Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2009
This instrumental CD is typical of the music played in the clubs and later discos of the 60s and 70s.
Recently 'Green Onions' has featured in a Birds Eye TV advert and Soul Limbo well known as the Cricket theme.
Good music probably considered dated and cheesey by today's standards but still atmospheric and full of soul and worthy of the definition 'classic'.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 January 2012
I only bought this CD for the obvious tracks but soon realised there's far more to Booker T than just "Green Onions"and "Soul Limbo".Stand out other tracks (from the 20 on the CD)include a very soul jazzy version of George Harrisons "Something" and an interesting soul version of "Mrs Robinson".Try playing it very loud in the car,very good stereo sound,you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Brilliant collection from a brilliant band. This is one CD I can't see coming out of the car for a long time yet!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
Before I bought this I didn't appreciate the subtle soulfulness or the full reach of Booker T's output. There are some lovely gems in this compilation and a fair few advertising memory joggers.I drove to London and back on this CD and now I can never cope with the M25 in rush hour pouring rain without the rhythmic comfort it provides. Music for safe lane changes and release from chaos.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
Heard these guys at a festival on tv one night....remembered how good they were and ordered immediately the following day.I was not disappointed. How good to hear them again after so many years.Touch of class...such great memories and good music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
This will bring vivd memories of what was truly enjoyable for those who were there and regrets for those who were either not old enough or not born and missed the era when these artists performed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
CD arrived promptly and in perfect condition. The music took me back to my youth!!
Super,terrific,fantastic,wonderful,fabulous!!!!
What a fine compact disc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
For anyone who is a fan of Booker T and the MGs, this is a must buy. It never fails to cheer us up, especially the 'Cricket theme' which reminds us of summer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
I GOT THIS CD MAINLY FOR SOUL LIMBO
BECAUSE IT USED BE THE THEME MUSIC
FOR THE TEST MATCH ON THE RADIO
A PRIOR
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Real bit of deja vu for me. Owned the original Green Onions back in the 60s.
Enjoyed re-hearing this music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.54
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)