Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
30
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
Very happy overall. Great customer service, on time great product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
film matches price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
This is excellent entertainment. An unemployed, ex-con, ex-miner is given an opportunity to bare-knuckle fight for money. The film was shot in and around Coalburn in Scotland and uses very authentic accents and local vernacular. Coalburn was chosen for its grim countryside and rusting relics of the mining industry. The miners' strike of '84 is used in the film almost as a character in its own right. It sets a backdrop of sheer hopelessness to all of the characters. Neeson gives an outstanding early performance. The story evolves at a quick enough pace. Humour is used to punctuate the gloom. Billy Connolly is the house clown and delivers well. There is a scene in a bar where Neeson gets talking to a fellow drinker about the achievements of the Scottish race. It is simple, not over-clever and hilarious. The bare knuckle fight is stomach churning. The sound effects are cringingly realistic and it is not for the squeamish. I didnt get the ending. I am sure some deep, meaningful point was being made. I just didnt get it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Expected much more from this film as it has good reviews and Liam Neeson in it - but am afraid its so far fetched I couldn't take it seriously - bordering on ridiculous at times
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
Liam Neeson is on form in this gritty tale of a man forced to become a fighter to try to make some money. In doing so he finds himself in thrall to some very shady and powerful people. Worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
A very interesting film but not without flaws. What I liked is that it didn't go where I thought it would. The score is beautiful. Ennio Moriccone just gives it a classic timeless quality. The performances are good, just the script is a bit all over the place. The fight is very good, very real and very brutal, again very unexpected. A decent watch for anyone interested in bare knuckle fighting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
I BOUGHT THIS FILM MAINLY BECAUSE OF THE ACTORS LIAM NEESON AND JOANNE WHALLEY. AND THEY DELIVER.
THE GRITTY FIGHTSCENES ARE THERE, BUT I FIND THE LIFESITUATION FROM THAT TIME EVEN MORE WORTH A CLOSER LOOK. HOW NEIGHBOURS AND FRIENDS HANDLE HARD TIMES, IS WHAT MAKING THIS A GREAT FILM FOR ME.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
1 of Liam Neesons earlier films but very well acted & Billy Connolly plays a rare straight role. Worth purchasing if you haven't seen yet. Thumbs up for this film :):)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)