Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now

Icky Thump
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 May 2017
Visceral, powerful....The White Stripes hold nothing back, they let themselves go all the way through.....FEAST yourself on this album again and again, that's what I do.....Let it inspire you to create great stuff.....Don't fight the feeling, embrace it.....it goes straight to the heart pumping guitar riffs and strong drumming makes your nerves explode....I sense some Led Zepp influences.....Which is ACE in my book......If there's ONE album from The White Stripes that you NEED to have, this is it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2017
Classic White stripes album. very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
Great service...10 out of 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2017
An acquired taste but it grows on you ,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2017
get back together!!! great music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
Love it, arrived just in time to put in the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
As described prompt delivery :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2007
This new album is quite spectacular. It has in some ways gone back to the root of The White Stripes were all about, a guitar, drums and vocals. In other ways this album has pushed further the boundaries of the little box Jack White confines himself to; they have ditched the Marimba, taken on some bagpipes, some horns and added a synthesiser that sounds like it belongs in an Irish jig. This leaves us with a very diverse sounding album. The title track and lead single Icky thump is just plain weird at first, but the jerkiness and blasts of synthesiser soon grow on you. Moving swiftly onwards we get a bit country with You Don't Know What Love Is, it's brilliantly catchy. 300 MPH...... doesn't sound like the name implies until the distortion pedal kicks in around the two and a half minute mark and erupts, but it settles down. Conquest uses the horns to great effect, the song is not swamped by the songs but they act rather as a motif to the fact that it is a cover of an old song, for ten seconds somewhere in the middle of this song is sounds like new rave but that's just my opinion. Bone broke next is a classic White Stripes song, guitar drums and vocals, simple yet effective. Now comes the strange part, Prickly Thorn and St. Andrew tie in with one another, the first of these is pretty much a folk song, the second a psychedelic meltdown of backwards bagpipes and drums with some eerie spoken works by Meg White. Little Cream Soda is back to the three elements of The White Stripes, but it is quite heavy. In my opinion it is the last five songs on the album that are the best, Rag & Bone is a comical spoken word piece, I'm Slowly Turning Into You is epic with the effect on the guitar here not disimilar to that on Blue Orchid. Matyr is both slow and emotional yet thumps along in the chorus driven by stabs of organ and trundling bass heavy guitar. Catch Hell Blues is The White Stripes in their barest form with this track recorded in one take. Effect and cause is an acoustic country song yet the highlight of this song has to be the lyrics.

A quick note must be made about the sound quality of the CD version, everything seems to have compression on it and so this makes the CD version sound a little muddy at times, buy the vinyl if this concerns any audiophiles out there but it isn't really too much of a problem, I think it adds a fuller sound when compared to their older albums.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2007
I have probably always enjoyed the idea of The White Stripes a little more than I have ever enjoyed listening to them; a dirty, raw, under produced, blues sound with big riffs is about all you can want from a band but for this listener they never completely delivered. They have always managed to write some fantastic tunes but tend to lose me over the course of an album, sometimes falling prone to a little style without substance - not with this album.
As the White Stripes tend to mine similar terriotory you may feel that you've heard it all before on first playing 'Icky Thump' but that second listen is key. All the heavy riffery is there as before but there are also some peculiar sounding passages to songs as well that make the album that bit more diverse and re-playable. There is also a 'cleaner' sound to the record, compared to an album like 'Elephant', which depending on your tastes may be a good or bad thing but it definately works with the songs on here.
The White Stripes always make good albums but in 'Icky Thump' I honestly believe they may have made their best.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2007
Let's clear one thing up. 'Icky Thump' is good. It isn't at the level of the first few albums, but 'Get Behind Me Satan' was so bad, I thought it could only improve. Thankfully it did.

'Icky Thump' starts off with the infectious title-track, with Jack White the Third's umistakeable guitar sounds and riffs, a wailing keyboard and Meg White's somewhat primal drums. It's catchy, it's clever, and it's very good. New single 'You Don't Know What Love Is' is slower, but still has that unmistakeable 'Stripes' sound. Other highlights of the album are the 'Catch Hell Blues', '300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues', 'Little Cream Soda', 'Bone Broke', 'I'm Slowly Turning Into You' and 'A Martyr For My Love For You'. 'Conquest' is fun, and enjoyable listening, but can't really hack it, whereas the bagpipes on 'St. Andrew' and 'Prickly Thorn (Sweetly Worn)' do not do the album any favours.

The Stripes try to do too much on a few occasions but their sound is back. A good effort, and album number seven won't be far away, I'm sure.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Elephant
£7.99
White Blood Cells
£6.70
The White Stripes
£7.99
De Stijl
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)