Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
2,322
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2009
I think this product is excellent, good picture quality, i havent tried the sound because ive already got a mic which i can use with it, people are saying the max resolution is 680*480 or something like that, but mine goes up to 1280*960 for some reason, mind you at a lower frame rate, but everything works well and its ideal for my use which is MSN, only problem is i cannot work out how to turn on the led lights, i assumed it was the button thing on top but that doesnt seem to do anything

EDIT:

I just realised how to use the lights, the little wheel on the wire which i originally presumed was just for mic volume actually controls the lights, like a dimmer switch.
2020 comments| 435 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
Hi there :)

It is my pleasure to have used this Tecknet webcam for several weeks without any major problems. It is, as suggested by other buyers, very convenient on Vista machine without needing any software installation. For simplicity, I briefly review this product as Pros and Cons with a hope to help new buyers making a decision.

Pros:
1. Amazing video resolution without upsetting Vista
2. Decent audio quality using all-in-one cable attached
3. Easy to use with connectivity to well-renowned instant messaging softwares.
4. Adjustable focus
5. Adjustable LEDs brightness
5. Very cheap

Cons:
1. Night vision means 6 white LEDs shine the light upon you directly. This is quite irritating to your eyes if pointing towards your face because it is too glare even though you can adjust it.
2. There is a range of non-responsive angle, where a webcam is adjusted to, might cause a yellow vision for a short while unless it is adjusted up and down to that angle again. I'm not sure whether it is just my problem. This is only a minor problem in my opinion.
3. The base is quite flimsy and only loosely fit to a top of laptop screen.

Thank you for reading. Hope my review helps you make decision easier.

In short, if you are looking for a cheap and high quality webcam, you can buy this webcam with peace of mind.

Regards,
77 comments| 347 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
This is a great little USB web cam for very little money. When testing a dozen or so different web cams, I found this the easiest to use and the least expensive.

This cam does not come with software, and does not have fancy features like zoom, autofocus, and subject tracking. It is fixed focal length and focus, like a cheap still camera.

I found the lack of software to be a plus, as most all webcam software borders on being malware with its invasive and obnoxious effects on Windows. I have not tried it with Linux yet, but will update this review when I do.

This camera worked out of the box on standard Windows camera drivers, and for simple web conferencing, it is great. I have used it with the Elluminate service, and it functions quite adequately.

If you need a basic, generic, USB webcam and don't want to shell out nearly 30 for a good one, give this beastie a try. It isn't fancy, but it works.
77 comments| 351 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2009
I bought this webcam after reading the positive reviews by previous purchasers and I am pleased to say the item lives up to its expectations! It is excellent value for money, has a super picture and is extremely easy to install; my 12 year old son had installed it in minutes. The package also came with a direct helpline to the supplier in case of any problems which is always a bonus! Just beware that the webcam cable separates at about 6" from the end into two, one for the audio and one for the USB, so make sure your two ports are reasonably close together. This is however mentioned in the features blurb on the order page. Buy it now...don't waste time trawling through all the other cameras, at this price you won't be disappointed.
11 comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
Very pleased with the product! It arrived 2 days later and worked perfectly without any problems.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
The webcam itself is quite good, it has a pretty clear image when focussed.
Don't use the supplied CD, it contains a trojan 'Backdoor.Generic11.JOP'.
You don't need the CD for Windows XP or Vista.
11 comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2008
I bought this webcam for use with Vista and Skype. It plugs and plays fine, without the driver. However, I can't find out how to work the LED lights. I decided to install the driver anyway, to see if there were any extra options. It puts an exe icon on the desktop (and requires a restart). When clicking to run the destop icon it displays the webcam image and allows you to alter some settings, such as frame rate, filters, and video capture. It should allow still captures too (up to 12M), but I'm not sure where it's putting them and it won't let me select a file to put them in. There also an error message when I click the exe to run the webcam which says 'cannot run audio capture filter'...which may just be because I'm not using the mic function, perhaps. The resolution/size of the webcam image can be altered in the video settings, the max output size is 640 x 480, which is a little fuzzy but okay, and the default is 160 x 120. The webcam clips onto the top of the screen very neatly, regardless of the thickness of the screen, and will also stand on the desk too, which is handy.

So overall, for a webcam that just does its job and displays a webcam image, it's fine and very easy to use (with or without drivers), which is good for the price. If you want something and bit more fancy with more features, then perhaps this isn't for you!
1111 comments| 183 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2009
This labtop webcam is just great. the camera worked perfectly when first connected.

For the sale price this is a camera that well surpasses the cost and is actually better then the one I use for my PC that cost a great deal more. I bought this for use with my laptop specifically (using VISTA premium) and it hooks up, packs up and is nice and small and can be tucked away in a corner for travel.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
Just got this webcam it does work great on Vista comes with drivers but you dont need them it has a mic built in and it works OK ,and Iv used it on Skype and that works to,so just buy it you will find it a bargain.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
Excellent picture and sound for a great price. Do NOT install driver if using on Vista for 'Skype'. The LED light is nearly too good (turn wheel on the lead). When it arrived the box showed model as CO16 not MO16 but I emailed TeckNet and they replied immediately - "The M016 is our model number and C016 is the factory model number".
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 106 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)