Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2009
Vladimir Vasiliev found Valery Gavrilin's music score for Anyuta (based in Chekhov's short story "Anna on the neck")quite an inspiration for his choreograpy of this ballet as "it acted as a spur to my imagination",he said,for he considered that Gravilin understood the very essence of Chekhov's work.Somehow ,Anyuta brings a reminiscense of Faubert's heroine,Mme Bovary,when she understands the power of physical beauty and becomes an adict to luxury,leaving everything and everyone behind,eating her life away.
As Anyutas's father,Vasiliev - considered the world's best dancer by Paris Dance Academy - plays a suffering,alcoholic man in a rather moving portrayal.
Ekaterina Maximova,in her early forties,dances the title role effortlessly,bringing out Anyuta's inner thoughts and feelings with such an expressiveness that she becomes the role she plays through dancing,supported by her superb technique.
Gorkovenko conducts Gavrilin's exciting music brilliantly.Filmed in 1982,the quality of the picture is modest but nevertheless it is a most beautifully choreographed modern classic ballet.A must.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
I came across a pas de deux from this ballet danced by the husband and wife team in a DVD on the Kirov Ballet. The first half was a Royal Command Performance at the Royal Ballet for Princess Diana and the second half was an outdoor performance in Red Square in Moscow. The music was haunting and the dancing wonderful so I was delighted to find the full length ballet on DVD. It was originally on tape recorded in 1982 and the sound can be a little tinny at times but the dancing is superb and the story is and dancing is very funny at times.
I felt that parts of it could have had an influence on MacMillan's Manon where she dances in a very sexual way in front of her husband with various lovers and admirers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
i have only played this ballet once and I know that it will be one that will be repeated again and again due largely to the choreography of Vaslilev. The dancing of Maximova is superb and the filming is very good. A strong cast that show good acting skills. I recommend this DVD to all ballet lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Okay
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
This ballet is an absolute gem! The costumes, the music, the choreography and most of all the dancing were all wonderful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2007
It is no accident that this has themes copied from Shostakovich. Particularly recognisable is one from Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk. Superb dancing and acting that will keep you in fits of laughter from beginning to end
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
I loved this ballet, I had seen bits on You Tube. Vasiliev and Maximova were the best partnership ever, both superb dancers. I love this ballet it is so sad. My only complaint is the poor quality of the recording which has nothing to do with the content.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2007
Vladimir Vasiliev is not only one the all-time greatest Russian dancers, the former Bolshoi star has also proven a choreographer of real distinction. VAI re-releases his two-act ballet "Anyuta" as it was initially created in 1982 as a dance film with his wife Ekaterina Maximova in the title role. Adapted for the stage four years later, it remains one of his most complete and convincing works. Based upon Anton Chekhov's short story "Anna on the neck", satirizing life in a small provincial town, Anyuta concerns a woman who after marrying upon the social ladder discovers the power of beauty and sexual attraction, yet at the expense of all those dear to her. Set to an irresistible melodious score by Valery Gavrilin, Vasiliev's choreography, even if firmly rooted in the classical idiom and reviving the tradition of Russian literary ballets, is contemporary and adroitely portrays the characters, blending sentiment with the element of grotesque.

Ekaterina Maximova is magnificent as Anyuta, conveying a breathtaking range of emotions while Vladimir Vasiliev himself, cast against type as her hapless drinking father, gives one of his most subtle and moving portrayals. Supporting roles include Gali Abaidulov as Anyuta's wealthy and powerful, but stingy and boring bureaucrat-husband, John Markovsky as the rich and spoiled Don Juan Artynov, and Marat Daukaev as the student (a character introduced by Vasiliev) whom Anyuta is genuinely in love with

VAI provides a fair DVD transfer from this 1982 film, with only a few blemishes in the print.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
I bought this DVD ONLY because Katya was dancing. She did not disappoint and neither did the others - the video was great in spite of its age and that of Katya when she danced this.

What is absolutely disappointing is the Music. Except for some pleasant passages in the beginning and here and there, much of it just boils down to sheer cacophony. I could have shot Gavrilin at the Ball scene. Having a declared distaste for the obtuse and the 12 tone, Gavrilin invents new techniques of jarring one's ears all in the name of 'modernity' of then, which kills the work in places that affects the whole ballet.
However brilliant the dancers are, they are dancing to music. And when music degenerates into noise that means nothing, the whole exercise becomes a drivel. Just remember, that what is danced as showpieces out of this ballet are the ones where music is actually quite pleasant. None of the great ballets would have achieved their greatness from Delibes to Stravinsky if not for the consistent beautiful score however brilliant the dancing may be.
Mark my words, this ballet as such will be forgotten thanks to the instability of the musical score, but a few pieces like the pas de deux and the opening theme may be danced as show-pieces all by themselves.
My three stars have been arrived at as thus : 5 to the dancers 1 to the music - average of, which is 3
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)