Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2008
If you are looking at metalcore purchases, this is among the best. This band deserve to be huge, and stay little known in europe. The album has great musicianship, combined with giant hooks and melodies. maria Brink has tremendous vocals, moving from brain curdling screams to saoring melodic singing. The tunes will haunt your brain for days. Tender and thunderous in equal measure. Maria can scream as strongly as Candace from Walls of Jericho, and sing as sweetly as Cristina Scabbia of Lacuna Coil. If you love KsE you will adore this album...its well worth the money...Buy it now.....
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2011
In This Moment are a southern Californian metalcore band who've built up an loyal following and impressive reputation after three albums. This was the first; an excellent mix of the best traditions of metalcore. Maria Brink being a vocalist with the range, drive and confidence to handle full-throated screams and roars as well as soft and clear vocals. Guitarists Chris Howorth and Blake Bunzel, drummer Jeff Fabb and then bassists Jesse Landry provide a powerful combination, at home with the fast and the slow as this band is confident enough to work with both, they even use strings and piano to good effect on the orchestral `The Legacy of Odio', slipping easily into and out of the foundation metal core a mix they would return to in later albums.
The songs are heavy with loss and anger, without being morbid and self-pitying, because of the drive of the music and the emotion Brink puts into her voice.
This album promised a great deal, which two later albums confirmed In This Moment have.
If you've not tried metalcore before this is a good introduction, if you like music with a bite another good reason to listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
In this moment are amazing band. Especially this album the emotion and feeling of these song are touching at sometimes yet may not appeal to others.
This albums is worth listening to and worthy of anyones cd collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
I love the music this band created. The different paces of the songs shows what range this band as a whole has. The vocals in particular really shine especially in songs like Prayers and Beautiful Tragedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Not much more I can say than I love it :) I love her voice and how it can be so beautiful yet so powerful when she screams.
I like the lyrical content of the songs too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
great album, cant wait to see them live
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
We all know Maria Brink by now. If you've seen the video to 'Sex Metal Barbie' you know what we're dealing with. Hot as hell frontwoman, tattooed, pierced; a hardcore pin up. Yes, indeed. She certainly raised the stakes. Hell, even Candace from Walls Of Jericho sexed herself up a bit. This was when Maria was a lost little mermaid. She is pretty lowbrow these days. Don't get me wrong, I could watch her sing 'Whore' all day long, but other times, when my brain is not wrapped up in sex, I tend to spin this, the very first In This Moment album. And it's a cracker.

I can't imagine the fans were happy with 'Black Widow'. This is more like it. Harmonic guitars, driving percussion, true metal riffs and downbeat breakdowns. Winning combination. Maria's vocals are naturally the focal point, and her performance on 'Beautiful Tragedy' is pretty damn impressive. Her screaming takes some getting used to; it's extremely shrill. But it's still wicked good. Her cleans have a grungy alt-metal feel; the lyrics are emo as hell, and the way the songs are structured, it definitely has a hardcore backbone. In all, it has a unique character.

You've come here for Maria, and Maria you'll get. Her svelte figure graces each page of the booklet; her voice winds between Iron Maiden-style melodies and a loose percussive ethic. Even if you hate their later stuff, 'Beautiful Tragedy' is worth checking out if you think a female fronted Killswitch Engage will work for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2016
good first album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here