Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
43
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
a very good story and good quality thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
Slow and boring - didn't hold my attention long enough for me to form any other opinion. Hard work to stick with it. More like an English Lit. assignment than erotica.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
I have watched all of the 'Lady Chatterly's' and I am just going by how I felt watching this version... one report said that the acting was 'wooden', but this briefer version than the others, made me feel enchanted as I viewed it! I loved it! Sylvia Kristel is soo exquisitely beautiful and the guy opposite her (lover i.e not hubby) was hunky and sexy and sensitive - more than in the other versions - I felt he really loved her! What a lovely tale .. it is a kind of fairy tale where true love does have a happy ending. I always thought this book was raunchy and rude, but this film depicts the very opposite!
I want to watch it again and think I'll buy it so I have it to watch for the future! :))
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
Sylvia Kristel smoulders in this adaptation of the classic D.H.Lawrence novel, and as with the "Emmanuelle" films, she brings a sophisticated class, and sensual intensity to the sexual core of the storyline. Beautiful countryside, a strong cast, rich and lush settings, and burning passion !! The stunning Sylvia Kristel was an unusual, but mostly successful, choice for the role in this film, (which can be enjoyed on many levels).
If you take the film for what it is....well played "adult" entertainment, and do not look for anything too serious, the movie is there to be enjoyed ! There have been many other more "worthy" TV/Film versions of this great novel, if that is what you are looking for !
The film settings do have an authentic feel to them, and the whole tone of the movie is quite "dark", and fairly respectful to this outstanding English author. In my opinion it does not appear overly "sensational", and the strong sexual nature of this classic is handled quite tastefully and with the necessary care. It is a fairly traditional telling of the story, but look elsewhere if you are searching for a version that really does justice to D.H.Lawrence`s great work.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2004
I was only 16 when I first saw this movie & my parents were asleep to know what I saw.Since then I have always been captured with the story line that is told & acted so good. D.H. Lawrence left a legacy that is timeless.For me the picture & sound is perfect.The assembled cast is the best there is & Kristel is still beautiful as ever as in Emmanualla I dont understand some reveiwers refering to that other movie when we are talking about the Lady Chatterly's Lover.There is a lot a nakedness & tyst in the movie but its all exposed in a very cinematic manner & its not crude porn.I personally would not condone adultry between spouses just because the husband is no longer able to do "it" but this is a very old tale & Iam sure some people have gone through similar experience though may be a very few.Its one of those movies that might apply to a real life situation.The old English country side is well portrayed & yes the attire & garments fit well with the times very excellently chosen & crafted.There is also a lesson behind the story "never give up too easily on your love ones who are injured" if u want the reason for this then u have to buy the DVD & see for yourself & see the maid closing the windows shutting herself inside presumable permanently? See the movie.NB This movie is not for children It consist of language & theme of an adult nature 18 Age Restriction is a good call.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2001
Sylvia Kristel is excellent as Constance Chatterley, the frustrated wife of a battle-scarred aristocrat. Her sensual nature and physical beauty are utilised more fully than in her Emmanuelle role. The love scenes with Nicholas Clay are very erotic yet tasteful. The English countryside setting lends a subtle enchantment to the story and indelibly etches certain images. The characters of Clifford Chatterley and Oliver Mellors are well cast. I am surprised that this movie is almost non-existent in the United States of America. A good representation of D.H. Lawrence's masterpiece. I did not award 5 stars because it is my opinion that novels by authors like David Herbert Lawrence are never fully captured in movies owing to the frequent soliloquy of characters.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2016
Bought the film for my wife's mum as she had never seen the original film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2001
This is not a great movie, even though some of the elements are no doubt in place. However, if you are a fan of Sylvia Kristel, you may want to see this one: she is probably even more beautiful here than in Emmanuelle, which was filmed seven years earlier. The film could have been better, but something is missing. As someone has said, it is beautifully staged, but banal. Picture and sound quality is below average. Anyway, not bad for an erotic film. If you have not seen Emmanuelle, get that one first.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2017
Don't know I've only just got it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2008
Really dated, lazily written, doesn't really share any of the ideas of the novel, it's just based on the same scenario.

However, if you are a 13 year old boy it will probably seem like all your Christmases have come at once.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)