Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
17
Anglo Saxon Attitudes [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 November 2013
This is a superb adaptation of an odd, but I believe important and even outstanding novel, which I read as a young man, and have continued to admire. I still think of it as Angus Wilson's best work. the casting and general approach in this televised version could not be bettered, with Johnson and Spriggs ideal as Gerald and Inge.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2017
Angus Wilson is always a tricky writer to follow but this production excels. It has an excellent cast and is dramatized by the best- Andrew Davies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Could not stop watching my mother who is 80 stayed up until 2am as could not wait to see the end
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2014
Excellent British mini-series with wonderful performances from Richard Johnson and Elizabeth Spriggs, really scene stealing. Would recommend this series to anyone who likes good drama or comedy for that matter. Great to see Dorothy Tutin in the latter episodes.
The British really know how to make shows like this and, of course, there are some spicy scenes as well and gay characters to boot. A must for those who like good British drama.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 May 2015
An interesting adaptation of a very complex book that doesn't totally work but is still a very good attempt. The cast is excellent but the normally very impressive Andrew Davis doesn't quite bring to the script the full nuance of the novel and it ends up being rather a disjointed affair. Still it's well worth seeing and the transfer is excellent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2015
BE CAREFUL IF YOU BUY THIS DVD,IT IS TWO DISCS AND OUR SECOND DISC WOULD NOT PLAY HENCE ONLY 3 STARS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2011
Mixture of costume drama,tragic story of lost love and the failure of people to connect,and a finely observed social comedy.With every viewing,I notice another detail I missed from before - there are so many layers to this piece.Acting and dialogue are superb.Each little scene is carefully crafted.A real treat for those who enjoy a film with depth as well as subtle humour.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2012
By any standards at all this is masterly story-telling, originally in Angus Wilson's novel, of course, but also in this exceptionally effective adaptation by Andrew Davies. It's inventive, sad, funny, intelligent - what more could you ask for? There's scarcely a weak performance anywhere, and the best are as good as it gets - principally Richard Johnson, who is simply magnificent down to the finest detail, but I'd also single out Amanda Mealing, Deborah Findlay, Nicholas Jones, and Dorothy Tutin. Don't hesitate to give it a go.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2017
The overuse of non-sequencial flashbacks, makes this piece difficult to follow. Full of unpleasant spoiled characters, doing nothing of any real significance. The acting is very good, but it is not a show for mainstream viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2013
British at its best. A must see drama. I see i have to write 12 more words so here they are ?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)