Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2017
Absoletely superb. i love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Have had it on constant loop lol BRILLIANT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
One of my most played cds have it on ipod can not live with out this one .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Perhaps, not entirely fairly, Garbage have been following the law of diminishing returns for almost a decade.

As most bands go on, record releases get further apart as they start to overthink their work, and sometimes, this means that the public loses all interest in their work during these gaps. The three years between "v2.0" and "beautiful garbage", and the four years between that and the underwhelming "Bleed Like Me" have seen Garbage not bother tinkering with their magic formula to what could be their detriment.

"Absolute Garbage" is a handy value for money package and a good entry point for the casual listener. It's also like a Big Black album, in so much, as it start well and gets progressively worse as it continues. By the end, Garbage are sounding a little one-dimensional, trying variations on the same limited palette. As if it stopped being fun, and started being a job, a bad habit they can't break.

Now, this isn't to say this is by any means a bad record. It isn't. it's the crème de la crème of Garbage's work, and exemplifies exactly where their particular strengths lie : in writing slightly odd, heavily-processed, weird pop music. Garbage are the poor man's Curve : stealing the schtick of crunchy guitars and semi-engimatic breathy female vocals into a handy package. And some of the stuff is brilliant : "Stupid Girl", "Queer", "Milk", "I Think I'm Paranoid" are all concise, brilliant pop moments that tap into a particular mood and achieve a very singular vision within the space of four minutes. With tunes you can sing along to.

Sadly, as time wears on, the band fail to develop their sound or vision and start to sound as if they are going through the motions. Instead of the sense of compulsion, the sense of release, that these songs had to be sung, had to be written, it starts to feel as if the band are doing this because it's their job and they don't really know what else to do. When the music can't convince itself of it's essential need to exist, it's sometimes difficult for a listener to care either.

It's probably best then to skip the middle portion of this set : as time progresses the band become steadily less inventive and the songs less brilliant, which is a great shame. New track "Tell Me Where It Hurts" sounds like Garbage parodying Phil Spector : its by no means a bad thing, but nothing exceptional and lacks the punch-in-the-gut-WOW factor of great music.

That said, "Absolute Garbage" is no bad thing - it's a compact précis of the bands best work, and, for a two CD set seems keenly priced. The second CD compiles largely inessential remixes that will pique the curious, running the gamut of styles from generic and dated dance/club mixes (the type where the song being remixed is largely an afterthought), to entertaining diversions that sounds almost exactly like the remixers main work - UNKLE's remix of "The World Is Not Enough", contributions from Massive Attack and Fun Lovin' Criminals : worth a listen, but not an essential part of any collection.

Overall, "Absolute Garbage" is a pretty good compilation : almost all the singles, presented sequentially, with a bunch of remixes at a good price. Musically, it's not amazing and suffers slightly from the law of diminishing returns as the band run out of tricks as time progresses, but as an introduction to the bands work, you can't go wrong here.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 July 2007
Call your band GARBAGE and you'd better be good.

Fortunately, SHIRLEY MANSON & Co were excellent. And let's face it, had they been anything less, the irony of such a name would have sealed their fate forever (oh, hindsight, wilt thou never cease beguiling foolish wits into Stating The Bleedin' Obvious? You won't? Okay).

To me, their image and status has always been slightly on the edge of mainstream, yet the ability to write stunningly heavy AND gossamer subtle pop music remains a remarkable gift, deserving of only the highest praise. STUPID GIRL, MILK, I THINK I'M PARANOID, SPECIAL, ONLY HAPPY WHEN IT RAINS, BLEED LIKE ME...all fantastic examples of the above, with the most deceptively impressive plain-Jane vocals I've heard. Of course, everyone has their own opinion as to what should constitute a Greatest Hits package, but one thing's for certain: GARBAGE are not a band you take for granted (especially so, when you consider the inclusion of a James Bond title theme - who would ever have thought THAT possible?)

So, if you're not familiar with this Scottish/American hybrid, though toying with the idea of getting acquainted with them, then start here and work your way back - you won't be disappointed. For the rest of us, it remains somewhat of an essential purchase - due in no small part to a clutch of excellent and fascinating remixes.

I'm serious, forget the twee pop-confection currently abusing the charts, this is Grade A Garbage - something you absolutely won't want to dispose of in a hurry.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I am fortunate to be familiar with Garbage stemming from my teenage years of living in Illinois. The band's music was frequently featured on the Chicago, Illinois alternative rock station Q101 during the mid to late 1990's. I also caught some of their music videos on MTV and VH1. For some strange reason, I even heard their music in one of my dreams around 6-7 years ago. Due to these listed circumstances, I am most familiar with the following solemn but catchy songs:"Vow", "Only Happy When It Rains","Stupid Girl", "#1 Crush (featured on the soundtrack for the 1996 Romeo and Juliet movie), "Push It", "I Think I'm Paranoid", "Special", "When I Grow Up", and "The World Is Not Enough". I also enjoy that this edition also includes some of the songs as featured remixes. "The World Is Not Enough" (U.N.K.L.E Remix), "Cherry Lips" (Go Baby Go), and "You Look So Fine" are currently some of the songs that I currently enjoy on this collection. However, there are many other notable songs on this alternative rock set due to the pleasant vocals, multiform mixes of music, and musical tracks that contain unadulterated emotions. "Absolute Garbage" (Special Edition) by Garbage is best for those who like greatest hits collections containing industrial rock and/or electronica rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
A great compilation of songs from the first 4 Garbage albums, + 3 extra treats, and a whole extra disc with remixes. I couldn't ask for more, but am as always excited about their probable upcoming album :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Always loved Garbage, but over the years as I've changed formats from vinyl to MP3 had lost them. Bought this & it is the whole album is on my constant playlists! As I rep & spend up to 6-8hrs a day driving, it gets played a LOT :))
I have no regrets on this purchase only happy memories with fantastic tunes (only tune I skip is World is not enough)! However the next song Cherry Lip's (Go Baby Go), I'd never heard until this album, absolutely stunning. Would highly recommend this as a great compromise on purchasing all the albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)