Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
Super Taranta!
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 July 2017
Quick delivery great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Great cd very jolly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 July 2007
Gogol Bordello hit the big -- or biggish -- time with their last album of raucous gypsy-punk, which coincided with frontman Eugene Hutz's screen debut.

And they stick to their past sound in "Super Taranta!" -- a mad, frenetic rock ride splattered with heavy doses of Balkan folk music. It would be nice to hear some variety in their sound and vibe, but their energy and wildness hasn't failed them.

"If we are here not to do/what you and I wanna do?/And go for rubber, crazy with it/why the hell we are livin' here? DAH!" Eugene Hutz calls out a capella...

... just before the music lapses into a swaying, colourful Balkan melody... which goes into fast-forward about halfway through. Hutz is roaring and growning about how "there were never any good old days/they are today, they are tomorrow!/It's a stupid thing to say" as the music revs around him.

It gets even more energetic in the wild festival sound of "Wonderlust King," and the driving bass-rocker "Zina Marina." With those done, they spin off into a series of energetic Balkan rockers: accordion pop, jibbering fiddlerock, darkly gleeful punk, wailing guitar laments, and what sounds like the theme song to a gypsy James Bond movie.

It has to be admitted, Gogol Bordello hasn't really changed their sound much -- it's frenetic, colourful, slightly messy and very insane, without a shred of self-consciousness. It's a Jackson Pollock of Balkan noise.

But "Super Taranta" does adjust their sound a bit -- there's a bit more gypsy in their music, and a few bits less punk. We get a tangle of raging, twining guitar and bass (and Eliot Ferguson's solid drums) driving the melodies along, but often they're swathed in dancey fiddle and blaring accordion. It's a pretty wild ride, all around.

And Hutz provides practically all the vocals, in a voice that always sounds like he's about to pop a cord. Raw, rough, untamed. He growls, wails, howls, and roars out his political, party-hearty lyrics: "My strange uncles from beyond/I'll meet 'em on the cosmos street/and we will drink to how we told/to never trust a plastic beat!"

"Super Taranta" is the sort of music that gets your heart racing and adrenaline shooting. A raucous, wild party album for an East European festival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 1 November 2008
There is something unique, uplifting and ultimately endearing about
Gogol Bordello and their fourth album 'Super Taranta !'

Mr Hutz and chums return with a generous collection of fourteen new songs.

All the qualities we have come to love are here once again in spades.

Brash good humour; ribald rhythm; searing satirical obsrvation and memorable
singalong choruses . Crikey !! What more could you want ?!

The ensemble playing is, as ever, edgy, energetic and uproariously committed.

Mr Hutz brings this collection alive with his roguish charm
and rapturous, rasping vocal delivery.

You can almost smell the brandy on his breath in the passionately wayward
performance of 'Alcohol'.

If 'Suddenly...(I Miss Carpaty)' doesn't have you up on all four paws dancing
then you don't have a soul in your body.

'Wanderlust King'; 'Tribal Connection'; 'Super Taranta !' and 'Dub The Frequencies Of Love'
are all splendidly focussed performances.

'Supertheory Of Supereverything' has a bite every bit as memorable as 'Start Wearing Purple'.

'Harem In Tuscany (Taranta)' is a five star hoot !

There's not a wasted moment here.

Maybe even The Wolf has a little Gypsy Punk blood in his veins.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 February 2011
After going to the cinema to see the excellent `Everything is Illuminated', I came away determined to buy the soundtrack which was full of energetic gypsy music with an intriguing modern style and lyrics. And thus it was that I discovered Gogol Bordello, the world's first band to mix traditional gypsy instruments and stylings with the energy and anger of punk. I was to later learn that Eugene Hutz, the lead singer of Gogol Bordello acted one of the major parts in the film, and the rest of the band have a walk on cameo.

This is, I think, the fourth studio album from this talented and inventive bunch. Combining the instrumentation and rhythms of Eastern European folk music with the energy, anger and humour of punk this band are quite unique in my experience. The record consists of a series of foot stomping gypsy dance tunes, with witty and inventive lyrics snarled and shouted by Eugene Hutz in his distinctive voice. His use of language is quite something, and where English fails him he uses words and phrases from his mother tongue. And sometimes I swear he just makes words up to get the desired effect.

This is a high energy, feel good album. Guaranteed to leave you smiling, or to get any party up and dancing. It also benefits from being different and unique, a real blast of colour in an increasingly musically grey world. I have afew albums by this group now, all in asimilar vein, and I am impressed at how high the quality is throughout, and how one never tires of the formula.

5 stars, no hesitation. It is a long time since I was grabbed by an album like I was when I first heard this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
With their distinctive mix of Balkan beat and punk, Gogol Bordello strike yet again with another frenzied punk party record.

However, this album is definitely not just more of the same. There's a bit more experimenting with the ingredients this time. Folky elements and acoustic guitar a turned up a little, and the harder punky elements toned down. The energy however, is not lost, and the songs on this album play with the pace, building up tension with dramatic folk melodies and then suddenly kicking in with furious drumming and manic accordian with Hutz wailing and roaring over the top.

Gogol Bordello have yet to dissapoint. I challenge anyone to listen to this album and sit still. You won't be able to resist these rowdy tunes.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2007
A fantastic album! After the explosion of "Underdog world strike" I thought that I'd never hear such an amazing album again! from anyone. But Eugene has done it again! Fresh and exciting music, Gogol Bordello's albums are as energetic and crazy as their live performances!!! I especially love American wedding but there isn't a rubbish track on the album! Not one! PREMIUM!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2010
Heard this band on the Jules Holland show.What a lively band of 'gypsies!'Colourful,loud and in your face! Bought two albums ; Super Taranta and Underdog World Strike.Both great albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
More gypsy punk as in the last brilliant album but with more classically composed tracks on here. Lyrics are beautiful and comical: Definitely own it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Love the content, humour and energy of the tracks on this cd. Well worth the listen and am giving it to a friend as a birthday gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)