Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 17 January 2017
2nd of the two dvd set jumps a bit. Otherwise ok. Arrived before date stated. The series is ok. Feels a bit dated, compared to recent dramas of the same context. Then it was made 10 years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2017
Just joined and am waiting for the DVD five days will I get al 5 episodes at once it says I'll get disc 1 which shows 1-3 ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2014
Gripping thought provoking drama.
Acting performances excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 September 2008
This series starts really well, with a genuinely chilling incident of a young woman who suddenly disappears after buying some flowers from a van by the side of the road--leaving behind her children who also vanish. It's really gripping, nail-biting stuff, as we're led into the family of the woman--her husband, parents, friends and contacts. Then the little boy turns up--and later there's another bombshell. You are really wound up by this time wondering what on earth lies behind it all--
but alas, the solution to the mystery falls rather flat--it did to me, anyway--and it feels rather too lame as well. But then, perhaps this was meant not so much to be a mystery(though the build up certainly suggests that) as the portrait of a family in utter crisis, in the midst of the worst situation you can imagine.
It was certainly enjoyable and well-acted and very well-produced--but I can't give it 5 stars.
22 Comments| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2012
Engrossing series that caught me within the first 10 minutes. However, it soon became obvious who the baddie was and the ending was a bit of a damp squib after so much climax building. Even so, there were some stellar and emotional performances, fascinating character portraits (although it was not always clear who they were and how they got into the story line). I at first thought it would be five consecutive days during the investigation but it turned out to be five random days, but days I suppose that moved the investigation forward. I still enjoyed it though !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 January 2014
This was a great mini series and kept you wondering what was going to happen right from the beginning. A good cast of actors and a believable story line.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2008
This is a well-made entertaining show. Starts out with much promise but kind of runs out of steam. The character development is excellent but it is at the expense of the plot, which all but evaporates after about the third episode. Great performances pity the storyline couldn't match up.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2014
As always the BBC produces another quality product. Its a great story, with an interesting plot and has a beginning, middle and END which a lot of series seem to leave out these days. Worth the buy
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2008
I really enjoyed this - the casting is brilliant with Penelope Wilton, Sarah Smart, Rory Kinnear all great - though Janet McTeer steals the show as the wise-carcking 40 something sargeant who's seen it all before.

A few quibbles - the reason for the title is a bit misleading, as it actually takes place on 5 days over 12 weeks - also, the ending seems a bit contrived and very rushed - 4 x 50 minute episodes then rushed conclusion in last 5 mins of episode leaving you realing with no explanation
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2013
Very good series... The BBc are very good at these.. It was brilliantly acted and photographed Gripping not like Bourne identity, but in a more story-telling and character.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)