Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Christmas with Elvis Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
49
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Northern Soul Story, Vol. 4: Wigan Casino
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 July 2017
All good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2009
I love these northern soul compilations. Apart from the "beats per minute" reqirement then pretty much any thing can end up on them. In the seventies these records certainly widened my taste in music and made me sweat in a wild blaze of euphoria on the dance floor.
Lets face it - some of the vocalists are bad. You can hear them straining to get their four minutes of fame - bless'em. But then again all the effort can produce something uplifting.
A lot of these sounds were produced by small labels on a shoestring budget.The instrumentation, playing and production is dire in some cases but on nearly every track there is something to love - a bassline, an organ sound, some groovy guitar lick, great horns etc...
Anybody jaded and bored by the same-old should find much to tickle their fancy.
O.K. so you could buy a Motown compilation instead but you won't have so much FUN.
The sound quality doesn't seem too bad either. Dance on....if you're still able.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
I bought this for my husband as he loves the nostalgia of the seventies when he in fact did go to the Wigan casino , I watched him the other night bustin some moves I leave that to your imagination
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
I love these northern soul compilations. Apart from the "beats per minute" requirement then pretty much any thing can end up on them. In the seventies these records certainly widened my taste in music and made me sweat in a wild blaze of euphoria on the dance floor.
Lets face it - some of the vocalists are bad. You can hear them straining to get their four minutes of fame - bless'em. But then again all the effort can produce something uplifting.
A lot of these sounds were produced by small labels on a shoestring budget.The instrumentation, playing and production is dire in some cases but on nearly every track there is something to love - a bassline, an organ sound, some groovy guitar lick, great horns etc...
O.K. so you could buy a Motown compilation instead but you won't have so much FUN.
The sound quality doesn't seem too bad either. Dance on....if you're still able. Keep The Faith
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
It didn’t featured the same range of contemporary black music as its rival, Blackpool’s invitingly named Mecca, and was criticised for playing too many pop instrumentals, like the theme tunes to Hawaii Five-O and Joe 90. But in its brief heyday Wigan’s Casino was undoubtedly popular: it was voted ‘The Best Club In The World’ by Billboard magazine in 1978, edging out New York’s very famous, and very exclusive, Studio 54. That success is also reflected in the frankly ridiculous number of compilations that bear the Northern Soul venue’s name. With the likes of Don Ray’s bittersweet ‘Born A Loser’, Reparata & The Delrons ultra-fast ‘Panic’, and Spiral Staircase’s million-selling ‘More Today Than Yesterday’, this 25 track CD is a largely worthwhile addition to that list.

But at just 64 minutes this fourth volume in Sony BMG’s solid, if unspectacular-looking, The Northern Soul Story series, only features a tiny fraction of the music played on its traditional polished dancefloor over the years. A lot of the excellent records referred to in DJ Ian Dewhirst’s sleevenotes, including Dean Parrish’s ‘I’m On My Way’, Frankie & The Classical’s ‘I Gotta Find Me Somebody’, and Gloria Jones’s ‘Tainted Love’, can’t actually be found here. However, a lot of them are spread across Goldmine’s 3 1990 compilations: The Wigan Casino Story;The Wigan Casino Story Vol.2: 27 Northern Soul Classics from the Heart of Soul, and The Wigan Casino Story Vol.3 : The Final Chapter
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 October 2016
Volume 4 of a sublime series of 4 concentrating on the Northern Soul discoveries of the major venues associated with the genre - in this case Wigan Casino. The whole collection reeks of quality with 14 of the 25 tracks featured in Kev Roberts' definitive "Northern Soul 500" book, although there's not a duff track included. Each is examined in turn by curator of the collection Ian Dewhurst, who also includes a two page essay on the impact of Wigan Casino which is both informative and well written. The collection starts with two examples of Blue-eyed soul, kicking off with Paul Anka's superb floor filler I Can't Help Loving You and Dana Valery's take on a Paul Simon song, You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies, a slice of vintage Northern Soul if ever there was. Panic by Reparata and The Delrons is also blue-eyed soul, showing how inclusive the genre became. Most here is in the ersatz Mid-60's Motown sound, although Can We Share It by Rick Sheppard, Hold On by Judy Freeman and Blackrock, and I Go To Pieces (Everytime) by Gerri Grainger are in the early 70's Modern Soul style. That last track, together with final track Time Will Pass You By are two of the Casino's famous '3 before 8' session closer, and bring this collection to an elated end. If you are new to Northern Soul or have found memories of the scene the whole set of four discs are pretty much essential purchases
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 August 2016
Another excellent Collection of The Northern Soul Genre. Hard to separate these four gems Manchester's Twisted Wheel , Blackpool's Mecca , Stoke On Trent's Golden Torch [ Torch] and the final CD Wigan's Casino.They all bring something special. If you love this Genre buy them all they are worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
Purchased this for my husband. He absolutely loved it. Tracks on there that he hasn't heard in years. Delighted with the purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)