Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
337
4.6 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 August 2017
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2007
A lot of people have given mixed reviews. All I'm going to say is, when New Who - and especially this series - is good, its bloody magnificent. And when it's bad, it still knocks spots off everything else on telly these days.

There. I will gladly sit through the episodes that other people didn't seem to take to (Daleks in Manhatten, anyone?) rather than the tripe on cable TV. And after having watched the very last episode again, it comes off not quite as weird as I first thought.

The other outstanding eps - "Smith & Jones", "Shakespeare Code", "Gridlock", "The Lazarus Experiment", "42" (yes, I loved "42"!), the fantastic "Human Nature" + "Family of Blood", the freaky-is-cool-for-deep-people "Blink", the impossible-to-beat "Utopia"... oh what am I saying, this is 90% of the series...

You get the idea. I loved it. Just a few more outtakes on the boxed set would have been nice...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Item turned up on time and I really enjoyed watching it. .............. ........ .... ..... ....... ....... ...... ..... ....... ....... ......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Was a gift for a massive Doctor Who fan looking to complete the set on blu-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2007
I was a newcomer to Doctor who and didn't start watching until the series was revamped in 2005.I really enjoyed the first season and when the first season ended and Christopher Eccleston left I was skeptical that David Tennant would live up to such a role but he surprised me and made the role his own and showed he was a great actor and the chemistry between him and Piper was awesome so when she left at the end of season 2 I wondered how our fair Doctor would do on his own and with the introduction of a new companion of Martha Jones(Freema). I initially didn't like her character because she was so whiney and dissing Rose all the time despite actually knowing anything about her.However by the end of the series especially the last three episodes Martha(Freema) really came into her own and became a great companion and had grown up a lot.

I think her turning point was in the episodes 'The Family of Blood' and 'Human Nature',which in there own right were exceptional episodes and for me stood out for season 3.Tennant shows in this two episodes his incredible acting range.

Simms 'Master' was was so inventive and incredible enjoyable to watch.I was a little dissapointed with the final episode 'The Last Of The Timelords' because with the Doctor defeated the Master with the power of one word was a bit Peter Pan like to me.However I think that was the only thing like that that stood out in that episode.Also Jack revealing he was the 'Face Of Boe' a bit unbelievable to me too.

Apart from what i've already mentioned this was a really good season and things can only get better from here.

I received my season 3 boxset on its release date of November 5th, it has a great cover with both the lovable Tennant and Simm on the front and the dvds are packed full with extras.The only thing I was dissapointed with is that the boxset had no plastic slipcover to slide the hardbox into like it did with the previous two seasons.Looking at the season 3 boxset next to the first and second one it looks odd without it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
The run of "Human Nature," "The Family of Blood," "Blink," and "Utopia" form the peak of Tenant's run. A superb form not matched until the final 15 minutes of "The End of Time." Acting, directing, pacing... all present here. I prefer Tenant's serious Doctor versus his silly Doctor. There is plenty to be found in those episodes. The sharp audio is mixed rather high. The video is quite good, considering it is up-scaled from DVD-spec source. This and the following season hold the best visual presentation of non-HD material I have seen on blu-ray. (Star Trek's DS9's "Trials and Tribbleations," an extra on one of the otherwise excellent original series blu-rays, would be the worst.) Note: this does not work in US Region A; you would need a Region-free compatible for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
As I work my way through Series 1 to 4 on blu ray, I've just completed watching Series 3.

Picture quality is just as good as on Series 1 and 2. The upscaling works very effectively and as the image is less compressed than on DVD, the picture is overall sharper and far less noisy than the DVD. This will probably be more noticeable on larger screen sizes, say over 42 inch, than on smaller screens so it is worthwhile upgrade if you have a large screen TV. The colour balance is much better on these discs than the on the DVDs, in my view.

As on the previous Series, the sound mix is excellent! The DTS-MA HD 5.1 soundmix is very clear, well balanced (with good use of the rear effects channels) and the sound image is more focussed.

The extras are all ported over from the DVD set, including the "Blink" easter egg (which can be found on the trailers section if you're still looking for it).

The episodes are all presented in 1080p 24hz and there is absolutely nothing wrong with the pitch of the soundtrack. (My understanding, gleaned elesewhere, is that these discs were pitch corrected)

If you're a Who fan of the revived show then it is a nice treat for yourself to buy this set.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Season 3 of Doctor Who continues the adventures of David Tennant as the Tenth Doctor. In the final episode of the previous season, a tragic turn of events separates the Doctor and Rose before he can admit his love for her. The new season finds the Doctor alone but he quickly takes on a new companion, the medical student Martha Jones (Freema Agyeman). Martha is a strong and confident character and she decides to travel with the Doctor because she wants to have great adventures, which is what what she gets.

