Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Our Love To Admire
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 September 2017
For me the Interpol group's best album, wonderful vinyl, excellent remastering of this vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2014
Quality album with some really good songs on...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2007
You will not find Interpol straying far from what they know on this, their third LP. Musically, the band have developed very little. Bar the introduction of Keyboards into the mix, there is very little to distinguish the sound of album number three from Antics or Turn on the Bright Lights. It remains minimalist alternative Indie, with a slightly greater emphasis on the lead guitar.

Where the band have progressed is in song and album structure. Each track is a thoroughly enjoyable listen: eleven emotionally charged tracks, each leading from the last with fluidity and grace. Each instrument is now less obvious among the mix, facilitating a more professional, and grander sound (evident no more so than on epic album opener "Pioneer to the Falls"). The album succeeds as one piece of work, and as a collection of tracks, and has nailed the formula for what is required to make an album great.

Our Love to Admire is arguably the band's greatest work to date - the album features practically no filler. It is a thoroughly enjoyable listen throughout, and is definitely one of the finds of 2007.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2007
Like a lot of Interpol fans I was waiting with nervous anticipation for this album, all the hype and speculation about the possiblities of signing for a major label ruining the sound are for the most part unfounded.
This album really benefits from a greater level of instumentation over the last two, oboe solo anyone? Production is excellent throughout although, although some may dislike the poppier sound to some, but not all of the tracks, drums seem to be more to the fore than before, with the bass taking a little more of a back seat and losing some of the peculiar but brilliant funk/disco vibe that antics had, there's a real feeling of "cinema" throughout.
It's a captivating listen, suffering a little from the usual swing between the ridiculous and sublime lyrics of Paul Banks, some give pause for thought and reflection, others are more like slightly dodgy sixth form poetry, but as usual that's the minority.
highlights for me include the opener Pioneer to the falls, a heartfelt and bold start to the album, no I in threesom is excellent and an unusual topic for a track, lets hope it's a single.
For me the slight lows would be All fired up... it's just a bit.. weak, although it's no doubt going to be popular on the dancefloor, who do you think and lighthouse aren't too inspiring, but perhaps they'll be long term "growers".
Overall though, a thoroughly good third album that sticks to the Interpol formula, but adds a new level of polish that doesn't in anyway detract from the atmosphere and feel you'd expect. (The special edition is nicely done too)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 August 2007
It's been three years since Interpol last released an album, the solid sophomore album "Antics," and only a year since they signed onto a major label.

But like Modest Mouse and the Decemberists, they aren't changing their sound to try to get MTV videos and commercial play. Instead, the New York band keeps chugging along with what they've always done -- lean, dramatic rock'n'roll with choppy edges, and some explorations into new territory.

It opens with a gently circling riff and what sounds like chimes. "Show me the dirt pile/And I will pray that the soul can take/Three stowaways/Vanish with no guile/And I will not pay/But the soul can wait," Paul Banks sings over a sensual, textured rock song that grows more intense with every second. "So much for me believing that sorrow/So much for dreams we see but never care to know/Your heart makes me feel..."

And that's just the warmup. Interpol stretches out into different kinds of choppy, Joy-Division style rock'n'roll -- the blazing rapid-fire "Heinrich Maneuver," ringing sinuous rock'n'roll, swirling guitars, grimy classic rockers, mournful guitar pop, and a timid ballad that blooms into a sprawling anthem of shifting voices.

It finishes on a great note -- the epic "Lighthouse," a fuzzy grey sprawl of rippling guitar and strings, with only Banks singing like a regretful ghost. It's completely different from all the other songs, and though it's a jump into the dark for Interpol, it pays off beautifully.

In fact, the finale is just the more extreme example of what Interpol play around with here -- in some of "Our Love to Admire's" songs, they weave in some smooth piano or epic moments. Most of the album sticks to what they have always done (albeit with more polish), but they do explore some new soundscapes -- which hopefully will lead to more of the same.

