Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
Ah Feel Like Ahcid: 24 American Psychedelic Artefacts From The EMI Vaults
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 April 2017
Brilliant compilation, with lots of pointers for other bands to check out. If late 60s American psych, with great melodies and production is your thing, this could well be for you. Just a tip, the CD version has 24 tracks, whereas the MP3 download has 30. I had the CD version used at a good price, but am almost tempted to get the download for the extra tracks (one of the tracks is 11 minutes and album only)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 September 2008
'Ah Feel Like Ahcid' is quite simply one of the best compilation albums I have ever heard, its as simple as that. There is something for every kind of psychadelic taste on this album and the running order means that there is a change of style, sound and direction around every corner, all of which add to the listening experience.

To add to the fun, the album comes with a very interesting (and surprisingly detailed considering the space) booklet. Compiler John Reed's notes making for a great read as much as his intelligent selections have made for a great listen.

This album has rarities, classic bands and little known recordings in equal measure and there are many gems to discover. Personal favourites are the soft centered but dreamy psych of Food's 'Forever Is A Dream', The Human Beinz's instrumental 'April 15th' and the more guitar acid-rock of SRC's 'Up All Night' but, so good is this compilation, that many others are likely to join the list with time. Like EMI's other recent compilation 'Insane Times', this album is a winner from start to (bizarre Beefheart! HA HA!) finish.

YOU NEED THIS!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2010
I was so taken aback when I first put on this CD. I bought it wanting to expand my horizon on 60's psychedelic music. The diversity of the tracks on this CD is amazing, there are so many different styles of psychedelia. From the completely obscure 'The Beauty of Time Is That It's Snowing' to the incredibly catchy 'Your Mother's Homesick Too', this compilation will draw you in and not let you go.
There are some reputable names such as Steve Miller Band, Quicksilver Messenger Service and The Beach Boys, but most are names you will not likely of heard. This compilation is of the highest quality, and I recommend it to the first time psychedelic listener as well as the experienced listener. it holds many treats in store! EMI also has a UK counterpart for this album entitled 'Insane Times', which is also fantastic! Peace---
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2012
This is a wonderful compilation on a par with Nuggets and Left of the Dial.There is one error on the track-listing: the sixth track is "Sing Out" by Morning Dew from the album "No More" and not Crusader's Smile from the album "At Last". I know this having bought both Morning Dew albums since hearing their contribution to this compilation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2008
I feel compelled to respond to the first review of this excellent compilation if only to advise potential buyers that my copy of the C.D. plays absolutely fine on the first track by The Balloon Farm. (Interesting to note the Band derived their name from a throw away Bob Dylan quote.)

The excellent liner notes by John Reed draw comparison between The English Pyschedelic Scene and the U.S. equivalent. The biggest difference being that whereas in the U.K. The Scene centered largely around the Capital, and a few major record labels, by contrast the U.S. was much more diverse with Garage Bands flourishing in many different States under lots of differing regional labels.

This compilation provides ample evidence of the depth of that diversity. There are many rich pickings indeed, not the least being the following gems: The Human Beinz "April 15th" a 7 min guitar workout. Mad River's great "Wind Chimes", and The Common People's "Soon they`ll be Thunder" taken from the superb recently reissued Album "Of the People, For the People, By the People". Then we have other delights such as Gandalf, Food and Fargo all making this a very worthwhile addition to any Psyche Collection. Go ahead, Tune in, turn on and drop out.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2007
The Beatles were the unwitting founders of Psychedelic music and were soon joined by the Byrds,opening the floodgates for every other American group to inspire the legions of copyists and the idea of "anything goes".
By the end of the 60s there were thousands of groups at it and only a few emerged into the mainstream.Those who didn't went unnoticed for a few decades until the CD Age.
Thus a collection like this is aimed squarely at collectors.
And yet virtually anything given the right exposure had a chance at this time.
The Third Bardo for instance could have been there instead of the Count Five as both plundered the Yardbirds songbook.
The British had actually reminded America of its musical heritage but then so had Bob Dylan earlier.In his case he had to take notice of the British and go electric-whether it was the Animals or the Beatles is a moot point
I stole the Goodyear Blimp-this could have been big if only because it was so unusual.It actually starts off with the famous line "woke up this morning" same as the We Five hit You were on my mind plus 1000 blues songs
With this CD you suddenly have 2 dozen unknown tracks laid on you and you need to hear them many times in order to digest them.
If Psychedelia is your thing then this is manna from Heaven.
As is usual nowadays you get a detailed booklet with rare pix and if you like exploring Unknown Regions then this is as good as anywhere to start.
The title incidentally comes from a Captain Beefheart song
66 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2012
There are some poor psych compilation out there ...this is not one of them, but with too much filler I don't see how it can get a constsnt 5 stars. Worth getting - especially at this price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2012
Although credited to The Beach Boys, "Never Learn Not to Love" is an obscure B side originally entitled "Cease to Exist" and was actually written by none other than Charlie Manson....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2016
exellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse