoy this film for what it is. A film about how the little guy is pushed and trodden on until they fight back.
An added shout has to go to Catherine Deneuve who has always been the most graceful women on the screen and her supporting role just ads to the perfection that is this film.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
A++ cheers mate
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
nice to see Bjork. Films a bit boring
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
Great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2005
dancing and singing in a machine shop! How's that incorporated in a sad tale of human tragedy, I hear you ask? This is one of the most engaging films I've seen. I don't like Bjork in any other context but she's fantastic in this and Catherine Deneuve brings subtle grace to the factory floor.
Wonderful stuff
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)