Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
34
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2017
Fantastic to see the almost forgotted Diana Dors
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Excellent value.Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
An enjoyable collection of films from the 1940's / 50's that bought as a Box Set were a real Bargain1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
great films
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2007
Was ecstatic when I read this was due for release, less than ecstatic when I saw the collection. 'A Kid for Two Farthings' is excellent, and a really nice copy, beautiful colour. 'Yield to the Night' is a great film as well, Diana's favourite. The remaining 4 titles are co-star roles,' some of them quite short-As long as they're happy' a VERY' short 'guest spot', though she does look incredible. All the films are enjoyable in their own 1950's way but if you are just waiting for Diana you will be dissapointed. A big shame ' Tread Softly, Stranger, or 'The Unholy Wife' are missing. A booklet would have been more than welcome. The bio-pic is a real treat, both actresses excellent in it.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
I have yet to view this box set. In truth, I purchased it for two films " A kid for two farthings! and "Yield to the night." The additional films and the biopic are a bonus. In my humble opinion this Diana Dors collection represents outstanding value for money if you can get it at the right price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2007
Aside from 'Yield to The Night', which is brilliant, Diana Dors did not star in any of the other 5 films in this box; she only appeared briefly for about ten minutes or so in them. This boxed set has no synopsis or description for any of the films in it, so nobody will know what any of them are about, prior to viewing them, unless of course they have seen them before. It would have been very useful for ITV DVD label to include a booklet, telling us what the films are about! The packaging is totally misleading as the images of the star on it do not appear in any of these six films.
Without 'Yield to The Night' in it, I would not have purchased this utterly disappointing and misleading boxed set. Shame on ITV DVD.
44 Comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2007
Having ordered and recieved this box set, I would like to agree with some of the other reviews, in some of the dvd's Miss Dors only appears fleetingly, however I would have ordered the box set for Yield To The night alone wich is an outstanding film, and the other movies are worth a watch because it shows Miss Dors going from supporting Roles to a starring role so its all very interesting if you are a fan.And also the Blonde Bombshell Biopic is excellent. However what has happened to her other Brittish Movies such as The Weak and The Wicked, Value For Money and her last film Steaming. And I supose it would be to much to ask for I Married A Woman and The Unholy Wife, I have most of her films on VHS but would love them on DVD...please please e mail ITV and ask for them to release a second box set including more movies with starring roles of Diana Dors. She was our own Blonde Bombshell and at the time of her death had this country watching the news of her failing health daily and everybody was rooting for her to recover sadly she did not but her films deserve to be seen. So please if enough people e mail ITV they just might release another box set.Lets keep our fingers crossed.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2007
itv DVD have pulled out all the stops for this lavish collection for Diana Dors. The packaging is excellent, the box folds out revealing pictures of our star (the pictures shown are from publicity shots taken for As Long as They're Happy, which is included in this set).
We have 6 movies here covering Dors career in British Film, some are early co-star roles and it's great to see the pre-peroxide starlet making her mark. Lady Godiva Rides Again, which also features an early role for Joan Collins and and uncredited cameo from the doomed Ruth Ellis is a great comedy/drama about beauty contests, Diamond City with Honor Blackman in the lead female role, who also stars with Dors in A Boy, A Girl and a Bike, two very differnt dramas, one set in the diamond fields of South Africa the other a cycle club in a North Country mill town. Dors is in full Blonde Bombshell mode singing Hokey Pokey Polka in the histerical As Long as They're Happy.
We then have Carol Reeds classic tale A Kid For Two Farthings about a young boy who belives he has found a unicorn, Dors is wonderful in this movie which boasts an impressive all star ensemble including Celia Johnson.
Of course Yield to the Night is Diana Dors' best film, directed by Lee J Thompson, Dors gives the performance of a lifetime playing Mary Hilton, a woman waiting to be hanged for the murder of the other woman.
All the discs have extras too, including picture galleries, star profiles and director profiles, all the discs have full animated menu systems. The transfers to dvd are also excelent.
As if this wasn't enough we also have the bonus 7th disc, the 4 hour bio-pic of Dors amazing life, The Blonde Bombshell which stars Keeley Hawes as the young star and Amanda Redman playing the older Dors, excellent!
review image
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)