Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
74
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£63.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2017
Brilliant collection for any fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Love this set. A great selection of Cary Grant classics. Great for any fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2014
This is just a lovely box set! I had seen the previous edition of this set which contained the same movies but in full size dvd cases so the box set was on the large size and would have taken up a lot of space on the shelf, however this new issue which came out September 2014 is amazing, all 19 films are housed in one large case on individual flaps in book style, the whole box set can't be more than 3.5 to 4 regular dvd boxes wide so fits nice and slim on my shelf. The movies are in good quality, whilst not HD they are a good acceptable quality and for the price I think this is great. No it doesn't contain all Cary's movies, but it does contain some of the very most popular ones and they go from very early career to his later career and if you are a fan like me then you will source the missing ones separately. The box set is housed in an outside cardboard case to keep the set clean and has lovely a photo of cary on the front and has a listing of all movies contained on the back. Its an excellent and well presented box set.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Very Happy . Thanks .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
So, what exactly do I mean with "A good buy for those who want an introduction to Cary Grant"?

Well, there IS a lot of movies for a very low price here so newcomers can get far into the material for relatively little money, but it's also a very good buy if you already have a number of Cary Grant movies in your collection, since many of the movies here are not available elsewhere.
So it's a perfect opportunity to fill out the gaps in your collection.

However, it should be noted that many of the movies in this boxset are "the old ones" and they're not all equally good movies. This is just my opinion of course, but there IS a reason that many of the classics are classics and a lot of other titles are not. I'm sure you know what I mean.

That being said, there ARE several "established" classics here, so it's not just the "bottom of the barrel" you're buying if you buy this collection. So in this boxset you get fantastic movies like 'Bringing up Baby', 'Charade', 'Gunga Din', 'Operation Pettycoat' & 'Suspicion' (which I, btw, feel is overrated).

For me the attraction was the movies I didn't already have, and before buying this my collection counted 39 DVDs with Cary Grant. I already had 12 of the movies presented here, so I actually bought this boxset for the remaining 9 movies I didn't already have...and most of those were some of the "lesser" titles, but what's a fan to do, right? ;-) Still, even though I already had more than half the movies here I don't feel I've wasted my money.

So, there's something here for everyone.
...plus, the packaging is beautiful!

However, please note that the description on Amazon states this box contains 21 discs. It doesn't. It contains 21 movies on 18 discs.
33 Comments| 138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
The product was wrong and the quality was poor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
This item is by no little distance the worst video transfer i've seen. Car-boot pirates would sneer at it. Watching "His Girl Friday" you will not be sure which blur is Cary Grant and which is Rosalind Russell. There is no price low enough to justify this travesty of two classic films (and a filler). Buy this and you will feel soiled. Ambivilent enough?
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
I just watched His Girl Friday and the aspect ratio / screen is shaved at the sides so the C and A of Columbia are missing off the side of the screen - a very poor quality video transfer of a wonderful, wonderful film - get the movie from a different supplier on a different disk.
33 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
A perfect resume of Cary Grant career, brilliant films, brilliant acting, the golden age of cinema. They don't make them like that any more.... A must !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
This film set should not be sold by a reputable seller in its present form.

The films, in my opinion, are unwatchable as the images are fuzzy and the sound quality is very poor - in fact they look worse than low quality rip-offs from pirated works!

Shame on Amazon for selling something of this quality - a total waste of money.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)