Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2017
The product I bought is a Region 1 DVD which will not play on most standard European devices. This was clearly stated in the description and I was fully aware of it at the time of purchase. Make sure you read the product description carefully before ordering to avoid disappointment.

The film has become a veritable cult classic since its release in 1971. It's a hilarious black comedy and the ultimate May-December romance all rolled into one. Harold is twenty, spoiled, filthy rich, and bored with life. Maude is a lively lady in her very late seventies. They meet at a funeral and form an unlikely friendship from the moment the free spirited Maude goes joyriding in Harold's private hearse. Everything about the film is utterly outrageous, from the characters, their relationship and Harold's macabre "hobby" to Maude's utter disregard for conventions and property.

Harold is played by Bud Cort, Maude by the wonderful Ruth Gordon. Both deliver delightfully OTT performances. It's cheesy, it's campy, it's funny as hell, it's one of the most enjoyable films I've ever seen. An absolute gem. The Cat Stevens soundtrack is legendary to boot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
An old classic film which is a very Black Comedy, the first third of the film is sooo funny, when
Harold's mother is trying to get him a girlfriend. It's still a fun film after that, but not as funny.
To tell anything more about the film might put people off, because it's about Harold and Maude,
and its a romance, but with a massive ages between them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Firstly, I've wanted to watch this film for ages, particularly for it's subject matter, which would probably still be considered controversial now. The actors are great and parts of it are very funny but unfortunately, I don't think it has stood the test of time. Maybe we just like things at a bit more of a faster pace as I found the film really slow at points. Anyway, I'm glad I've seen it and that it's in my collection to be revisited at a later date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
The film is brilliant. Definitely one I'd watch again and again. It's one of those that'll make you laugh, think and cry. It's pity about the lack of bonus material, it would have been great to see some interviews with the cast, or a making-of etc. But nevertheless, in and of itself the film is a masterpiece and would make a great addition to any classic/cult film collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2016
One of the best old movies ever lots of laughs a few tears and cat stevens music all the way through, whats not to love.
if you find this helpful, please click on yes below
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Great Quality, Great Seller.
Awesome movie, Dark but very funny humour. Fantastic Musical Soundtrack
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Fantastic black comedy. One of my all time favourite films. Hilarious and poignant, everything it should be, and with the perfect soundtrack.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Really funny my mum loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Good service and DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
just for ruth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)