Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
18
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2013
In spite of an imposing cast this is a decidedly stultified and tedious xperience. I hasten to add the caveat that this is NOT due to the lack of talent in the actors. Quite to the contrary!
The fundamental problems are, in my view, caused by the poor direction of an utterly abysmal script. Indeed, to expand on my earlier remark, without the talents of Christopher Lee, Joss Ackland and Jenny Seagrove, the whole bromidic affair would have degenerated into a stupefying ordeal! Patrick Macnee is a barely credible Watson playing the role largely as a senescent John Steed.
I stretched my award to two stars in homage to the valiant efforts of the actors mentioned - otherwise it is scarcely worth one star.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 February 2010
In spite of some of the horrible reviews this film has had, I thoroughly enjoyed it. It did drag in parts, but Christopher Lee was absolutely splendid as the dark and ageing Holmes and Patrick Macnee was well cast as his sidekick, Dr. Watson.
If you ignore the opening scene depicting a street in London, which in know way resembles London, and the American accent on the small Indian girl, then it quite a lavish production.
The bodies pile up thick and fast - great - and the mystery deepens.
It was nice to see Joss Ackland play King Edward VII. He is usually a villain. And the former president Roosvelt was a breath of fresh air.
I have watched it twice already and will no doubt watch it many more times.
Well worth a viewing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
Those familiar with the Jeremy Brett series will not be disappointed with Christopher Lee as Sherlock Holmes. Some devotees will try to make comparisons, but should sit back and enjoy the action in one of the best Holmes adventures available on the screen. This is a truly remarkable adventure with Holmes and Watson on holiday in Africa. Ride on the Orient Express as Holmes meets with former president Teddy Roosevelt, wireless genius Marconi, and a host of suspects, as they journey to Victoria Falls, through the African bush, and into a secret Indian catacomb. The scenery is spectacular and Sherlock Holmes fans will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
this is now the only copy of this episode available. Unfortunately it comes with Dutch sub-titles, which can't be turned off, unless someone out there can help us do this? I'm pretty sure that it can't be done, so beware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 August 2008
I was really looking forward to watching this tv movie but what a let down it was. With a top notch cast including Patrick MacNee and Joss Ackland how could it not fail to entertain - regretfully it does. The problem is that it's very very boaring. The viewer is subjected to 3 or so hour of utter tedium. The cast try their best but mostly fail to deliver. Even the great Christopher Lee is wasted as Holmes. This is not the actors fault but that of the writer of this drival. If you are a Sherlock Holmes fan you will probably add this to your collection - but be prepaired to be dissapointed - I was.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
I bought this DVD for one reason and one reason only - to watch Lee play the part he had always longed to do - Holmes. I always thought he would be good - Holmes is not a particularly affable character, is misanthropic and rather gloomy except when outburst bring out a mawkish humour. I was right as far as it went; Lee is a good Holmes and I wish I'd seen him in other stories, preferably by Doyle. I had strong reservations about McNee as Watson but he played the part as he played all others - more or less as himself, but that strangely works. Most of the criticism would be on the story which is quite overdone and which at times tries to capture Christie rather than Doyle. Holmes' deductive powers, which delights everyone, is not often seen and despite the lavish locations the story tends to drag. There are too many reference and appearances of contemporary celebrities and at times the writer tries to show off his Holmes knowledge which simply irritates. The ending is very satisfactory and almost makes the long stretched-out viewing worthwhile. A fair effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
If you are a Christopher Lee fan you must get this.Three hours of beautiful African scenery
and plenty of plot twists and drama.Patrick MacNee is an amusing Dr Watson, while other veteran
actors like Richard Todd and Josh Ackland are along for the ride too.The stern voiced Mr Lee is
the star of this show.Just don't compare it with the Jeremy Brett series as this is a typical
'international' production to please audiences world wide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
You would think by now with all the Sherlock Movies that I have with different actors as Sherlock Holmes that I would be getting sick of viewing yet another one. I did read one of the reviews that said that it was a bit lengthy. It was a long movie but, you know, it worked for me. It broadened out the characters so you could get a great feel for the different parts they played. I felt that all sections of the movie flowed into one another instead of jumping into the next scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
I bought my copy sight-unseen on the basis of being a Sherlock Holmes fan and a Christopher Lee fan. This could have been a risk. But I needn't have worried. This is an excellent Sherlock Holmes telemovie, which any true Holmes fan will love. Christopher Lee is superb as a retirement-aged Holmes, lured back from the brink of retiring to Sussex to raise bees, to solve this fascinating case. Patrick MacNee is virtually the definitive Watson, Claude Akins and all the supporting cast are superb. Although at three hours this film could have been over-long, by splitting it into two parts they've given you the choice of watching over two nights, or in one sitting. So far, having watching it three times, I have always watched it in one sitting. A great addition to the DVD collection of any fan of Sherlock Holmes or Christopher Lee, or both!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
As described. (not tried as a gift). Thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse