Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 June 2008
From 1999 here are the 13 x 20 minute episodes of the animated Avengers series. I had never seen this before but the opening credits were good and along with the music it reminded me of the superb X-Men series, Lenore Zann who voices Rogue from the X-Men does the same here for Tigra.
It features a line-up led by Hank Pym as Ant Man/Giant Man, Wasp, Hawkeye, Falcon, Wonder Man, Tigra and the Scarlet Witch, soon to be joined by the Vision after the 2 part opener featuring Ultron. The Vision here is portrayed far more robot-like than he is in the comics. The costumes get a few changes over the 13 episodes, The Falcon's first mask is a pretty daft one for someone wanting to keep their identity secret.
The line-up of villains from 4 decades of the Avengers is superb; Ultron a few more times, Kang, Egghead, Swordsman. Ringmaster, Zemo Jr. and his Masters of Evil (Boomerang, Absorbing Man, Whirlwind, Tiger-Shark, Moonstone, Dragonfly and Cardinal), Attuma (featuring Namor the Sub-Mariner), Nicholas Scratch and the Salem Seven, Grim Reaper and last and by no means least the menace of a new look Zodiac, some like Taurus look great, Scorpio not so clever.
A few liberties are taken with the source material but at its heart it's a good show aimed largely at kids but many old Marvelites like me will also enjoy it. Why it loses a star for me was the "suiting up" into armour before battle, leave the armour for Iron Man please.
That aside it was a pretty enjoyable few hours.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
Music a bit dull, but who cares? At last the Avengers get their own series (worthy of a 2nd season, though none was made). They have guest starred in "Marvel Super Heroes" in the 1960s, and had cameos in Marvel Action Hour's Fantastic Four Season 2 segments.
However, here's the team in their own show, long overdue.
Regulars are Vision, Scarlet Witch, Ant Man, Wasp, Tigra, Falcon, Hawkeye. Guests include Wonder Man, Namor, Captain America & Iron Man. Villains are Ultron, Kang, the Zodiac and others.
Thor appears only in the beginning theme.
Costumes look a little stiff from the use of the Avengers armour concept, but otherwise a great series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Okay but a bit dated compared to more modern interpretations. Does show some less well known characters though and the artwork is closer to the original comic book artwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Quick delivery and great set of cartoons , no complaints
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2008
This cartoon series wasn't the best cartoon of the 90's, but i do enjoy Marvel superhero cartoons. Its not as good as spiderman or x-men, but its good in its own right. Unfortunately it doesnt have the big Avenger members in every episode, only Captain America, Ironman and Namor make an appearance. But its good that all the episodes are in one complete dvd set.

Episodes include:
1 Avengers Assemble part 1
2 Avengers Assemble part 2
3 Kang
4 Egg-streme Vengeance
5 Comes a swordsman
6 Remnant (Taboo)
7 Command Decision
8 To rule Atlantis
9 Shooting stars
10 What a vision has to do
11 The sorceress apprentice
12 Earth and fire part 1
13 Earth and fire part 2
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
Okay, so it's not The X-Men or Spiderman. However, this was a pretty decent show. If you're a collector of the Marvel animated DVDs, get this. I'm certainly not a diehard Avengers fan. Just the same, I really enoyed seeing The Vision in an animated series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2008
i will be the 1st to admit that this series has no redeeming qualities, but i think that b/c it has no redeeming qualities, that makes it a redeeming quality. captain america & iron man made 1 appearance each in this 1 season fluke. thor himself couldn't show up. the writing & the plots are too sub-par, but i just love it b/c it's absolute cheese. i'm glad to see that all the 70s, 80s, & 90s marvel gems are finally getting to see the light of the day. i hope spider-man is coming soon! i will be picking up x-men. i already ordered iron man. good times, good times...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
The first thing to get out the way is that despite the cover this is very much the Avengers "B" Team - no Thor, no Hulk, no Iron Man and no Captain America, aside one episode cameos from the latter two. The second is that a handful of the group 'power up' when it comes to battle and get battle armour, in a sequence a bit like the Power Rangers. The third is the accent of the Scarlet "Winds of Destiny, Change!" Witch. It's.... different? On the plus side we do see foes such as Ultron, the Masters of Evil, Namor, Kang and the Zodiac, and the characters in the team won't be completely unfamiliar to those with just a passing knowledge of Marvel (Hawkeye, Vision, Ant-Man), with it based on the 1984 West Coast Avengers, and fans of the comics will notice various nods towards the characters as we know them.

The series itself is watchable, but considering other comic-based series that pre-date it (e.g. X-Men, Batman: The Animated Series) it definitely falls short of what it should have been. This series doesn't attempt to translate major story-lines, and whilst originality can be effective, considering the success the aforementioned series had with this it's disappointing to see a collection of stories that comparatively lack punch and scale. The series does have a few re-occurring plot-lines that give it some continuity, such as Wonder Man spending most the series in a coma, and the series finale draws on a couple of previous episodes, but a dozen or so episodes isn't enough time to really pad potentially unfamiliar (and some significantly changed) characters out with any sort of depth.

As a fan of the comics I can't say that this is anything close to a "must-buy", but considering the cheap price (£5ish at the time I write this) it's a cheap and cheerful superhero experience that I enjoyed despite its failings, and I have pre-ordered it. Don't expect great things, and it won't disappoint!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
this a great dvd to have if you are marvel fan. this is the 2nd avengers team after iron man, captain america, thor, hulk left the team. iron man, captain america do show up on this dvd.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Great series, they obviously planned on making another ad this one ends in the middle of a story line. That was disappointing but the series itself wad enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse