Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
The First Emperor [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 18 September 2007
Qin Shi Huangdi was the first man to unite the whole of China into one land and ruled as the First Divine Emperor of China. This drama-documentary follows the Emperors life from when he became King of Chin (one of six Chinese states), through his conquests, his autocratic reign and charts his decline into madness and death. Spaced with the dramatic reconstructions are interviews with scholars and archaeologists who detail the discoveries that shed light on the life of one of the most powerful men to have ever lived. The drama is beautifully reconstructed and is generally historically accurate, if a little brief in places. This is a must see documentary for anyone interested in China and its history.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 January 2008
This is a straightforward, no-nonsense dramatised documentary of the life of the extraordinary Emperor Q'in, the man who united China over 2,200 years ago - the man for whom the terracotta warriors were made and who ordered the linking and completion of the defensive walls which came to make up the Great Wall of China. It is very well done indeed and tells its story in an interesting and involving manner throughout. We see some of the excavations on the site around the Emperor's tomb, which itself has never been excavated and the story of his life is told by distinguished academics from American universities and the University of Cambridge. Several episodes - battles, an assassination attempt, the death of the sinister Marquis and his two children by the Queen Mother, the final disintegration of the Emperor's physique and personality - are tellingly dramatised, but this is in no way a sensational film ; we see also earnest (but not dull! - actually very interesting) discussion about the meaning of some of the artifacts at the pits around the tomb, glimpses of the modern China, the text from which what is known about the Emperor's reign mainly comes, and so on. In particular the informed speculation about what is actually in the tomb is very well brought to life. I've visited the warriors and seen the tomb, but this I did not know about. In this way it is both informative and dramatic, and both aspects contribute to the narrative. I enjoyed it very much.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Excellent highly recommmened
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
-very interesting !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Excellent back-up to having visited the Terracotta Army
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
Another really excellent production, draws the viewer into the historical dramas of the time. Costumes, scripts and locations very informative. well worth buying and watching again and again. Packaging appropriate.price fair
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
I originally watched this on TV and, as I enjoyed it so much, bought the DVD and watched it again. What makes this documentary special is that the team have got right under and into the character of the China's first emperor making him a personality you will be thinking about long after you have switched off the TV.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2008
I bought this for my wife, The sound track is defective
Amazon suggest that I sell it on their site to dump it on some other poor customer. The reason is that the delivery date was more than six months. No matter that it was first unwrapped this week and is defective.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
This is an excellent historical documentary/drama that shines a light on how China was forged into one country by force of will and arms. Highly recommended. Chris
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
We just returned from an amazing tour through China and this reminds us of all the things we learnt about the Chinese Dynasties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)