Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
29
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2010
This has to be one of the best purchases i've made for my Nikon D40. When I purchased the SB-400 flash the only concern I had was not being able to take portrait/horizontal pictures. (you know where you take pictures turning the camera turns on its side).
With the Sto-Fen Omni-Bounce on I'm able to turn the camera on its side, and get comparable warm lighting results similar to the effect of bouncing the SB-400 flash when the camera is in a vertical or upright position.
I assure you that you're gonna love this small but highly effective addition to your external flash kit!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
This very simple product that easily 'push-fits' onto the front of the Nikon SB-400 speedlight. By diffusing the light from the SB-400 it helps avoid harsh shadows and red-eye. I've just completed 300 photographs of children visiting Father Christmas in his Grotto. With the SB-400 and the Sto-Fen unit getting the light right has been a breeze.

If you've invested you're hard earned money on a Nikon SB-400 then it's only a few pounds more to really get the best from it. A great product and a must have for me. Recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
This diffuser fits the Nikon SB400 like a glove you can move the swivel head to all positions before you attach it and it will still go on snugly. It will slightly reduce the amount of flash emitted, as will all diffusers. It's very small and lightweight. Probably overpriced for what it is though.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
Usual comments - a ridiculous price for a piece of moulded white plastic, but it works beautifully to diffuse the often rather direct/harsh light from the flashgun. Essential in my humble opinion.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
I bought this off Amazon about a week ago, delivery was average (about 4 days - that is the only bad point). This is a complete must have for all external flash users (regardless if it is a Speedlight or a Sunpak etc). It turns the harsh flash brightness into a soft spread out glow. It is fantastic, lights up the whole room and is perfect for "warm" portrait photography. I'm using it with a Speedlight SB-400 and a Nikon D60 with 18-55 and 55-200VR, and the results are absolutley fantastic.
If you have an external flash, THIS IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST HAVE!
GET ONE NOW!!!!!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
Does what it says, softens the light but it is expensive for what it is, (a bit of opaque) plastic!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
An excellent piece of kit which diffuses the, sometimes, too bright flash and makes your indoor portraits look great. It still fits with the head swivelled up to bounce off the ceiling. Fits on well and will not slip off but very expensive for what it is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
The OM-400 Omni-bounce Flash Diffuser for Nikon SB-400 works well for me. The diffuser fits snugly and is secure in normal use.
The supplied instructions are very clear and helpful.

The front face of the diffuser (which points towards the subject) is angled at about 30 degrees to the front face of the flash head.

The flash head angle cannot be adjusted without removing the diffuser (this is stated clearly in the instructions). Set the angle of the flash head before fitting the diffuser (horizontal use - first click position preferred).

For vertical use, the SB-400 flash head should be left in the normal straight-ahead position.

The guide number is reduced by a factor of 2.5 when using the diffuser. The example in the instructions says that this reduction is typically from 66 feet to 26 feet. I use it for macro photography and portraits so this is ideal for me. The iTTL link to my Nikon D3100 automatically compensates for this reduction.

Very useful, light in weight and compact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
This is agreat accessory for the SB400. It spreads and softens the light which is especialy useful in portraiture shots. If you have the Nikon SB400 Flash, then you need this bit of kit. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
The one I received has Stofen written on it but its not the one pictured here, mine has an angled front portion, ive checked it out on the Stofen site so it is an original although they may have changed the design for the SB400. anyway it seems to work fine for me, it disperses light and seems to prevent annoying burn out in the highlights so thats fine, is it worth the price? probably not, youre paying for the name, I'm sure the cheaper ones (with identical designs) do the job just as well. But beware, if you want the 'squarish/boxey design check before you buy, you might end up with an original stofen design but one that is different from the one pictured here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)