Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
121
4.8 out of 5 stars
New Tricks: Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] [2007]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 May 2008
This show keeps me coming back week after week for several reasons: The writing is first class, its witty, intelligent and often moving, and of course always interesting. The cast is fantastic; Redman, Waterman, Armstrong and Bollam play off each other so well, and really look as though they are having the time of their lives. Another fantastic season that should not be missed. Im 24, and rate this as one of my alltime favourite programmes on TV.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
Not a botox-ed beauty in the lot! Experience counts here. And I love that the character of Det. Superintendent Pullman is womanly, intelligent, and not a size 0 twenty-something airhead. Series 4 carries on the good work. The guest actors really shine. The first show is funny, yet carries elements of heartbreak. Keep an eye on the subplots that pop up after the three male detectives wind up in the hospital following a car crash. That's all I can say without giving away the plot. See for yourself. (I sometimes have to turn on the subtitle feature because of the regional accents.) US viewers, New Tricks is Region 2, so remember you need a region-free DVD player. Enjoy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
Series 4 somehow manages the impossible of continuing to improve. The series starts by completing the cliff-hanger episode from the previous series with Jack confronting his nemesis Ricky Hanson. Highlights afterwards include a fine comic episode featuring Jack going undercover at a nursing home, their oldest cold case yet, and Brian having a platonic 'romance' when Esther is away.

This season the guest roles are well-judged and don't interfere with the stories and feature the likes of Roy Hudd, Eric Sykes and George Cole. The one small fault for me is the slight change in emphasis for each of characters' private life. It's fair that there should be some changes after 4 years, but the changes are not necessarily for the better. We see less of Gerry's complex life now that he has a new 'daughter', there is almost none of Jack's life shown now that the tale of his wife's fate has been resolved, and increasingly Brian's life is played purely for laughs, amusing though they are.

Worst though is the major changes for Sandra. Not only is the actress, shall we say, less wrinkly than before, but the running jokes about her eating too much and lack of luck with men have been replaced by her serious relationship with her mother. She also gets to have a hobby of the week when we find she's a keen diver and the plot about her late father comes out of nowhere for a cliffhanger at the end of season, and then is pretty much ignored next year.

Luckily while actually investigating the cases Sandra remains a great character and she continues to spark off the others with the usual mixture of humour and drama.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
What a fantastic show! I've been completely mesmerized by actors I've known of for years. The ensemble is such a compliment it is a delight to be given the opportunity to watch this show. I would dearly love to see more seasons and even a feature length would be appreciated. From a fan of American television shows for their slickness, I can honestly say I am proud to be British when we produce this kind of quality!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2008
If I were to make a list of my all time favourite tv-shows, New Tricks would deff make that list! I love it! I think the writing is superb, the stories both fun and sometimes dramatic but the best thing about this show is the main cast. You can see that they love to work together and it doesnt feel like an act - they feel like a real team and everyone has their own place. Im glad New Tricks is finally back on air and I cant wait for Series 4 to be released....the only thing to complain about when it comes to the DVDs is the extra material which usually is nothing or when it is, its not that good. Id love out-takes and audio commentary!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
I thoroughly enjoy watching New Tricks and will continue to do so for ever. Not only is it interesting but also it is very funny. The acting is superb and the storylines very clever. I look forward to the next series with great excitement. Thank you very much BBC and also Amazon,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
These are cold cases, always solved in a unique way. New Tricks continues to avoid boredom while providing humor. The hour-long episodes seem to fly by in 30 mimutes; they are packed with absorbing entertainment. This season brings some surprises in their personal lives - and the much-anticipated outcome of last season's cliff-hanger. Glad to have Series 4 in my DVD collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2009
Already have series 1,2,and 3, Absolutely brilliant. Still laughing and can't wait to purchase series 5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2008
Here in the States,only a few Public Broadcasting stations show New Tricks on their Friday mystery nights. Luckily, San Jose, which serves San Francisco, is one of them. In my opinion, next to Inspector Morse, New Tricks is the best mystery show to come out of the UK. The acting and writing is superb, the cast is so compatible, I wonder if they have to pay them to act together. The plots are interesting and the mixture of humor, pathos, serious topics and straight drama is a mixture that must have been concocted by a genius. Amanada Redman proves that sexy and clever comes in many packages and her ability to work with the cast of characters in her unit are most admirable.Unfortunately, all DVD's available here are only for Region 2 so they don't play very well on Region 1 equipment. Based on New Tricks, I'm buying a universal player just so I can get your newest videos.What a great show. Too bad our hacks over here think that car chases, explosions and implied sexual situations translates into "good writing". Keep up the good work. It is appreciated.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
This is a great series to watch: it's funny, smart and engaging.

The acting is great, and plots are original and interesting. Most BBC series, like New Tricks, don't have the Hollywood hype and formulas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)