Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 10 December 2011
Love it. Has English subtitles and I like them. I've read many many Maigret books. It is wonderful to see the stories set in France. I know a word or two of French so I enjoy it. Different directors and screenwriters made these movies.

By the way, volumes 1, 2, 3, and 4 have English subtitles for all movies. Volume 5 has only 2 of the ten movies with English subtitles leaving 8 without in the current release. Perhaps the future will see a release with all of volume 5 having English subtitles. Hope so. I have volumes 1 thru 4.

There are actually 54 storys in the Bruno Cremer series. The remaining 4 were released as 2 sets of 2 each without English subtitles. But.....but these releases are mighty hard to find. I hope they will also appear in the future with English subtitles.

Lots of characters of interest, some mighty so, hahahaaaaa, perhaps you'll agree.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2010
Bruno Cremer is not the perfect Maigret, that was Rupert Davies, but he is good enough. These episodes are much truer to the original novels by Simenon than the various UK versions, which means dodgy plots but excellent characterisation. Dont be put off by the first two episodes of Volume 1, which are not the best, go straight to La Maison de Felice which is Simenon through and through. The subtitles are easily read, and seem to me to be generally a good translation - better than some of the English versions of the novels. These TV programmes, all 4 volumes, are the only way to see Simenon's whole Maigret output as some of the novels have never been translated into English. Simenon published Maigret novels from the 1930s to the 1970s, to give some continuity all these episodes have been set in the early 1950s which generally fits well. Very good acting, and good period detail - the cars, there is even a Ford Edsel, are a joy. Expensive, but essential to anyone who likes Simenon.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2011
This is a French Maigret. In French with English subtitles; filmed through French eyes for French television and French expectations; strewn with manifestations of the French culture. For example, I hadn't really thought about Maigret's attitude to women before or seen him as a virile male but here he presents the behaviour of the average Frenchman who portrays himself at least and however subtly, as 'vigorous' unto death.

However, to appreciate these stories I had first to abandon expectations concerning style. One has got used to snappy, fast moving dramatisations with nifty camera shots and viewpoints. These Maigrets are slow moving and mediative: its almost as though one is watching it all on a stage. Once I had stopped fretting about the very slow pace at which the stories unfold, I found I had a lot of time to savour the period details, to improve my French and to enjoy the quietness of it all.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2010
A cannot agree with the previous reviewer that Bruno Cremer falls behind Rupert Davies as Maigret. Nothing against Rupert Davies, who like Jean Gabin and Michael Gambon was superb as the great detective, but I think Cremer has the edge on all of them, except perhaps Gabin. Anne Bellec is also the perfect Madame Maigret. The stories, the acting, the sets, the cars, the subtitles, in fact everything are all of the highest quality. My only grip is what has happened to Maigret's team of loyal inspectors? Lucas, Janvier etc. They have all but vanished. That aside for lovers of Maigret or just lovers of good crime drama this Maigret must not be missed.
22 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2014
the *real* Maigret - at least for me (no offense to the Michael Gambon version which is also nice). Feels much older than its release date would suggest - I felt transported back to films of my childhood. Can't wait to order another box set.

Not cheap but well worth it. Subtitles generally work, I only spotted half a minute of untranslated dialogue.

One of the DVDs was scratched and it took several minutes for the episode to recover from getting stuck.
I'll still give 5* in this review, that should give you an idea of how pleased I am with the content of the DVDs :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 May 2015
At last Maigret recreated with the sort of care that the David Suchet Poirot films have enjoyed. Each episode has the capacity (because it is longer than the usual TV fare) to move at the right speed. Maigret in the novels is notable for his solidity and his calmness, the latter requires more time than (say) a snappy film noir with one-liners peppering the script. Bruno Cremer has exactly the solidity, courtesy and calm cunning that we expect from Maigret, a real farmer's son.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2014
The films deserve a higher rating, but the subtitles are insufficent to follow the action in the films. Though we understand some french it is very difficult to understand what is going on. It's a pity because the films and the actors are so good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2013
The sub titles are pathetic , quite impossible to follow unless you have some french, the sub titles in montalbano have set the standard
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2014
These versions of the Maigret novels were uniformly excellent and Bruno Cremer a superb Maigret. I would have preferred subtitles in both English and in French but this is not of any great importance since the actors articulate so well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2013
Having watched earlier emissions of Maigret, these episodes are just what I expected. The episodes watched so far, seem to have been set out of Paris, but are still enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)