Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
23
3.3 out of 5 stars
I Want Candy [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 November 2008
This has a lot of good laughs in it, it's a mix between a situation comedy and the background behind an "arty" sex film made by students who end up owing some sleazy gangsters.

It has a lot of good moments in it and some excellent lines. It's a good film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I won't lie - I bought this film for the fact it starred Tom Burke and I fully expected it to suck, bar his performance. Truth was, I actually enjoyed the film. It's quotable, kind of funny, not too full of gratuitous nudity and has a few stars in it you'll recognise and love. So, if you're looking for something you don't need to concentrate on and want to be able to have a giggle then go for this. If you're looking for porn in the higher power, this isn't it and neither is this where you should be if you're looking for a masterpiece.

In short? Easy to watch, easy to get and simple comedy with a good-looking cast.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2007
According to pretty much all the reviews below, hardly anyone enjoyed I Want Candy, which is very strange because when I saw it at the cinema I thoroughly enjoyed it and bought it straight away when it was released on DVD. My parents even watched it (when I wasn't with them thankfully) and found it hilarious. All I could hear was loud laughter coming from the living room. Okay, so the plot might Not be incredibly believeable, but what films are. Most of them we see are just plain good fun, and this goes especially for I Want Candy. There is some really good British talent in this movie and some very funny scenes. It's well scripted and the scenarios the two leads get themselves into are just outrageous. Maybe it's because I'm only 15, but for those of you who want a fun, laugh out loud comedy then I Want Candy is well worth a look.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2008
Loved this film,very tongue in cheek and a bit corny but i laughed myself silly, Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2008
I Want Candy is an odd film. The idea is very funny, the script is loaded with amusing set pieces, the acting is ok, it's even reasonably well paced, but somewhere along the line it managed to not be very funny. It's hard to see exactly what went wrong with it, but it's almost as if the crew were told they only had 2 weeks to shoot the whole thing and therefore didn't ever get to do a second take when the first one was bad. There are so many amusing situations that didn't succeed in making me laugh. A joke is set up, but then the timing of the punchline seemed to be a bit off too many times.
On the plus side, Michelle Ryan was much better than I expected, as was Carmen Electra but both of them were a little underused. The two leads were competent but neither of their characters had a consistent personality, and although that shouldn't matter too much in what is meant to be a silly comedy, it left me thinking that this could have been absolutely brilliant in the right hands. It's not really that bad, but it seems like a really wasted opportunity to make a hilarious comedy.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2007
Two film students head to London with their script which they believe will be the first step to Hollywood, they hook up with a dodgy film producer who agrees to finance the film, provided they can get porns hottest star Candy Fiveways (Carmen Electra).

I Want Candy' it must be said is quite a sweet and charming film in a 'The Full Monty' kind of way, sadly though unlike that film, the laughs are few and far between it must be said, I think I went a full hour before a proper laugh, a very amusing scene that all I shall say "required wet wipes"!

The only selling point this film would seem to have is the chance for men to see Carmen Elektra in various sexy outfits and states of undress, something I'm sure you could see say in a Playboy dvd, if she has one that is, not that'd I'd know about that sort of thing!

Lightweight fluff all in all with a serious lack of laughs I'm afraid.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2008
Sorry, I just did not like this film. Every turn in the script was totally unbelievable, and it was not very funny.

Maybe some will like it. Put it this way: if you think that somebody eating toast with pubic hair in the butter is hilarious, and if are not bothered by the logic of two guys apparently believing that combining their epic love story film script with a porn movie will get them into Hollywood, then you'll like this film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2008
i first saw this on sky. I loved it, and now im buying the DVD.

It seems to me the only people who give this film a bad review, is because they was actually hoping for a porn movie, rather than a comedy. And the story line is too simple.

A comedy doesnt have to make you laugh every new minute. Just fun, entertaining, good too watch, one to see again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 February 2008
I watched this mainly because it marked the return of Ealing Films. All those classic black and white movies that I loved when I was younger meant I had to check out I Want Candy.

It starts off okay - shot in London, nice feel to it. But after a while you realise there's not much substance to it. The plot is predictable and not particularly well written. The acting is weak. Considering it's a film set in the sex industry there are very few scenes that come close to titillation.

It's not an awful film. It's relative short clocking in at 85 minutes. However, towards the end I was getting very bored.

There are a few extras on it - bloopers, cut scenes, documentary etc.

4/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
Much Enjoyed!

Good story, very funny. A young Tom Burke does humour very well and the bonus is music by Murray Gold! The two go to together so well!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Third Star [DVD]
£8.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)