But the main force of the music is the solid rock'n'roll sound, as doomy as ever -- dark, sharp, ringing riffs and some thudding bass, along with solid drums to keep a beat going. Occasionally they diddle with other sounds as well, like fuzz bass or long quiet riffs, and the album is lightly sprinkled with brief piano, stretches of cold synth, and a few little chimes in the quiet moments.

The songs themselves aren't much more chipper. In his rich, sensual voice, Banks sings of broken loves, "molten skies," past anger, and some relationships that turn really creepy ("And I can bind you with no ties/and lease time and watch you fall"). But it's not all misery -- one song describes a man who "lives my life in cocaine," and a "daisy" girl who inspires him to stop.

"Our Love To Admire" edges into some new territory, but mostly stays safe in the solid, ringing rock'n'roll that they've done before. And even then, they've given their old sound some new twists -- very enjoyable.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2007
I have been listening to an advance copy of this album for over two weeks now (I've since bought it), and there were the obvious stand-out tracks that hit you immediately, such as Pioneer To The Falls, The Heinich Maneuver, Mammoth and Pace Is The Trick.

All of these tracks are good enough to be on Antics and Turn On The Bright Lights. Some of the other tracks are not immediate hits, such as Scale, All Fired Up, Wrecking Ball and Who Do You Think. However, in time, you will find that you listen to these tracks more than the stand-out tracks. Along with Lighthouse, these are now the tracks that make me want to listen to this album.

I now think this is better than the last two albums. Genius.

All I can say is well done lads, you've gone and done it again! You've gone and made another classic album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2007
GREAT! Interpol have done it...delicate shades of light amid the darkness, a progression,an essential part of any indie music and this third album is full of subtle changes and chinks of daylight.

After the intense and slightly montonous "Antics".."Our Love" is a gentler synthesis of chiming guitars,glacial synths and softer vocals from paul banks. the lyrics are better than on "Antics" and the baritone gloom is lifted in some tracks as well.

I really didnt expect much from this but Interpol have touched greatness here with some glimpses of melody,hints of harmony and even a Morricone-influenced closing track..the future is a little less black.....!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2007
There was a definite fear with Interpol's move from indie Matador to major Capitol and Carlos D's look drifiting from vague fascist of a Joy Division disposition to the look of The Killers that Interpol would turn into one of those bands of a U2/Coldplay disposition. It could be done - remember how great Simple Minds were before the bombast set in, or how bad the Bunnymen were when they tried to do that stuff? Our Love to Admire isn't that vast shift, in fact, it's Interpol as usual, just with a more ambitious, wider sound - vaster production values, but none of that bombast. It's quite refreshing to here a band trying to extend their earlier sound accordingly, so there is essence of Talk Talk in opener Pioneer to the Falls, twiddly post rock shapes on The Lighthouse and Wrecking Ball, and psychedelia on Mammoth, which sounds like Dust-era Screaming Trees playing a Psychedelic Furs song. Our Love to Admire isn't the sellout LP, and Interpol don't warrant those Duran Duran-jibes from the Independent's Andy Gill (especially since they seem to have been borrowed from a member of Battles dissing The Strokes in the Guardian!!). Interpol do sound like bands of yore - Comsat Angels, Kitchens of Distinction, the Furs, The Chameleons, The Sound, the Bunnymen etc - but they still manage to sound a bit fresh and transcend the easy fingerpointing "that comes from there...and there..." that I do with LCD Soundsystem, Josef Ferdinand & Radiohead.

The most epic tracks are amongst the most interesting here, Pioneer to the Falls, Rest My Chemistry and The Lighthouse all push five minutes, perhaps this is a direction Interpol should follow next? The sound has changed, there are lots more keyboards and emebellishments, which might have to do with the drummer having nerve problems, or Carlos D wanting to make soundtracks and listening only to classical (see a recent blog on Guardian Unlimited). I wonder if an instrumental record by Interpol would be interesting? - though I think they like songs and vocals, so like a band like Wire, seem caught between poppier climes and the avant garde, which isn't the worst place to be...