This season features even more excellent stories than Season 2. The first of these is the season's first two-parter, consisting of Daleks in Manhattan and Evolution of the Daleks, in which the Doctor once again confronts his old enemies, the Daleks. This episode is very atmospheric as it takes place in New York at the time of the Great Depression. It presents the Doctor with a dilemma as his confrontation with the Daleks presents him with an opportunity that has never arisen before. The episode also features one of the first performances of the now well-known British actor Andrew Garfield (Never Let Me Go, The Amazing Spiderman) as a young man named Frank. The next 2-part story, which consists of Human Nature and The Family of Blood, is even better. The Doctor and Martha are being chased by a family of alien beings that wishes to consume the Doctor's life force in order to prevent its own death. In order to prevent this the Doctor turns himself human, which forces him to forget who he was, and transforms into a teacher at an independent school in England in 1913. He asks Martha to protect him but she is faced with a problem that she is not prepared for - what should she do if the Doctor falls in love? This story is followed by the standalone episode Blink, which is unanimously considered one of the greatest Doctor Who episodes of all time. It follows the adventures of the intrepid Sally Sparrow (Carrey Mulligan) who seeks to solve the mystery of the Weeping Angels, one of the most dangerous alien species introduced in the series. The Doctor and Martha play a minor but important role in this episode, which focuses on Sally who is an exciting character. The episode also includes one of the greatest dialogue exchanges in Doctor Who:

Kathy Nighingale: What did you come here for anyway?
Sally Sparrow: I love old things. They make me feel sad.
Kathy Nightingale: What's good about sad?
Sally Sparrow: It's happy for deep people.

The show's final story, which takes place in Utopia, The Sound of Drums and Last of the Time Lords, is even more epic and it features an epic struggle between the Doctor and a rogue Time Lord, the Master. In the first episode Martha and the Doctor are recharging the TARDIS in Cardiff and as they leave Captain Jack Harkness (John Barrowman) manages to latch on to the TARDIS and ends up with them billions of years into the future at the end of the universe. The three companions face a bleak future as humanity is struggling to escape to Utopia, where they believe that they will be safe. However, all is not as it seems and the greatest danger to humanity comes not from the carnivorous Futurekind but from someone closer to the Doctor. I don't want to reveal too much but I will mention that John Simms, who was absolutely brilliant as the detective Sam Tyler in Life on Mars, delivers a tremendous performance as the manic Master.

The rest of the Season 3 episodes are all rather good. In The Shakespeare Code the Doctor and Martha meet the famous Bard and they come to face to face with creatures from another world masquerading as witches. The episode plays with history as Martha becomes the inspiration for Shakespeare's Dark Lady. In Gridlock the Doctor is forced to engage in a frantic search for Martha in New New York after she is kidnapped and forced into a car that enters the neverending traffic on the city's highway. In this episode the Doctor also comes face to face with an important character from his past who reveals a great secret to him. In 42 the Doctor and Martha finds themselves on cargo ship hurtling towards the centre of a sun. A member of the crew is taken over by some strange creature that seems bent on destruction. However, there is more to this situation than meets the eye and the Doctor soon makes a startling discovery about the sun. The previous episode, The Lazarus Experiment, features Mark Gatiss as Professor Richard Lazarus who seems to have discovered a way to rejuvenate the human body. However, the Doctor is suspicious of his fellow scientists and soon that discovers that Lazarus has had to pay a terrible price for the return of his youth. Martha's family - her sister, brother and mother - also plays an important role in this episode and the interaction with them shows us that even early on Martha is committed to helping the Doctor. The first episode of the Season, Smith and Jones, is also rather good in introducing Martha and it features an interesting storyline in which the hospital that she works in is transported to the Moon. However, the antagonist in this story is not particularly threatening and the episode does not stand compared to the rest of the standalone stories of the season.

In short, Season 3 of Doctor Who is every bit as good as Season 2. In fact, it features even more exciting moments and build up to the best finale in the series. The Doctor's new companion, Martha Jones, is very likeable and easy to relate to, although it is annoying that she constantly pines after him and seems unwilling to accept the fact that he does not reciprocate her feelings. The return of Captain Jack Harkness is also very welcome but it is John Simm's playful performance as the Master that simply steals the spotlight. I find it difficult to criticise this season and can only recommend that you give it a go so that you can prepare yourselves for Season 4.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
After a decent second series, Doctor Who takes a step up with the 3rd series. After the loss of Rose in the second series, The Doctor is joined on his adventures by new companion Martha Jones and together they attempt to solve the mystery of Mr Saxon.

This series feature some great episodes, especially the classic episode entitled 'Blink' where The Doctor actually plays a very minor role in. The focus instead is on Sally Sparrow, a young girl who has to deal with an encounter of Weeping Angels with only a DVD with a message from The Doctor for help. Fortunately, Carey Mulligan is spectacular in the role, and it's a pity we haven't seen her character again since.

However there are a few flaws in the series to be pointed out. It does take a while for the series to find it feet, and while Martha Jones is a decent companion, she lacks the personality of some of the great companions of past and future series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2007
This is easily the best three episodes in the series.
The first one "Human nature", is great. The Doctor changes his DNA to become human which I think is a great idea. He has dreams (memories) of him being a timelord, which he thinks is just dreams, nothing more.
Then on "The Family of Blood" Martha is trying to convince him that he is actually a timelord.
Then "BLink", it may not sound like much but it is by far, the scariest episode of the series. It's basically about a statue "Weeping Angel" when you look at them, but when you turn your back; when you blink they can move and send you back in time you very quickly. This is one of the best episodes of the series.
You have to buy this DVD because it will be worth your money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse