Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
20
3.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2013
I thought about making-up a bucket and hose arrangement for shot blasting myself, but in the end it was easier to just send for one of these. It was smaller than I thought it would be, but it does take a whole bag of shot (22KG bag) which is the stated capacity in the advert. A neat solution for the job of holding the grit. It should last for many years.

I use a 100LTR-3HP-14.5CFM CLARK compressor to run the kit, which it does very well. I can clean a rusty 4" square patch of chain maille armour in seconds, then go on too another patch. this saves endless time using a concrete mixer and the blasting kit does a far superior job (it's also more fun) The links look nice and clean afterwards, which is the whole point of the blaster. Also, there being no rust left, you won't dirty your nice off-white gambeson (thickly padded garment worn under armour)

You will also need a hood of some kind to protect yourself from all the grit flying about, goggles are not good enough. The grit goes everywhere you can imagine, even 15ft behind you so wear the proper clothing. I haven't tried it out on ordinary metal yet i.e. box section/round tubing etc., but I don't see why it wouldn't do a good job on that type of work as well. You may find it better to get a blasting cabinet as well, so as to not waste the grit so much, but check the CF/M of the cabinet first to see if your air compressor will be big enough to 'run' the cabinet properly.

I highly recommend this blasting kit for chain maille (medieval re-enactors take note) and other types of jobs that need sand/grit blasting, and would think that it would be very awkward to carry out this type of job without such a container as this.

UPDATE : I recently used this kit (December 2015) to clean one of my workshop vice's (a 6" mechanics Paramo) which was covered in dirty marks, paint splashes and rust on all bare metal surfaces, with excellent results. The original blue paint came off straight away and the extensive rust on the bare metal parts was left a dull 'clean' surface, ready for re-painting/greasing. This has turned out to be a very useful tool, but do use a compressor of adequate power to 'run' it. A compressor with 150LTR plus of air reserve would be even better than the one I use, giving a longer 'run' time.

My 100ltr compressor gives a 'run time' of about 45 seconds, before the motor kicks-in again. I have also found that very coarse grit (up too 3mm in size) will block the hose on a regular basis, so use only medium grit (up too 2mm max) which works well and without any blocking of the feed tube. Still highly recommended.
22 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
Great for the price only problem could not find spare ceramic nozzles for the gun
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Great piece of kit for the DIY enthusiast offering excellent value for money and appears very well made and has performed very well so far, it is better to use the proper grit which can be purchased everywhere (and on Amazon) to get the best performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Get ready to be covered in grit! Good product though
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
FANTASTIC BUY DOES WHAT IT SAYS PERFECTLY
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Works well for my use, which was for shot blasting my alloy wheels.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
I must admit to being worried about this purchase having read other reviews. It is easy to assemble and the moulding is designed to allow it to be put away neatly and stored in sensible manner. It is a cost efficient way of DIY renovation. I'm very happy with the product and delivery was fast and more importantly free.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Using this kit with a Sealey SAC05020 50ltr 2hp Compressor does mean you have to take it one bit at a time to let the compressor recover. A more manly compressor would cope better.
Stripping rust off mild steel is a piece of cake with coarse grit and 100PSI. It's very controllable and delicate, but still works quite fairly quickly. On the other hand, trying to remove well applied and undamaged enamel painted top coat off mild steel, the 2Hp compressor is not man enough. It abrades the surface gently, which basically means the job would take ages- and then even longer waiting for the compressor to recover.

You definitely need decent protective wear - I bought the Sandblasting Hood, which is good, but steams up really easily. The grit will get absolutely everywhere so you need to be mindful of where you use it. It is even worse if outside with any kind of breeze.
I was worried that the grit might get damp and cause blockages if left in the blaster bucket, but even after keeping the grit in the SB993 for a couple of cold months in the garage without a cover, it was fine.
The Sealey SB993 is simple to use, well made and good value. but don't blame the blaster if you skimp on the compressor and still want to use it on tough surfaces.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Good bit of kit and simple to use - recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
works well only got one blast medium at the moment but works well does the job
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)