Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
59
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Ying tong tiddle I po! Here at last in CD form is the collected singles and ep's released by the ground breaking radio comedians the Goons.

There's not a lot to say here. If you've searched this page out you're probably familiar with the Goons and their style of humour. Zany, whacky, etc. etc.. And here we have all our favourite characters - Moriarty, Bluebottle, Neddie Seagoon, Minnie Bannister, Major Denis Bloodnock, giving their all in a series of catchy, and hilarious songs.

Stand outs are the old favourites `Walking Backwards to Christmas', `The Ying Tong song' and `Bluebottle's Blues'. The later tracks are mainly Spike Milligan without Peter Sellers or Harry Secombe, and don't quite scale the heights of the earlier stuff, but even so this is a cd well worth getting, if only for my personal favourite, `Bloodnok's Rock and Roll Call'.

The tracks have been nicely cleaned up and sound as good as they have ever done. There is a good booklet with an informative essay, lots of photos of the Goons and a lot of drawings by Spike Milligan. Heartily recommended for all fans of The Goons, Monty Python, and other similar comic talents. A perfect accompaniment to the Goon show compendium series currently being released by the BBC.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
Don't listen to this in public unless you want some worried looks from bystanders. They're all great tracks but 'Unchained Melody' is priceless. I nearly lost the ability to breathe listening to this for the first time. What a wonderful poke at all those desperately serious singers who've done this one. Buy it!
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
A good question, that.... there is nothing here that hasn't been issued before, either on "The World of the Goons" (which had all the Decca titles together with tracks by Ray Ellington and Max Geldray) and various Peter Sellers and/or Spike Mlligan compilations. Yet this is the FIRST time ALL the Goon singles have been gathered on one disc and as such is a must for the car or for relaxing to (or both, buy two!)
I have the original 10" LP of Unchained Melodies, and "The World Of The Goons", and the Peter Sellers Collection (where the EMI tracks came out in 1990!) and I still bought this with my own money!
If you are new to the Goons, this is a must buy.
If you aren't new to Spike & Co. it's still worth considering as a unique compilation.
66 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
This has finally enabled me to introduce my 7 year old son to the wonderfully unhinged world of the Goons. His grandad was delighted when he started singing the Ying Tong Song, which says it all really. As ever with the Goons, they're a bit much for some people, but if you like their style, this is a great addition to the shows.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 May 2014
Delightfully silly from beginning to end, this album is a must-have for any Goons fan. The 14 tracks include all of their singles releases between 1955 and 1978 including The Ying Tong Song, I'm Walking Backwards For Christmas and Bloodnok's Rock & Roll and all the well know characters from the radio shows feature at some stage. At first glance, this album may appear to be a duplication of the album "The World of the Goons" but whereas that album includes other artists associated with the programme, Unchained Melodies is pure Goons and is the album to buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
I bought some of these as vinyl singles back when they were released so it's good to have live long enough to hear them released in the latest audio format . Apart from the fact that they are hysterically funny Min.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
I owned thw original recordings of these songs. They are long gone but thw memory of them remains as strong as when
we crowded around the radio to listen to the Goon shows and marvel at the wit and pure genius of the Cast.
One can still discover `new' gems hidden in the shows which are now fifty years old.
Canonise Spike Milligan! He is just as worthy as some of the Popes who have been been nominated.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Brilliant! The best. I laughed n laughed n laughed out loud, and remembered happy times so many years ago, sitting round our dinner table, crying with laughter and living those Yim Bom Biddle moments! Just wish "Tower Bridge" was included but hey, "Ying Tong" and "Unchained" are sublime.
Thank you, you glorious Goons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
As a person who remembers sitting round the wireless, all those years ago, listening to the Goons and collapsing with laughter, this CD brought back happy memories. I have a few of their LPs, (quite badly worn), but not any with their songs on. I thoroughly enjoyed this CD but I can't say the same for the wife who has been looking at me in a strange way ever since I played it to her. No sense of humour some people!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
This is a wonderful collection of Goon songs which will appeal to older members of the community who also see the ridiculous side of life, as well as newcomers of a certain humour persuasion.
These are all classics in their own right.
My mate and I drove to an event with this CD playing in his new car. At certain points of the journey, we were both streaming with tears of joyfulness.
God bless you Spike!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse