Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2017
This has to be one of the best stoner movies ever I never really liked the main character in this movie in other Adam Sandler movies but I think he was perfect for this one definitely recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
One of the funniest movies I have seen in a LONG time. Watch this with mates and you will be quoting it for years. Trust me, this is not the first time I have seen it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
The dvd skips in 2 places towards the end, even though there was no scratches visible on the disc. You miss no content in the film but have to wait for a minute or so each time for the dvd to get past the skip. The film is hilarious though and definitely worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
I'm not a fan of the "stoner" movie genre, no can I relate to any of the characters.

But by God, Jim...this has me in stitches every time.

And, dude, why are you naked?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
This movie I have to say is one of the better stoner movies out there. Whereas its never going to be 'How High' it certianly does focus more on comedy and would say its better than some of the newer movies of this type like Pineapple Express. Alex truely has the most envious job in the world (in my eyes) but thats all he has until a new employee starts at Alex's work place. The comedy is well though out and is what this movie is all about. Adam Sandler's team are good at pretty much any type of comedy they attempt, this movie is no different. You wont be dissapointed unless you dont like comedies as the humour is easy to pick up on and in your face. Would recommend this one only if you are of the male gender, ladies you might not like the laughathon this movie brings with it.
My rating: 73% Recommended
Genre: Comedy, Stoner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2007
Alex is living the dream life (for some). He is a 35 year old games tester that goes home to smoke copious amounts of drugs each night. That is until his landlord throws him out for not paying the rent. Alex is forced to move into his Grandma's apartment alongside her two aged pals. Can Alex cover up his embarrassing flatmates from his younger workmates, and more importantly the attractive new female boss?

'Grandma's Boy' follows in the rich tradition of films produced by Adam Sandler's Happy Madison production company of being an amiable comedy. Alex is played by Allen Covert, an actor who has had a minor role in most Sandler films, and he is a likable hero. It was a gentle film that had a few too many references to drugs and a couple of gross out jokes that did not work. It also felt pretty dated as although the film was released in 2006 the technology was more 2003 (and for a computer game freak like myself this was obvious). Despite all this, it was a well written, funny and likable comedy that should be watched by fans of other Happy Madison comedies such as 'The Benchwarmers', 'Joe Dirt', 'Dickie Roberts' and 'Deuce Bigalow'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2008
Do play copious video games? Do you occasionally partake in the slightly taboo form of smoking green tobacco? Are you a male between the age of fifteen and twenty five? If so, this movie is directly aimed at you and hits the proverbial nail right on the head. It's witty, has plenty of memorable scenes and plays out something like an Adam Sandler movie (which is no surprised as he had a hand in producing it) crossed with something new, and totally awesome. I'm not sure what else to say other than it has rewatch value, touches on issues which any semi-geek (geek being defined as anybody who knows Halo what colour the Master Chief's armour is) will find hilarious, has hot women, funny weed-related jokes and has a character who wears a full length leather jacket becase he thinks he's the one... and is the centre of many memorable jokes.
I love it, so much so that I rented it and then bought it as did half a dozen of my friends. But then we're all young guys who love video games among other things, so we can relate. If you think you can relate, I say go ahead and relate... your money ;-) and enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2006
I wanted to watch this film based on the double clip emailed to me - the one where Alex befouls his friends mum with creamy white spooge - and the dance dance revolution clip. Having watched the movie last night i have to say it lived up to my expectations and wasn't just a few funny bits with lots of filler (eg roadtrip, although i do like that film). It makes a change to see a movie based on a 35 year old with a gaming obsession like so many of us have. You need to watch this film now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
When his roommate spends the rent money on Filipino hookers, Alex, a 35 year old video game tester has to find a new place to live.

After embarrassing himself in front of his best friend's mother, Alex is forced to move in with his grandmother.

Trying to save face with his younger co-workers, Alex says that he is living with three hot women who keep him up all night....

And there's a sub plot about him making a game, and the local geek taking the credit for it......

Its a Happy Madison movie, so you know what to expect from the start, and you get what you expect, immature characters, stoners, driving monkeys, and random characters.

And its hilarious, from beginning to end, and Covert proves that he can hold a film, as well as being endearing, and genuinely funny.

Its not for all tastes, and there are people who would probably balk at the idea that someone likes this, but all the characters are great, there are some laugh out loud set pieces, and even though the writers have included the old movie clichés (hot new woman working at the same place, nerd stealing a great idea) they fit well into the film.

Its throwaway stuff, but hilarious nevertheless.

Treat your inner immature self...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2006
i got a copy of this film from the internet and i have to say in 2006 this is the best comedy movie i have ever seen, i love all the happy maddison films, big daddy, joe dirt, deuce bigalo etc so for any fan of these or just comedy films get this movie
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse