Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
26
3.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£1.99+ £4.59 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2009
These are great for the price. By all means pay more for better construction, but if you want a few cheap ones for the garden or camping then these are great.

Just make sure you don't fill beyond 85% or the line marked or it will leak. Although this isn't a major safety issue as it could be with spirit or petrol, it isn't nice. Also, don't do what many people do and have the wick too high. It should be BELOW the hood and then there is no smoke and the glass stays clean. This also reduces smell.

Modern, sealed houses are not good for ventilation so either use very expensive lamp oil or if using dead cheap paraffin, use outside or in another well ventilated space. The glass gets hot, so educate children about them and don't let pets get too close (they usually keep away). If they are knocked over they usually go out - unlike Hollywood would have you believe!

Enjoy the warm light and appreciate that it won't ruin your night vision or attract the insect population from far and wide that battery and gas lanterns do.

So cheap to run too.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
I would not recommend these £5.99 HURRICANE LAMPS. Poorly made mechanism leading to potential burns from the glass which does not go up smoothly, leaking fuel from a screw cap which it takes a pair of pliers to open (and close) and downright dangerous.
Stay well clear.
Tooltime courteously resolved my problem with a full refund.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
What can you expect for less than a fiver?

The area around it is surrounded by oil even though, after reading reviews here, I was careful to use only a minimal amount. The paint job has a strong vulgar smell and comes off easily in your hand as a fine dust. Every part of it is stiff and poorly fit. It's a remarkable effort at making the cheapest possible product that is still functional.

Don't buy it, the problems with it are just going to have it become a piece of junk hanging around you'll wish you had avoided. Get something a bit better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I bought one of these to try out in my garden and intended to purchase a few more but unfortunately after using it for a couple of days it began leaking oil everywhere. It's clearly cheap for a reason I suppose.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Works well. A bit difficult to light but got the hang of it after a while. This lantern works well, giving a very good light. Doesn't smoke unless the wick is too high, like any other lantern. For the price, can't really fault it. It is light weight and rather tinny - to be expected. After reading other reviews I didn't fill will oil too high and doesn't leak. Would definitely recommend. For the price - very good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
I ordered 2X Hurricane lamps and received 2X 15 LED imitattion hurricane lamps(batteries included)!When I phoned Auto Silicone Hoses Ltd Sam said that he thought they were all parafin powered so to send him some pictures of what I had received,this I did and received the following reply :- " It seems like this listing is for LED battery version. We no longer stock the original one which used for the oil."
The advertisement said nothing about being a battery powered LED lamp and the picture is clearly of an oil lamp !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
I bought this lamp to burn citronella oil in the evenings to ward off midges. Unfortunately it leaked the oil all over the patio; I did not overfill it, the bottom plate seal of the oil reservoir was at fault. It gave off a nice evening glow until the glass cracked when I turned up the flame. The handle came off after two days when I was carrying it and that was the end of that with oil all over the trousers and smashed glass all over patio.
I was going to return it but to package up all the bits didn't seem worth it. A good example of you get what you pay for I guess.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
these aren't expensive, so i possibly should have expected one out of 4 to be duff, but a hurricane lamp should be strong. its in the title. bought at short notice for a party, and only found out it leaked when filled. if you want them to work work for an event, buy with enough time to send back. you get what you pay for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
A classic lantern great for camping, carol singing or just lighting up your room without using electricity. Can be a bit of a fiddle to use, but with practice you figure it out. Warning it does get hot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I bought 2 of these as the price looked very good. Although they seem to work well, they both leaked!!! I had made sure that I didn't overfill them so was very disappointed to find them sitting in pools of oil the next day.
I didn't return them as it would have been a real hassle to clean out all the oil before re-packing and then posting back. A lesson learned, I guess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)