No I in Threesome is unlike a previous record, with a John Cale/Terry Riley style piano and a feel that reminds me a little of early REM, or one of their peers like Pylon (see the wonderful Crazy). Next track The Scale similarly throws the listener, who might be waiting for an Evil or Slow Hands - instead it's a tight mid paced rocker that concludes with an E-Bow solo from Paul Banks that sounds very Robert Fripp...which can only be quite a decent thing? Those who wanted another Antics and not best pleased so far will be appeased with single the Heinrich Maneuver which is a sort of sequel to Evil, with a Pixies-style bassline - though it's even tighter and more angular, veering off into an odd direction - even sounding like the next track. Heinrich even gets away with the line, "today my heart swings", which in other hands probably wouldn't fly. My favourite track and the centrepiece of the album is Mammoth, which appears to be one of the few tracks they're playing from Our Love to Admire on this year's tour - though much of that has been Festival related. Let's hope that more Admire-material is moved into the live set by the time I see them in Birmingham in August! I'd rather hear No I In Threesome, Rest My Chemistry, Mammoth, Pioneer to the Falls, The Scale, Heinrich, Pace is the Trick and The Lighthouse than an older song...

The first half of the LP concludes strongly on Pace is the Trick, which feels like an expansion on directions apparent on earlier joys like NYC, Leif Erikson and A Time So Small. Our Love...goes a bit askew next with All Fired Up, which doesn't quite hang together for me - sounding like several ideas that don't quite fuse together - fortunately Rest My Chemistry is next and returns things back to that high standard. The keyboards are quite ambient, though the second guitar that comes in does sound like that riff from Where Is My Mind by The Pixies!! Who Do You Think sounds like a revisit to the style of Say Hello to the Angels, while the closing duo of Wrecking Ball and The Lighthouse point at interesting directions for the future (whether Capitol will agree with that though...). The last two tracks feel a little shoegaze, a little post rock and certainly not the anthemic directions that some may have expected from a Killers version of Interpol...

How Our Love to Admire will date is another question, but right now it sounds pretty fine and not the dud some reviews are suggesting - I have a feeling some of these songs will be as pleasantly regarded as Untitled, Obstacle 1, or Not Even Jail in the future...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2007
I love Interpol. They have a really unique sound, Paul Banks' vocals are evocative, the guitar riffs are heavenly and both combine effortlessly with the soaring basslines. After becoming gripped by the excellent first 2 albums I have waited so long, too long, for this album to come out and thankfully it doesn't disappoint. I think that it's much darker and emotional than the last album 'Antics' and I can't stop listening to it.

Appreciating an Interpol album is akin to taking time to read through a long, complex novel. You might have to go back over it a few times to get your head around some of the more obscure lyrics but eventually you'll get there and when you do it'll be so worthwhile.

The stand out tracks here are as follows:

I really like the opener, 'Pioneer to the Falls', it's got a good gentle rhythm to it and leads perfectly into the rest of the album quite nicely.

The first single, 'Heinrich Maneuver', is about getting closure from a relationship and moving on when your 'heart swings', realising that the girl you fell for isn't so perfect after all and generally being annoyed that you obsessed for so long over someone so vain - 'I don't want to read your thoughts anymore'. It gets better and better every time you hear it.

'Mammoth' has a real intensity and passion about it with the crashing guitar crescendos and shouting vocals giving a real edge to the song. It reminds me a lot of 'Not Even Jail' on the 'Antics' album. The sense of loathing for the person in question in the lyrics is palpable, the 'just spare me the suspense' chorus has a 'I'm just past caring about what you do anymore' feel about it.

'All Fired Up' is great track too. Here Paul Banks seems to appear as quite a possessive boyfriend or something along those lines.

The best track on the album is undoubtedly 'Rest My Chemistry'. All subtlety goes out the window here - this song is blatantly about trying to come off drugs and all the difficult interlinking life-choices that come as a consequence of that decision. The candid, heartfelt lyrics and catchy bass-line have all the makings of a true classic. This could well become Interpol's signature tune - it's the best song I've heard this year by some distance.

For me this album just serves to further cement Interpol's place as the best band around at the moment. No-one else comes close.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)