Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 16 July 2016
Fielding's Tom Jones suffered from the view that "it was the universal opinion of all Mr. Allworthy's family that he was certainly born to be hanged". As I encountered Edie Sedgewick in this splendidly sad film I got a similarly grim premonition: she was not born (as she remarks) to die old. Played admirably by Sienna Miller she has that mixture of needieness and the expectation that that need will be met by someone, and the transmission of energy that others feed off and never return. In this case Andy Warhol (a magnificent piece of work by Guy Pearce) and a character designed to look and sound like Bob Dylan (but, in best Godzilla IP traditions, it's definitely not him, oh dear me no). There's a splendid sense of period to the film that goes far beyond what is essentially a story of naiveté rewarded. It is a New York one can barely recognise now from the era where the Holly Golightly Forties passed to the Kitty Genovese Sixties
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2016
As blu-ray films go it's a waste of time because it seems the film is delibrately grainy to reflect the period the film is set in but I only worked that out, at first thinking it was a crap transfer when it was obvious for the most part the film is told as several long flashbacks. So, unless you can the blu-ray for the same price as the DVD, get the DVD. The sound quality is average and there isn't much sound to get excited about anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
This film threw away an opportunity. See my review of "Edie: American Girl". In fact download Edie (ciao baby) and its accompanying video by The Cult. That excellent piece of music will give you a far better sense of Edie in four minutes 45 seconds than this film could ever hope to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2014
My brother paid £18 for this film. He lent it me. I returned the case. I bought another on here for 1p plus postage! Good film too, set in Warhols factory. It made Lou Read out to be a bit of a nob though, I don't personally know him but I like his work. Drug use, sex, bad language, can't remember any violence but there probably was... What more do you want from a film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2017
Sienna Miller portrays the first IT Girl. A gripping story of life in the 60's in New York for a young British girl, with people like Andy Worhole (played by Guy Pearce). How life in the fast lane usually ends in tragic circumstances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2012
Sienna Miller is pitch perfect as Edie and Guy Pearce horribly convincing as Andy Warhol in this biopic of Edie Sedgwick, one of his stable of "Superstars" whom he exploited ruthlessly by playing on their vanities and insecurities. The film drew a fair bit of criticism at the time of its release for being shallow and wandery. I think its narrative style and structure perfectly suit the subject matter - though the Bob Dylan character jarred a bit. It's no small feat on the director's part (and a great tribute to Sienna Miller as an actress) that the film makes us care about Edie - and tells a cautionary tale for our celebrity besotted times in the process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2014
The sad truth of the superficial world some people live in. Sienna Miller was great in the sad character of the main actress but some people do have very sad existence behind closed doors. I never liked Andy Warhol very much and after watching this film I realized that my instinct was right not to fall into the hype.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2015
Loads of extra here of Edie herself. Sienna portrays her faithfully, and no mistaking the "Folk singer" she has a dalliance with. Doesn't do Warhol a lot've favours though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2015
great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)