Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
318
4.5 out of 5 stars
Rainmaker (Special Edition) [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 November 2013
The main story follows a young, inexperienced lawyer (Matt Damon) as he battles with a big insurance company for not paying healthcare costs to treat a poor family's critically ill son. A deceptively well-known cast brings some strong characters to life in this film, which adds even more enjoyment to a [predictably] very entertaining story from John Gresham. Danny Glover is borderline hilarious as a judge with an anti-corporate attitude & his subtle efforts to help Damon against a mighty team of corporate lawyers (lead by John Voight) provides some nice 'chuckle' moments. The love interest for Matt Damon's character is provided by a very sexy Claire Dannes, playing the role of a victim of violent domestic abuse whom he meets in hospital.
This is one of those 'under the radar' type of films that, once you've watched it, you'll probably wonder why you hadn't heard of it before?! Seriously, give it a try.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Unfortunately I had just finished reading the book - which was excellent - and although the film itself was also excellent, I noticed that there were several nuances omitted which I felt should have been included for greater impact. However; the film was very good and well worth the small amount I paid for the dvd, which arrived almost by return and securely, economically packaged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 February 2011
I really enjoyed this e-book. A gripping story with some wonderful moments in the court-room scenes where corporate big business were shown up to be liars and cheats. Fat-cat lawyers don't come out of the book smelling of roses either! It's book rich with side stories that add to the pleasure. The central character, Rudy Baylor, is an impecunious young lawyer just starting out in his career. He's mainly a good guy fighting for the underdog. As his first case he gets embroiled in a massive law-suit against a dodgy insurance company who have repeatedly refused to pay for life-saving medical treatment for the son of one of their policy-holders. The book has many humorous moments but also exposes the fate of many poor Americans in a country without a national health service and the power of big business aided by their lawyers.
A book that made me think, but also made me laugh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Very good. When you know it is from a John Grisham novel, you know it is going to be good. The only reason I gave a star short was because I seemed to have seen a lot of films set in court where the under dog fights and wins. This film is one of the better ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
This has always been a favourite movie of mine. Had hoped for a Blu-ray version by now? However this is an excellent telecine and not sure how much a Blu-ray version would improve on this?

Would I recommend. of course.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2016
This author was suggested to me by my partner she said she thought I'd like his books well after reading this I wasn't disappointed absolutely loved reading this and I will certainly look forward to reading other books by him
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Really enjoyed this book club choice ....naive law student taking on big business. However, felt Kelly added nothing to it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
Fantastic, and as I like the book had an ending I like things wrapped up, could not put it down people in the country UK need to sue more often
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
This is a very entertaining book with a very likable main character. Don't watch the movie, read this book. Itis thick but so what... You will wish for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
Good novel,

Another good John Grisham book. Keeps you guessing until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)