Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 7 April 2010
The Director Michael Reeves did not want Vincent Price as the title role, preferring Donald Pleasance.However the Americans who were funding the film insisted on Vincent. Consequently the filming was a rather fraught time for Vincent Price, who nearly left the production at one time. In the end the combination of Price & Reeves produced a new genre of Horror film. Another film was planned for the pair but Reeves died before it could happen
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
It's very short and doesn't really tell you very much about the period but it's a pretty okay watch to get a rough idea of the nature of the English Witch Hunts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
I found this film interesting because of its local connections. I first watched it years ago and thought how well acted it was. Vincent Price is on form and always did make good films but i think it is his best. It was a barbaric time and the cruelty with which people were treated is absolutely awful, but these things did happen and are part of history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
This film was so awful I only managed to get through about half an hour. Matthew Hopkins was 27 when he died, Vincent Price was nearer 60 in the film. It was also very slow, perhaps was an OK film in the 70s, but really not worth a watching now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Excellent addition to my collection. Delivery & service 1st class, i'm very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
WITCHFINDER GENERAL has been out many times on many formats but this is the best you will see this classic british movie.What we have here is a very nice disc with very nice picture and sound with loads of extras.This movie PRICE is at his very best and after it there were other movies made in the same vein like THE BLOODY JUDGE or MARK OF THE DEVIL and in some ways BLOOD ON SATANS CLAW but WITCHFINDER is still the best as its a very well crafted movie with a very good story line were the others just tried to cover up a lack of a story line by putting a load of blood in to make up for it so if you want to see this classic movie you wont see it better than this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
a wonderful blast from the past, Vincent in one of his best roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Good quality and fast delivery ..highly recomend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Living very near Manningtree/Mistley, and well versed in the history and Matthew Hopkins, this was inaccurate at times in its portrayal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
Love this film, was really good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)