Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Mm...Food (W/Bonus Dvd)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 August 2017
Super!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2017
Good tunes but too much sampling of Doom skits ruimed the flow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2017
yes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2006
I loved this album. It's a coherent piece of work, Underground/Overground straddling, where DOOM actually raps on full length tracks, unlike much of his, at times frustrating, classic collabo with Madlib; "Madvillainy". Every cut here has a food-related theme playing the background to battle rhymes (Beef Rapp), love-issues (Guinesses), internet porn/romance (Kookies) and insincere amigo's (Deep Fried Frenz... aimed at MF GRIMM perhaps?).

This is still typical DOOM (Fantastic 4 samples, self-produced 'strange' beats, that familiar flow, witty punchlines hidden deep inside verses and with "Underground MC" worn proudly like a badge), but it seems more accessible than much of his work as Viktor Vaughn or King Geedorah. Some of the tracks even have proper choruses! For me, this is like a mix between his KMD days and his first DOOM joint, Operation: Doomsday... light-hearted, innovative and off-the-wall (rapping over Anita Baker tracks about "keeping your Ho's in check"!). The high point is the Madlib-laced One Beer, a truly mindblowing song containing a crazy rolling drum pattern and high-pitched wailing that heads might recognise from the Jaylib joint. This song makes me realise why I've loved this music so much for 20 years.

Why is it not 5 stars? Full marks should mean 'classic', and this isn't far off, but I think Madvillainy was his finest work.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2017
I boght it as a present for my man, good quality, nice gift wraping! Thank you :)
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2009
Sit back and relax and let MF Doom take you on a tour of "Mm...Food". This is not a music album, it is a journey of audible delights. A good few beats throughout can be found on his mixed herbs but it is quite rewarding to see how he puts them to work on this tasty experience. A mix of hypnotic catchy beats, sublime lryicism and amusing TV samples (and possibly some of his own doin) make this an album you want to hear from start to finsih. There are some stand out tracks such as Hoe Cakes & Deep Fried Frenz (brilliant...just brilliant) but I enjoy it most when listening to the whole bag...start to finsish (without random play). Each track sits nicely side by side and joined by audio delights that make you wonder how the hell he came up with this stuff...but happy he did. Doom continues to both bemuse and WOW me and this effort has not dissapointed. I really struggled in rating it, I never give fives unless absolute classic...I give this one 4 & 3/4 :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2013
I rate them like this.

1. Operation Doomsday
2. Madvillainy
3. Mmm... Food

It has some killer tracks on it but it also has a lot of weird skits that can be off putting.

Kookies is amazing and also easy to understand, less abstract. In general I'd say this album is less abstract and more easy listening for a wider audience. Considering tracks like Rap Snitch Knishes, Kookies, Beef Rapp, Deep Fried Frenz.

My top tracks on this joint are.

1. Beef Rapp (ALL RAPPERS SHUT UP!)
2. Kookies
3. One Beer
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2013
Mm...food isn't as good as Operation Doomsday, but I didn't expect to be as that's nearly perfect. None the less, Mm...food is pure class though, it's definitely a grower. I'm a massive Doom fan anyway so I knew I'd like it, but perhaps for the uninitiated, Operation Doomsday would be a better place to start.
Mm...food has typical Doom signature eccentric beats coupled with thoughtful expansive rhymes, nice flows and interesting left field metaphors. Of course it's littered with the retro marvel/dr doom samples that tell a story. The only tiny negative is the middle of the album falls off ever so slightly with a bit of a blur of cuts and guest rappers, but even this part grows on you with a few listens.
All in all, it's a great album that any true hip hop fan would like - so much more content and quality than the average "in the club/player" rubbish rap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2005
Picked up this album earlier on today and was expecting a decent record...not amazing. however, I was as surprised as I have ever been with an album this side of five years. Not that I was expecting less, from DOOm..I just didn't expect anything this good...If you like good underground hip-hop, I'm entirely confident you will like this...just to compare, I like Mr. Lif, EL-P, Aesop Rock, Blockhead, Doesone/Themselves/Cloudded/Subtle, Anti-pop consotrium, Alias, Sole, Sage Francis, Jel, other Anticon + Def Jux, Tes, Atmosphere, etc., and a lot of old school hip-hop like Eric B + Rakim, Public Enemy, KRS-ONE, Beastie Boys, etc........so if you like any of these acts and can aprreciate original samples, awesome beats, and an amazing flow, pick up this disc withoit delay, one of the best I've heard in many years.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2007
Originally released in 2004 but deleted for the best part of two years, the re-release of Mm... Food is extremely welcome.

Perhaps MF Doom's finest record, it's an album with no pretence that harks back to the days when hip hop artists were interested in earning respect for their skills alone ("It's about the beats / not about the streets and whose food he about to eat").

"Operation Doomsday complete" we hear during the opening sound collage, away from his space quest laser fest as King Geddorah and the dysfunctional gangsta whimsy of Victor Vaughn, here Doom wants nothing more than to score some clever points with quirky one-liners over tight beats: the two foundations that hip hop was originally built upon.

There are only four guests invited to contribute lyrically, Count Bass D, Angelika, 4ize and Mr. Fantastik. The little-known Mr Fantastik delivers some incredible lyircs on Rapp Snitch Knishes ("true to the ski mask, New York's my origin / play a fake gangster like an old accordion"), while Count Bass D's lines on Potholderz are easily the equal of Doom's ("I strive to be humble lest I stumble / Never sold a jumbo or copped chicken wings in mumbo sauce / Tyson is a Fowl holocaust"). Sadly, Angelika and 4ize struggle to match the same standard on the album's one tepid track, Guinnesses.

The four-track intermission - Poo-Putt Platter, Fillet-O-Rapper, Gumbo and Figleaf-Bi-Carbonate - contains clips of TV, radio chopped up over exquisitely sliced beats and samples. It's the classic hip hop collage, but rarely is it done this well. Dumping four sound collage skits back-to-back in the middle of the album is a daring move and only someone as creative as Doom could pull it off. It's clear that Doom learned his proficiency with skit arrangements from Prince Paul, but Doom is now the master.

With the exception of the Madlib-produced Madvillainy left-over, One Beer, and the PNS-produced Yee Haw - here recorded as Kon Queso - and Potholderz, Doom controls all the production on Mm Food. The stuttery Count Bass D production on Potholderz darts back and forth over a phenomenal bass line. The 70s Blue Note funk on Vomitspit is up there with Doom's finest production work, and turning the Whodini sample on Deep Friend Frenz from a feel-good song into a bitter tale of betrayal is inspired ("You could either ignore this advice, or take it from me / Be too nice and people take you for a dummy").

The scratch and sniff packaging, live DVD, stickers and Burlesque Design poster make this an unmissable purchase, even if you picked it up when it was released initially. Doom describes himself as "On his own thrown, the boss like King Koopa." He could have described himself more simply, for MF Doom simply is hip hop.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)