Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2017
All OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
Having seen every series of My Family, I believe that the programme was never quite the same after the departure of Nick (the eldest son), who in my mind was the funniest character. Following Nick's departure at the end of series 4 (bar 1 episode in series 5), he was shortly replaced by the character Alfie Butts (Nick's friend), and more frequent appearances of Abi and Roger. The programme has still maintained much of its comic element, however I am a believer that the first three series saw the programme at its funniest. Another small problem with the later series (series 5/6 onwards) is that, not only does Nick leave home, but Janey too leaves home and Michael turns into more of an adult. This, for me, slightly defeats the object of the programme, which is making fun of everyday family life. With no children, I found that the programme became more of a partnership of Ben (the father) and Susan (the mother), and lost its origional family feel to an extent. To make up for this slight deficiency of everyday family incidences that could be made fun of, the plots of the later episodes have become more far fetched and the writers have perhaps started to run out of the simple but hilarious ideas which made the first few series so hilarious.

Despite all this, the programme, as I say, is still a good laugh and has maintained most of its comedy. I still find them great fun to watch so, by all means, I would reccomend My Family Series 7 to anyone in search of a good Laugh.

Hope I have helped.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
My Family follows the ups and downs (primarily downs) of those in the Harper family. There's Ben (Robert Lindsay) - a long suffering father, husband and dentist. There's Susan (Zoe Wanamaker) - Ben's wife who has become a controlling mother hen. Their three children Nick (though he doe not feature in this series which is a shame) Janey (who I am glad to report DOES feature in every episode of this latest series with her son Kenzo) and Michael (who is still willing to sell family members on ebay for a fair price). In this series, we see Kenzo's father's identity finally revealed, Kenzo tries his hand at child acting, Ben and Susan's relationship is re-vowed and Abi and Richard (two additional oddly amusing "creatures" who have been brought in to replace the sadly missed humour that came wih Nick's character) finally wed. All around laughs, with a promise that this series has recovered some of the magic that was lost in the previous few. Worth a buy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
My family is one of my fave British comedies even though it is no longer on I can now relive every moment of this hilarious show it keeps me laughing and anyone can watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Everyone needs a bit of 'My Family' In their lives!

Fantastic feel good comedy, very funny!

Something most people can relate too, a dysfunctional family! With an uninterested father!

Lots of episodes, you can never get bored of this!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
I love my family, one of the best british sit coms ever, I have all the other series, so I thought I'd make it a full house, I would recommend it to anybody who loves a good comedy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
Yet another DVD from that long running TV series it started when the children were small and finished with the only daughter as a mother and youngest son finds out he is gay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This series is really funny & my wife & I never tire of watching it, I now have the complete & entire series to enjoy over & over again..Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
One of my favourite show and now completes my collection the DVD was in excellent condition and was delivered quickly well recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
Excellent series and service from this vendor; one of my 'preferred' international choices
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)