Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
17
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2007
I'd seen the TV series and had to have this! It nicely balances the stories of the orphaned orangutans on their journey through rehabilitation and release into the wild with the reasons for them being put through this process: the devastating loss of their natural habitat and the illegal pet trade. Some parts made me hoot with laughter: particularly Grendon's pathetic attempts at nest building, but others had me in floods of tears. I shall never forget the emaciated mother with her baby clinging to her who was brought into the Centre but thankfully recovered. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to know about the threats facing the orangutan: it is packed with the most wonderful sequences and insights. And those babies are so damn cute! Lone Droscher Nielsen is a saint and this is a fitting testament to her work with orangutans.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2007
I watched the series on TV and had to get the DVD. The series is both delightful in showing the images of the orang utans going through rehabilitation, who are so adorable, but also sad when showing the destruction of their habitat and telling the stories of some of the orangs that have been kept as pets. Buy this DVD then support the orang utans by sponsoring one of the orangs that need our help. Go to [...]
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2008
This series is just wonderful. Orangutans are easily the most gorgeous and endearing primates and this DVD shows you why. Baby Orangs are so far beyond cute that there should be a new word invented for them. The sight of hoards of them trooping off into the trees in 'classes' with their babysitters is delightful- until you remember why they are all there, but at least this lot are safe and very much loved. There are some heartbreaking moments, not least the death of a tiny one with flu and the arrival of a shockingly emaciated wild mother and baby, both of which made me cry. Every person on the planet should be made to watch programmes like this, then maybe we could save such perfect creatures that we seem hell-bent on eliminating.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
Just Brilliant! This DVD shows the life of orphaned orangutans that are rescued by an orangutan sanctuary and then put through orangutan school so that they can be successfully reintroduced to the wild. I have watched it many times and can still watch it time and again!

I would definately recommend it to anyone who has an interest in nature or mammals!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Chronicling the vital work of the Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation, this a wonderful account of the heart-warming highs and heartbreaking lows of their attempts to rescue, rehabilitate and release back into the wild these magnificent apes - which, thanks to us humans, are not only threatened with extinction, but are also suffering the most appalling violence and abuse.

All of this makes for utterly compelling viewing, offering a real roller-coaster-ride of emotions, and at times it is real hand-over-your-mouth, edge-of-your-seat stuff. At times uplifting, soul-stirring and life-affirming, with the constant flow of adorable infants providing an 'ah factor' that is totally off the scale, these programmes also bring home both the catastrophic scale and the speed of deforestation in Borneo, the devastating effects on individual Orangutans of having their homes violently destroyed all around them, and the shocking brutality of us humans towards our ape relatives.

Consequently, this series doesn't always make for comfortable viewing, and it brings into stark contrast the very best with the very worst of humanity: on the one hand, the incredibly dedicated staff who are trying to save these wonderful creatures; on the other, those who are heartlessly razing their forest home to the ground, savagely killing individual Orangutans and cruelly enslaving their orphaned offspring as 'pets'.

In fact, hacking to death a mother Orangutan and then abducting her terrified baby, which itself may have digits or even a hand missing from the attack, is just about as low as any 'human' can sink, and were it not for the amazing work of the people who are trying so hard to save them, I think the plight of these iconic apes, as depicted in these programmes, would be sufficient to destroy what very little faith I have left in my own species.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
What a wonderful reporting on human effort and dedication to save the endangered orangutans of Borneo. The stories are both delightful and heart-breaking. The human misconception of these magnificent animals can only be corrected by becoming aware of their high intelligence and eager claims for love and affection as is demonstrated here. A heartwarming movie and VERY lovely to watch.It also raises many questions as to human exploitation of nature.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
A great DVD. I bought this to show to my children at school for a topic on the Rainforest and they loved it!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2008
As well as being a fascinating, funny and sometimes heart wrenching watch, money from the sale of this DVD goes to help baby orphaned orangutans so you are actually doing some good by buying it :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2009
Having had a close friend work in Indonesia with these fantastic mammals, I can see why she undertook such work. Good on you Emilie and all those that follow you. A highly recommended DVD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
One word: BRILLIANT
All orang-utan lovers must buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)