Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2009
Stuart, if you are reading this -- (I wish) -- thank you for doing this. It was an absolute pleasure to see and listen to your story of your life then and now. You seem like a true gentleman and I hope that things are continuing to go well for you. I will always be a fan of your life. I recommend this DVD to anyone who really wants to learn more about someone who is truly an inspiration and perhaps become inspired themselves to pursue a true passion and take advantage of what life has to offer. Doesn't matter if you were a Rollers fan or not. This story is so much more than that. Thumbs up to you, Stuart.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2007
What a wonderful documentary this is and a fantastic portrayal of Stuart's life in the Bay City Rollers. Only too often I have seen documentaries and read books about said band featuring a heavyweight bias of either Les McKeown or Eric Faulkner... and to see such a well documented and a more gentleman's approach to how it all was is an absolute joy to watch.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
Woody is a sensitive creative musician, far from the percieved stage personas of the Bay City Rollers. Woody is honest about the times back in the 70's and this DVD features private footage of the rollers never seen before. Shots of Woody's and Eric's scottish farm house bolt hole and the ups and downs of the whole career. They didnt get the money and Woody talks about this, the press who he did and didnt get on with , totally honest and unusual. all this with a surprise ending ! Recommended for any Rollers fan. this is the true story of a talented musician and his part in a 70's phenomenon.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
Fabulous from start to finish! Very tastefully done. Wonderful raw honesty from Woody - or is it Stuart now?? 'o) As a Rollers/Woody fan from way back I was really excited to find this - and was not disappointed! There were clips never before seen - and very candid commentary by Woody. I was left feeling very very proud of 'my' Roller - for the gentlemanly way he handled discussion of some situations, and more importantly for his professional/musical achievements! Giving something back to the community as well as building a successful Celtic music and music producing career! (and still as cute as ever!) This will bring back a LOT of wonderful memories of the absolute joy of Roller-fandom - but be warned - it might ignite Rollermania and Woody fever all over again!! 'o) Brilliantly done - and Woody/Stuart - Thank you sooo much for making this!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
This is a must for any Bay City Roller fan of the 70s or present day. It is also a great piece of history showing a behind the scenes look at what he went through as a teenager making it big in the music business. The magnitude of the fame that the Rollers had in the early days and how they handled it with the onset of Rollermania. Woody's story was needed for people to see that there is a down side to the business and what it took for him to come out on top again. This documentary is a great piece of work and should be released in other countries. It was by chance that someone mentioned this DVD and I went looking. It was worth every dollar to me and would be for any fan of Woody and the Rollers.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2016
An inside look at what it was like to be a Bay City Roller by original band member, Stuart "Woody" Wood. As he describes it, a cautionary tale... Lots of private, never before seen footage, photos and interviews. Definitely worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
When Woody was riding high with the Rollers I was besotted. I remember the days of The Bay City Rollers so well, my Mum will never forget them so when I found this DVD I thought it would be well worth investing it. What we saw back then certainly wasn't the way it was but the Bay City Rollers were a happy time for my friends and myself. I found Stuart to be a lovely guy, he told his story without bad mouthing anyone, with acceptance for the things that happened and honesty on all fronts, After riding the high of the Rollers it would have been so easy to have become embittered but here is someone who took the good and the bad and remains as decent guy. I really enjoyed watching this, it brought back so many memories of seeing the Rollers live and my own life in those days. :Life takes us all to different places and it would be a thought provoking DVD for the boy bands today to watch Stuarts account and prepare for a future when the boyband era ends. I think with hindsight my puppy love for Stuart Woody Wood was wisely invested because he came out the other side a great guy. This is a must for Bay City Roller fans,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
So glad my favourite Roller is happily married, enjoying life, and isn't scarred by the "down side" of being in the group, and not having received royalties. Even has his mum and dad are there with him! He seems so down to earth and likeable. Brings back a lot of memories and emotions. Joy Fischer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Got this DVD and watched with interest. Looking back over the Roller years now with more mature eyes it really was a Rollercoaster of a ride. When you sum it up; The band were manufactured and sold as the clean living boys next door when actually they drank and took drugs, swore like troopers and slept around. Their manager instigated a fake engagement for himself to cover the fact that he was gay. The band really didn't get on too well with Alan quitting saying he was too old to rock at 30!! Then there were over doses and loss of royalties and physical fights on stage and non appears to have come out of it unscathed since. Tam Paton died of a heart attack - so obese that the young men surrounding him in the jacuzzi could not get him out! Derek was done for child pornographic images, Alan had a heart attack and Eric disappeared into obscurity. Then we find that Les is bi sexual (never saw that one coming) despite being married for 25 years and a raging alcoholic. he was the only one Woody said on this DVD he was not prepared to work with again. If this is fame and fortune I'm glad I'm broke!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Was a very honest account of how things truly were with this group. I still love the Rollers- they were my teen heroes and I truly hope they win their battle against Arista
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)